Jump to content

DaveP043

Forum Leader
  • Content Count

    4,086
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    69

Everything posted by DaveP043

  1. I look forward to every one. Quarterly seems just often enough.
  2. I might have set a record for responding to a really old revival.
  3. With a good course map, like one I've made for myself for my home club, I have distance to the significant features, ridges and swales. I might choose to go short of a middle flag, for instance, if I know there's a ridge just behind the pin. A pin sheet just gives more detail than a red-white-blue flag system might give, is it in front of that ridge, or just past it.
  4. I respect your superior knowledge and experience with the rules, but the rules do not make that definition. The definition of the putting green doesn't provide any clarification. I am doing my best to read just what the words say, and interpret them accordingly.
  5. That was the old rules, the new ones are revised in that regard.
  6. I've got that one, kind of a hockey swing, all body, no "release" It makes sense to reduce spin into the wind, better than hitting a 3-wood that balloons.
  7. I don't know if guests get notified, but I'll respond anyway. First, this thread is over 10 years old, there's lots more stuff around about this general topic. But its pretty important to keep your head steady. Not motionless, not in the grip of a vise, but pretty steady. Whether this translates to keeping your eye on the ball, that's a different feel for different golfers. For me, I prefer to keep my attention on the ball as a way to help keep my head steady.
  8. The pin sheet will let you know which side of the flag to aim at. For a back flag, aim a little short of it, closer to the middle. For a front flag, aim past it, to the middle. You want a little bit of a miss to end up on the green, not chipping from a difficult spot. The same holds true for left and right pins, aim more towards the middle.
  9. Yeah, 2 choices. Select a shorter club, or learn to hit it straighter.
  10. I'm not happy that we're arguing about (OK, discussing) the definition of "below the surface of the putting green." I can understand each of the definitions offered, but I can't tell which one the rules specifically envision. Or more probably, the rules don't envision a worn or depressed area immediately surrounding the hole, which is sadly a too common occurrence. Less common is that severely tilted flagstick. If I was in your group, I'd have called it an ace, and had a pint on you.
  11. Wow, that's really close. At least now you've read the actual rule, so the next time you hit one like that you'll know how to evaluate it. @iacas is right, its possible for the ball to be touching the flag, and still not fit the definition of being "holed", and that one may just fit that description.
  12. You may need to set that to be open to the public
  13. Here's the text from the Rules: As I said earlier, if the ball is leaning against the flagstick, to me that means that the center of gravity is no longer over the green surface, but instead is over the hole. Once the CG moves past the lip, and over the hole, the ball starts to drop, since the contact with the lip of the hole is no longer the lowest point of the ball. I say it's an ace.
  14. I agree, its hard to say for sure whether any part of the ball is below the level of the surface. On the other hand, if the ball is leaning against the flag, that means its center of gravity is over the hole instead of over the surface. And if you draw that up, with the lowest point of the ball (directly under the CG) within the circumference of the cup, at least a tiny bit of the ball has to be below the surface. That photo makes it look really close.
  15. This is why you should get some personalized evaluation and instruction. A pretty easy way to do that is to post video of your swing in the My Video portion of this site. Read the instructions, especially the part about taking good video.
  16. I'm surprised nobody has mentioned it but there are some pretty good videos on this very website, check this for a summary:
  17. First, what @iacas says, learn Aimpoint. Second, 4.3a(1) says this about using "equipment" So if there IS an app, its not legal under the rules.
  18. There has been a review process. The new rules have been under development and review for 7 years. The PGA Tour had a substantial role in developing the rules.. The driver rule, and the ball being moved rule, are unchanged from the previous version. Human common sense says "Don't do anything that will move your ball, that's been a penalty for as long as you've been alive." In my opinion, the only one looking like a buffoon is Simpson. He should learn the rules before he starts suggesting how to change them.
  19. I might look at it a bit differently. If a pro is on the tee for a 410 yard hole, he'll average 4.00 strokes to hole out. That takes into account his good swings and bad, fairway or rough, all in one number. Add stroke and distance, he'd be expected to take a total of 6.00 after striping one OB. But if his tee shot was offline, and his E-5 drop leaves him 190 yards in the fairway and lying 3, he's going to take 3.1 more to hole out, or 6.1 total. He's lost 0.1 by using the local rule. My guess is that you'll find the difference in scoring for any yardage interval is actually greater for higher handicaps than for good players. We get much worse much more quickly as we get further from the hole.
  20. But the opposite applies at times for better players. Better players are pretty likely (not guaranteed) to follow a bad shot with a good one, leaving them in better position lying 3 than if they use the Local Rule. And as @billchao says, it will have a pretty small impact on scoring for handicap posting, which will generally be controlled by ESC (or the maximum hole score in other handicap systems). Most of my play is in some type of match play format, and a lost or OB usually means a lost hole. If I've probably lost a hole, I'd rather hit a provisional as a bit of legal practice, as opposed to ending up on the next tee with that OB shot as my most recent drive.
  21. Rule 9-3.c in the USGA Handicap Manual covers this. The most important excerpt: But in summary, you're doing it right as regards the Blue and White tee players, but the Red tee player should be adjusted downward in the same manner. If there is no slope or CR for the Red tees for men, you can estimate them based on the difference in yardage from the closest tees rated for men, with the Table in 5-2.g Handicap strokes should be allocated based on the Handicap Rating for the tees each player is using.
  22. That graphic is a great summary of the new Model Local Rule. For @Buckeyebowman, you can read it in more detail in the Rules in Section 8 of Committee Procedures, Local Rule E-5
  23. You said "really really" sideways. I said poorly, which covers a whole lot more situations. For me, a poor shot goes shorter than a well-struck straight shot. I hit a pretty fair proportion of well-struck straight shots, so MY best play in most situations is to play a provisional, and expect a good one. In my opinion, the results will vary with the player, and with the individual situations. I don't think there's a blanket "most every time" generalization that can be made. Your friend is wrong, the rules are meant to govern all of us, not just the pros. I agree, the lost ball rule is particularly strict, especially when the leaves are on the ground. On the other hand, the Rules of Golf offer the following model local rule for your club to enact for just this situation If your ball is known or virtually certain to be lost within the Ground Under Repair, you can take free relief. Check out 16.1.e for more information.
  24. I don't think this is absolutely true. Sure, if you hit a ball solid, and it doesn't hit trees or anything else, you're generally right. But if you've mishit the ball even a little bit, its LIKELY to be well short of your normal distance, so your drop (in the wide relief area which includes a bit of fairway) has to be well short of your normal distance. I'd generally prefer a provisional whenever I think a ball might be lost, because I expect to hit my provisional solid. Solid means I hit it past where my mis-hit original would be, closer to the hole.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...