• Announcements

    • iacas

      Visit FlagstickRule.com   03/13/2017

      Visit the site flagstickrule.com to read about and sign a petition for the USGA/R&A regarding the one terrible rule in the proposed "modernized" rules for 2019.

sjduffers

Established Member
  • Content count

    322
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

71 Always in Contention

About sjduffers

  • Rank
    Well Established Member

Personal Information

  • Your Location
    South Bay Area (Northern California)

Your Golf Game

  • Handicap Index
    10.3
  • Handedness
    Righty

Recent Profile Visitors

1,296 profile views
  1. Thanks @iacas for the shout-out. @Soss, don't forget an embarrassingly long bro hug after he putts out on 18. He's just won a major after all! You can use this time if you orient yourself properly as a way to hide the fact that his wife is getting in position to run to the green and to give her the clue to come in. And... don't forget to hug the wife too! It's been mentioned already, but as you stalks putts from the opposite of him, or right behind him, carry the flag with you. Don't let the flag on the ground (unless you are busy raking a bunker with a fine comb or something...). Grab it by the business end (where the fabric is) and have the bottom part in the air.
  2. While he gets ready to take his stance (but way before he gets ready to hit), grab the bag and put it down right next to him, and start discussing a wind change, real or not does not matter, and hand him another club. Waste 30 seconds or so discussing the situation, and let him go with his previous club. Rinse and repeat for effect! Start shushing the (imaginary) gallery, yelling "put that camera away, please". Kudos for the bet and for being a real good sport about it. This should be tons of fun!
  3. An Associate Club is a club (ie a group of people) without an assigned golf course. So they go around the area and play tournaments at those locations, usually on the weekend. They are structured like a an actual club (at a golf course) with a president, treasurer, handicap chairman, tournament director, etc... So that's what those 2 two you never heard off are. Associate Clubs can have some fancy and sometimes self-deprecating names too; they are typically formed by groups of people who have another social connection, be it work, church, social cause, ad-hoc, whatever, and most of them are opened to new members, even if those new members are not exactly of the same composition as the original crew. Just ask them who they are and if you could play as a guest a time or two to decide if you'd be a fit.
  4. Just remove putting altogether from golf then. Problem solved: everybody is as good as anyone else at it, and it would take much less time to play a hole, maybe half the time as it does now.
  5. This is my objection too, and I let the USGA and R&A know in the feedback website they have set up. As a decent putter, I would lose whatever small advantage I have in mastering the putting skill, so would fall further behind... For the pros, all the records would become meaningless as they could treat a 5-6 footer just like they treat a 3 footer now, with 99% going in. As you said, that affects the rest of putting, particularly lag putting, a lot!
  6. Man, oh, man! That was hilarious, the divot kick, the "white stuff", the "relieving in the trees", the celebration (putter drop!). You are a hoot. And thanks for saying you want to be my teammate. I now have to do something about applying, lol. We wouldn't be on the same team as I am in California and support the red team all the way. But, it would be fun to meet you Brian.
  7. All that, and besides, it's not all about what's in it for "me". If everyone kept thinking that way, we would have no society and the world would be a horrible place to live.
  8. Actually, it does not slow things down to hit a provisional. It takes less than 30s compared to all the arguing about what to do, where to drop, etc when the ball that sailed OB isn't found. And the fact that the provisional might end up OB is actually the part of stroke and distance rule that really complies with the principle of golf that you only advance the ball via a stroke, so if you can't execute the stroke (and pump another one OB), you pay the piper. After 2 OBs, though, take your medicine and write the ESC score on your scorecard, and continue hitting or DQ yourself in a tournament. Also, dropping in the fairway is less penalizing than dropping near the OB because there are no trees, no hills, no blind anything and the path to the hole is much easier, even if you lose a few yards in the process. Interestingly, the USGA and R&A looked at that option (dropping in the fairway, and also dropping in the nearby rough) when doing their work on revamping the rules and they rejected it.
