Jump to content

sjduffers

Established Member
  • Content Count

    683
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    2

sjduffers last won the day on October 15 2016

sjduffers had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

173 Hall-of-Fame Candidate

About sjduffers

  • Rank
    Dedicated Member

Personal Information

  • Your Location
    South Bay Area (Northern California)

Your Golf Game

  • Handicap Index
    8.8
  • Handedness
    Righty

Recent Profile Visitors

6,308 profile views
  1. I don't think that "wasting 21%" is the correct interpretation of that number. It just means that 79% of the doses shipped to the state have made their way into people's arms already. The rest are still being assigned to the counties, various health systems, etc... and are in reserve for the appointments being made right now. When people don't show up (as when they double book, etc...), the few doses that risk being wasted because they have already thawed out and need to be used in the next few hours are given to people on standby lists, or sometimes counties call up county employees nearby.
  2. I added a birdie on a par 3 #17 (non home courses page) and it's funny that I now have 15, 16, 17 covered at the away courses and 16, 17 and 18 at the home course (plus another one at 10): I must be more accurate, or maybe luckier, at the end of my rounds, lol.
  3. In Northern California, you get reduced fees at the two courses owned by the NCGA (Northern California Golf Association): Poppy Ridge and Poppy Hills. They are open to anyone, but having an NCGA membership greatly reduces the green fees. You also get access to NCGA run tournaments and a magazine, in print (every other month?) and some newsletters via email, much more frequently. Also, like @Golfingdad said, your NCGA membership gives access to "member for a day" events at some participating private clubs (including the prestigious Olympic Club at Lake Merced). BTW, I get my handicap throu
  4. Sure, all true. No arguing that. I like to walk, as I said. I was just pointing out that the claim of walking more (i.e. more steps) on a CPO round than a regular walk is not accurate. Can it be more painful (at least psychologically) or less pleasant? Yes, absolutely.
  5. He had a great run, and some cracking interviews. but also some clunkers. It was probably a good thing for everyone, including Feherty, to move on.
  6. That can't possibly be true, unless you only advance the ball 50-80 yards at a time. When you walk, you have to walk the whole length of the hole; on a cart path only day, you only have to walk about twice the width of the fairway, at most. And of course, on some holes, you manage to get your ball right next to the cart path too. From my experience, as I normally walk, but also occasionally play in carts (e.g. tournaments), including on cart path only courses or days, you only walk about 50-60% of the distance if you would have walked the full course. Now, if you do like that guy mention
  7. I take the cover off my putter and store it in the bag before the round starts and put it back on after it's over, regardless of walking or riding. For the other clubs with a head cover, if walking (with a push cart), I put the head on top of the bag and get it back onto the club after the shot, as I start walking away. If I am riding, the first time I need that club, I throw the head cover in the cart's basket and leave it there until the round is over. Sometimes, I have one club (very rarely two) with the head covers still on at the end of the round...
  8. Look, I am not dead set against these 2 getting a medal, although I think their accomplishments on (less so for Annika) and off the course are significantly less than those of Jack and Tiger, and thus devalue the medal in question (but after Rush Limbaugh and David Nunes, that value has probably hit rock bottom now, after once being given to Mother Teresa...) Anyway, Gary and Annika get to keep their medals: no-one is asking that they give them back, but they should have refused to participate in a charade after what had transpired just the day before. If it was all good and fine, why was
  9. Maybe I'm reading something that's not there, but I advocated for Jack and Tiger getting (and keeping) their medals while questioning the idea of Player and Sorenstam getting theirs on January 7th, hidden from the press, after everyone saw what happened on January 6th. You, the not 100% guy (which I agree with, in general), expressing that my views are a bit a double-standard, that I am not consistent, etc.. I just find that ironic, that's all.
  10. Ok. But... Aren't you a 100% kind of guy, at least as it relates to these four. The circumstances between the first 2 and the last 2 are vastly different, as Bill Belichik demonstrated (I'm sure he'd have had no problem accepting that honor just a few months ago).
  11. Not sure what you are saying or implying with your "Really?" and "But..." comments. As for "Enough said", it's a shortcut for me saying I am butting out of this conversation after stating some facts. That's all. Anyone can have their own opinion about this: I gave mine as it relates to Nicklaus and Tiger and again, I am out. Peace out.
  12. I'd like to point out in the Player and Sorenstam case, the award ceremony was held January 7, the day after the Capitol events, with no journalists invited, and no picture of the ceremony has surfaced since. Are they all too ashamed to be seen in public? Enough said. As for Tiger returning his medal, I'd say no: Nicklaus got his and so should Tiger. Both for achievements on the course and contributions off the course as well.
  13. I signed up again after my first round of the year at the home course. Checked 12 birdies last year (and all 18 at away courses), and need to do better this year. Good start with 1 birdie.
  14. No. I totally get that it's irrelevant: I said as much. But it also shows it's not the same thing as what happened in the Villegas case. The facts are different (and the rules too). That's all I object to: you said it's almost the same thing. I am arguing it's not. In fact here, Palmer deliberately walked towards the area where the ball would rest (in the future), chosing where to stand and not stand, presumably to avoid getting hit, etc. Villegas did no such thing: the ball came right back at him while he was busy cleaning his divot hole. Therefore Palmer could also argue that he chose t
  15. No you didn't. The ball didn't roll back to where he initially was. He was walking towards the new spot, the ball making an arc crossing at least half of the front of the green. In contrast, Villegas ball went up and immediately back down, right at him, as he was busy stamping his own divot. Palmer's kicked divot was not his own, not that it makes any difference, other than to show that the trajectory of the ball was not as straight up and down as you imply. As he was walking towards the new (future) resting spot of the ball, he was clearly evaluating where that would be, lest the ball would
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...