Jump to content

sjduffers

Established Member
  • Content Count

    679
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    2

Everything posted by sjduffers

  1. He had a great run, and some cracking interviews. but also some clunkers. It was probably a good thing for everyone, including Feherty, to move on.
  2. That can't possibly be true, unless you only advance the ball 50-80 yards at a time. When you walk, you have to walk the whole length of the hole; on a cart path only day, you only have to walk about twice the width of the fairway, at most. And of course, on some holes, you manage to get your ball right next to the cart path too. From my experience, as I normally walk, but also occasionally play in carts (e.g. tournaments), including on cart path only courses or days, you only walk about 50-60% of the distance if you would have walked the full course. Now, if you do like that guy mention
  3. I take the cover off my putter and store it in the bag before the round starts and put it back on after it's over, regardless of walking or riding. For the other clubs with a head cover, if walking (with a push cart), I put the head on top of the bag and get it back onto the club after the shot, as I start walking away. If I am riding, the first time I need that club, I throw the head cover in the cart's basket and leave it there until the round is over. Sometimes, I have one club (very rarely two) with the head covers still on at the end of the round...
  4. Look, I am not dead set against these 2 getting a medal, although I think their accomplishments on (less so for Annika) and off the course are significantly less than those of Jack and Tiger, and thus devalue the medal in question (but after Rush Limbaugh and David Nunes, that value has probably hit rock bottom now, after once being given to Mother Teresa...) Anyway, Gary and Annika get to keep their medals: no-one is asking that they give them back, but they should have refused to participate in a charade after what had transpired just the day before. If it was all good and fine, why was
  5. Maybe I'm reading something that's not there, but I advocated for Jack and Tiger getting (and keeping) their medals while questioning the idea of Player and Sorenstam getting theirs on January 7th, hidden from the press, after everyone saw what happened on January 6th. You, the not 100% guy (which I agree with, in general), expressing that my views are a bit a double-standard, that I am not consistent, etc.. I just find that ironic, that's all.
  6. Ok. But... Aren't you a 100% kind of guy, at least as it relates to these four. The circumstances between the first 2 and the last 2 are vastly different, as Bill Belichik demonstrated (I'm sure he'd have had no problem accepting that honor just a few months ago).
  7. Not sure what you are saying or implying with your "Really?" and "But..." comments. As for "Enough said", it's a shortcut for me saying I am butting out of this conversation after stating some facts. That's all. Anyone can have their own opinion about this: I gave mine as it relates to Nicklaus and Tiger and again, I am out. Peace out.
  8. I'd like to point out in the Player and Sorenstam case, the award ceremony was held January 7, the day after the Capitol events, with no journalists invited, and no picture of the ceremony has surfaced since. Are they all too ashamed to be seen in public? Enough said. As for Tiger returning his medal, I'd say no: Nicklaus got his and so should Tiger. Both for achievements on the course and contributions off the course as well.
  9. I signed up again after my first round of the year at the home course. Checked 12 birdies last year (and all 18 at away courses), and need to do better this year. Good start with 1 birdie.
  10. No. I totally get that it's irrelevant: I said as much. But it also shows it's not the same thing as what happened in the Villegas case. The facts are different (and the rules too). That's all I object to: you said it's almost the same thing. I am arguing it's not. In fact here, Palmer deliberately walked towards the area where the ball would rest (in the future), chosing where to stand and not stand, presumably to avoid getting hit, etc. Villegas did no such thing: the ball came right back at him while he was busy cleaning his divot hole. Therefore Palmer could also argue that he chose t
  11. No you didn't. The ball didn't roll back to where he initially was. He was walking towards the new spot, the ball making an arc crossing at least half of the front of the green. In contrast, Villegas ball went up and immediately back down, right at him, as he was busy stamping his own divot. Palmer's kicked divot was not his own, not that it makes any difference, other than to show that the trajectory of the ball was not as straight up and down as you imply. As he was walking towards the new (future) resting spot of the ball, he was clearly evaluating where that would be, lest the ball would
  12. In Villegas case, he was pitching up to the green from an area well below the green and behind it, came up short and the ball was rolling back essentially to his feet and he did something to stomp the ground where he had hit the ball initially, as the ball was rolling back almost to the same spot. It's clear from the video here that the ball never had a chance to roll where Palmer was standing and cleared his divot, so no it's not at all comparable. Feel free to disagree, but that's what I saw (and remember from the Villegas case).
  13. I DVR'd the round and watched some of it, and happened to catch that "incident". The ball was never going to be in the area that he stepped on, even though he was not really watching it. It only turned into an incident after the commenting crew said something like "watch it!"... This really was a non-issue, in my view. I do remember the Villegas case some years ago, and this was nothing like that.