  9. The stat that is in question is not 3.6 around the green, although that's a bad number. 2.6 would be ok: 2.6 means 1 chip and 2 putts (3 strokes) 60 percent of the time and 2 putts (2 strokes) 40% of the time. The problem is you said: GIR 50% so 9 greens in regulation, and GIR+1 at 100%. So all your green in regulations misses end up on the green after the 20-30 yards pitch or chip or whatever. From there, if you 2-putted everything you would shoot 81 on a par 72 course: 9 pars from 9 greens in regulation with 2 putts and 9 bogeys from being on the green in regulation + 1 and 2 putts. And since you are on the green in GIR+1 100% of the time, the only way you can get a higher score than 81 is by putting more than twice. But to get to be a 23 handicap, you need another 14-15 strokes, all putts. So, are you 3-putting 14 times per round? If so, it's time to start controlling the distance on your long putts and reduce the number of 3-putts greatly. You should aim for no more than 1 or 2 3-putts per round. Practice long putts on the practice green, initially not by putting to a hole, but to a distance, whether to the fringe without hitting it, to a club or a towel laid down on the ground. When you are reliably getting close to your target without getting too long, introduce a hole in the equation and put a club down 2-3 feet behind the hole. You don't want to hit your club and you want the ball to get to the hole, distance-wise. Practice uphill, downhill and flat and before you know it, you'll only have 2 putts per hole in most cases, and you'll shoot 81-83,
  10. Ditto what @Big C said. I am around 10, don't hit 50% GIR (just around 30+% in fact) and my GIR+1 is around 83-84%, but I am a decent to good putter. If you indeed have 50% GIR and 100% GIR+1, you must be 3 and 4 putting nearly every hole, as simply 2 putting everything would put you at 9 over par and if you do that every time, you'd be in between 8 and 11 handicap depending on the course difficulty, nowhere near a 23 handicap. Do be a 23 handicap, you'd need another 14-15 shots per round, on the green. That means 3-putting almost every hole!
  11. Just a quick comment to note that I support this effort and pretty much would agree with everything (maybe with a small reticence for a couple of items and voiced them in the feedback survey), except for the flagstick in rule while putting on the green: it changes the putting game quite a bit, especially for short putts, and has the potential of worsening the pace of play instead of improving it, as some other folks have pointed out. I hope that change does not make it into the 2019 rules.
  12. In the USGA surgery, I answered "somewhat likely", but I meant it for a lost ball, not for an OB as I would always (or near always) use a provisional ball for an OB situation, as you can see those developing from the tee, usually. An "unexpected" lost ball is a little different. Just yesterday, I played on a course that was really saturated and used an iron for a layup on my second shot at a par five, straight in the middle of the damped fairway (not mowed in ages, due to amounts of rain of deluge proportions), with the proper distance; I didn't hear the ball hit anything (like a sprinkler, etc...) and I never found it. I realize this is an extreme case and I didn't post the round anyway as the conditions were so bad on many holes for it to be completely meaningless. But, in a tournament situation, with normal/decent conditions, and a ball just disappears? Yes, I would use a 2 shots penalty from an estimated area (the question is of course which estimated area!)... The goal should be to eliminate the trip backwards in nearly all cases. Because you are in a tournament does not mean that people behind you, and behind the tournament are not affected. True, if it happens very rarely and people try to catch up afterwards, it's not a big deal. But more than that, and it can and does have an effect on the overall course pace of play, IMHO.
  13. I voted no as well, but they already have some adjustments in the current rules such as: Lift Clean and Place more often than really necessary, the sprinkler head in the line of putt from off the green treated as an obstruction, the embedded ball rule everywhere (instead of short grass only), the one ball rule, etc... Granted, these rule changes are via local rules or conditions of competition and there is still room for that with new rules, but at least the core of the rules are, and should be, the same for everyone.
  14. I have to revive this thread to say, none until now, but that all changed yesterday! It was a high little draw 5 wood into a 174 yards pin, a nice looking shot that hardly left the flag. The wind was quartering from the right and into, in a dense air (the 5 wood is my 190-195 club normally). The ball landed about 1/3 deep into the green, rolled a bit and I lost it. When I arrived at the hole, the ball wasn't on the green, nor at the back and it couldn't have rolled way over the little hill behind the hole, so I checked the hole... and there it was! I had a witness too, but he declined a stop at a nearby bar, as the bar/restaurant of the course had been shut down by the city (it's a muni course) over some violations more than a year ago. It was not as dramatic as some other holes in one where you can see the ball go in from the tee and you have a dozen buddies to share this with, but it counts just the same.
  15. I had my first hole in one today. Yeah! It was 174 yards in somewhat cold and windy conditions, with a 5 wood that never left the flag (it was a little left of it when it landed) and rolled in! Just so we are clear, the 5 wood is my 190-195 yards club, but it was the right club for this job!