• Announcements

    • iacas

      Introducing TST "Clubs!"   08/28/2017

      No, we're not getting into the equipment business, but we do have "clubs" here on TST now. Groups. Check them out here:

Wendy Dominick

Member
  • Content count

    24
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

1 Sandbagger

About Wendy Dominick

  • Rank
    Member

Your Golf Game

  • Handicap Index
    12.9
  1. Marking Ball On Green

    He was trying to mark the ball with a coin(or some small object) and accidentally moved the ball with his putter. There is absolutely no way that this is directly attributable to marking the ball. Penalty incurred. The Committee got it wrong.
  2. Nearest Point of Relief & OB

    You must drop the ball in bounds. If it rolls out of bounds you must re-drop. If it rolls OB again, you place it where it struck the course(in bounds) on the second drop.
  3. Nearest Point of Relief & OB

    I have argued that all of the intended drop zone must be in bounds to allow relief to be taken. Read 24-2b. Drop within one clublength of the nearest point of relief. There is no mention that a full club length must be available.
  4. Drop Zones Beyond the Hazard

    33-8/2 Local Rule Allows Drop on Green Side of Water Hazard When Ball Fails to Clear Hazard Q.The design of a hole is such that a player must hit the ball about 100 yards in order to carry a water hazard. A Local Rule has been adopted to assist players who cannot drive over the hazard by allowing them to drop a ball, under penalty of two strokes, in a dropping zone that is located across the hazard. Is such a Local Rule authorized? A.No. Such a Local Rule substantially alters Rule 26-1b as it allows the player to drop a ball on a part of the course (i.e., on the green side of the water hazard) that the Rule would not have permitted him to reach. Furthermore, the penalty for taking relief under the water hazard Rule (Rule 26) is one stroke, and may not be increased to two strokes by a Committee through a Local Rule - see Rule 33-8b . 33-8/3 (Reserved)
  5. Your Honor, Your Honor

    Is this match play or stroke play? If it's stroke play on a better ball basis then your side tees off first because you had the better gross score. If it's match play, then the hole was halved and your opponents keep the honor.
  6. Golf Rules Quiz - How well can you do?

    12 correct.
  7. Relief From Cart Path and Obstruction Question

    There is no option of replaying the stroke if the ball hits the tractor.
  8. Relief From Cart Path and Obstruction Question

    You can't PUT your ball at the green dot. It must be dropped. Chances are it will roll under the tractor, and from there you take relief from that. It might become a Decision 1-4/8 situation, or NPR from the tractor might be to the left of the tractor. But, even if the ball when dropped came to rest at the green dot, a left handed stance would not result in a NPR to the right of the cart path.
  9. Relief From Cart Path and Obstruction Question

    If the hole location is as drawn the blue dot would be the NPR As per Decision 1-4/8.5.
  10. Relief From Cart Path and Obstruction Question

    The blue dot isn't the nearest point of relief from the cart path. The NPR would be under the tractor, directly to the left if where the ball lay.
  11. Relief From Cart Path and Obstruction Question

    Maybe your diagram isn't to scale, but if you took no relief from either obstruction the place you dropped under the unplayable rule was the wrong place.
  12. Relief From Cart Path and Obstruction Question

    This seems to be a case like the first bullet in the Decision. there is no interference from the tractor, just the cart path. But, it is impossible to drop because it would be in/on the tractor.
  13. Relief From Cart Path and Obstruction Question

    You should have taken relief from the 2 situations separately. Both the cart path and the tractors/mowers are immoveable obstructions. You were not entitled to drop back to be clear of the tractor. However, Decision 1-4/8.5 comes to the rescue! 1-4/8.5 Nearest Point of Relief from Cart Path Is in Casual Water, Nearest Point of Relief from Casual Water Is Back on Cart Path; Impracticable for Player to Drop Ball Into Area of Casual Water Q.In the circumstances described in Decision 1-4/8 , if the nature of the area of casual water were such that it was impracticable or impossible for the player to drop the ball, when taking relief from the cart path, into the area of casual water, how may the player proceed? A.If it is impracticable for the player to proceed under one of the two Rules, he may, in equity (Rule 1-4 ), obtain relief without penalty as follows: Using the position of the ball on the cart path, the nearest point of relief from both the cart path and the casual water must be determined that is not in a hazard or on a putting green. The player must lift the ball and drop it within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief, on a part of the course that avoids interference by the cart path and the casual water and is not in a hazard or on a putting green. It would be considered impracticable for the player to drop the ball in the area of casual water if the casual water were so deep that unreasonable effort would be required to retrieve a ball lying in this area of casual water - see Decision 25-1/1 . Other examples of conditions into which it would be considered impracticable for the player to drop the ball would include: in or under an immovable obstruction such that it would be extremely difficult or impossible to drop the ball (e.g., inside a locked building or beneath a rain-shelter that is raised off the ground). within a large hole made by a greenkeeper or similar area of ground under repair from which the player could not reasonably be expected to play a ball.
  14. Unplayable lie in bunker question

    I meant that you were correct to point out the Decision and the part about "sole purpose of caring for the course". I stand by my answer that in this circumstance we have the footprints of 2 players who spent a good deal of time walking around the bunker and no doubt left footprints that can't be raked.
  15. Unplayable lie in bunker question

    You are, of course, correct. But, I would be very surprised if the raking didn't improve the area where the ball was to be dropped.