  14. I didn't know that about him, but I haven't been researching him either... Anyway, now you've got me more intrigued and I think it would be a great story (and entertainment) if he could make it on Tour and keep his card for a few years at least. Thanks!
  15. Perhaps in due time it will be. Wouldn't that be something. But long drive competition is wildly different than golf. They have huge "fairways" (like 50 yard wide) and many competitors still can't find them in 8 tries. Sure, they would go 400+ yards, but way in the woods or OB on a Tour golf course... By taming his driver, AND his 3wood, someone like Kyle could be dangerous, yes, as long as the short game is there too. But, yes, you had me chuckle. Maybe. Yes, I read about the 8 iron going 302 yards, but that's gotta be some kind of fluke no? I mean some guys on Tour hit pitching
  16. If he can dial back a bit and find the fairway at 350+ 60 to 70% of the time (like most good drivers on Tour), he'll be a menace for sure, as long as he's got the other skills too, including putting and chipping. He's bound to be around the green a lot, when he unleashes one, and he will need to get those up and in more often than not. It should be fun to watch: think DeChambeau on steroids (well, Bryson might already be on them... duh!).
  17. I use my 55 wedge most of the time, but that may be only 60 or 70%, nowhere near 90%. If I am really short sided, or the green is running away from me with a regular short side, I might use my 60 wedge (or in bunkers, depending on how far I have to go). I pitch with the 55 or the 50 gap wedge from within 40-50 yards. I bump and run with anything from a 9 iron to the 55. It all depends on the situation. One club I don't use much around the green (except from within a couple of feet of it) is the putter. I can't get my head around the changes in speeds as the ball transitions through the v
  18. And still, you missed the big event, when Kilauea erupted in May 2018. Check this out, for an eye opener! 😉 I was on the island when it happened (and also when the crazy nuclear holocaust warning/alarm was sent, but that's another story...) Photo: Unfazed man plays as volcano erupts An erupting volcano is a serious hazard, but it's reasonable to assume these guys only want to know if said hazard is lateral.
  19. You'll have to go to the Kona side of the Big Island to find better golf, such as the Kona Country Club (only 1 course reopened instead of the two that were there), Makalei (a very steep side of the hill, with huge elevation changes, not everyone's cup of tea, but fun once in a while), Makani, as you found out, or go towards the Kohala resorts (Mauna Lani North and South, Mauna Kea, Hapuna, Waikoloa Beach or Waikoloa Kings courses, and also Waikoloa Village up on the hill by Waikoloa Rd). Sure those can set you back a lot more than $100 (try $300 at Mauna Kea!), but there are deals to be had h
  20. Thanks. I would suggest you ask them to redo your lenses and position that transition lower so you don't have to do the bobble head thing all the time. It really bothered me (like when in traffic I had to lower my head to see from the top part of the lenses, in order to see properly something close, like the license plate of a car in front...), and so I did. It did help with golf too, a lot!
  21. I have been wearing progressive lenses for a while (10+ years?), including for golf but I have them made such that the neutral position is for the long distance and only if I lower my eyes and/or look through the bottom of the glasses does the near correction kick in. The default is to have the area where the transition happens much higher, like in the middle. I had to have multiple sets of lenses remade because of that until they finally figured it out and put a note in my file... Still, I had adapted well enough to play golf, even if during some portion of the stroke the ball is not cle
  22. And one more today at the home course. A beautiful hybrid on the par 3 #4 from 180yds, left me with a slight right-to-left putt really uphill, about 6ft and I rolled it in the middle of the hole. Only 7 more to go, but I feel there are probably only 2 or 3 that are gettable, unless something of a fluke happens. We'll see...
  23. It serves me well to rant. I just completed the away challenge today, with a birdie at the dreaded #14. I had a terrible drive, with about 200 yards left, flushed a 5 wood over the fairway bunker that's at 150yds out, and a tree, and put the ball about 5 ft from the pin. I easily rolled the putt in: it was almost straight. The second shot is what did it: I couldn't believe the ball was that close to the hole! Now, to make some progress on the home course... There is still time in this season, but with the standard time returning next week, not much time in the day: it will be dark at 5:0
  24. I have been stuck on both the home course (which I haven't played as much as usual) and on the away courses. I have 8 more to go on the home course and just #14 on the away composite. I had several good opportunities that stopped on the lip, both putting and chipping. It's kind of annoying at this point. On the home front, I am not sure why I can't make any progress on the sheet, as some of those holes left are gettable, particularly #1 (but I don't warm up and am just happy with a par there), but I haven't got them, lol! It's not like I am suddenly making fewer birdies, but they are not
  25. Once during our associate club's once a month tournament, I made a violent but completely out of sync swing, that injured my left lats and left me unable to keep playing that day (except for chipping and putting, which I did after withdrawing, just to stay around), and for the next month or so. That was a stupid move! I don't know what prompted it, but it did hurt.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...