Jump to content

6Aces

Member
  • Content count

    24
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

6Aces last won the day on November 30 2015

6Aces had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

6 Sandbagger

About 6Aces

  • Rank
    Member

Your Golf Game

  • Handicap Index
    2.2
  1. lost ball water hazard

    Yes. Rule 26-2a indicates that the ball must be played from outside the hazard. Further, if the player actually drops and plays from the hazard, he is playing from a wrong place and will incur a penalty of two strokes for that and a further penalty of 1 stroke for taking relief from the water hazard. This assumes that no serious breach has occurred. See Decision 20-7/2
  2. Golf Resume. What's yours?

    Age: 71 Height: 5' 10" Where are you from: Ottawa, Ontario How long have you been playing: 57 years Best Scores: 63 and 64, Both 8 under par Favorite club in the bag: Driver Golf Books / DVD's that have helped you: "Double Connexion" Where do you play: Greensmere GC Best courses you've played so far: Doral CC Things you enjoy most about golf: the challenge; the satisfaction of hitting a great approach shot close to pin Goals for 2017: Have shot my age or less 10 times and would like to add to that total. Had handicap down to 1 last season and would like to return to that number. Improve short game.
  3. Could I have taken relief?

    While probably not applicable to the situation in the original picture, gambling on making a low percentage stroke, eliminates the stroke and distance option of Rule 28 for the original lie. Kevin Na learned this the hard way.
  4. Oddest, Unique, Unusual Rules Situation

    A player hit his tee shot into some trees after which I went to this area and asked if he wanted help looking for his ball. I found a TMP 3, which is the same kind as he said that he hit. He chipped the ball out, hit his approach shot to the green and then called me. The ball was not his. I sent him back to the tee to start over again, with a 1 stroke for the lost ball and 2 strokes for the wrong ball. My two mistakes: (1) I did not give him the unused portion of the 5 minutes to continue search for the original ball. (2) I was unaware that and did not ask if he had hit a provisional ball. He had and had actually picked it up. Consequently, he incurred an additional penalty for picking up the provisional ball and so would have hit stroke 8 from the tee. Decisions 27-2b/10 covers this scenario.
  5. Could I have taken relief?

    Your statement in bold suggests that, hypothetically, if there was a sprinkler head in the tree, (or perhaps some other abnormal ground condition or immovable obstruction) that you would be entitled to free relief. The exceptions in 24-1b and 25-1b indicate that you would not get free relief.
  6. Geezerbill's Friend's Preshot Alignment

    As a wise Rulie once said, "There are two kinds of Rules Officials; those who have made mistakes and those who will."
  7. Geezerbill's Friend's Preshot Alignment

    I talked about this in post #47. Perhaps a simple description is that the line of putt is a subset of the line of play.
  8. Geezerbill's Friend's Preshot Alignment

    Decisions 8-2a/2 and 8-2a/3, as mentioned previously, confirm that placing any mark, club, etc.,...on or near the actual line of play, to aid alignment, is an infraction. To verify that the overwhelming majority of us are correct, perhaps the poster should send his point of disagreement to the USGA and request an official ruling and then post both the question and USGA answer here.
  9. Geezerbill's Friend's Preshot Alignment

    Marty. (1) Where in the definition of the line of play does it say that it does not include a stroke made from the putting green? To quote: The line of play is the direction that the player wishes his ball to take after a stroke. There is no indication that the stroke excludes one taken from the putting green. (2) In reading Decision 16-1a/4, a player whose ball is ON the putting, removes casual water from the hole. The ruling is "...the player is in breach of 13-2 which prohibits improving the LINE OF PLAY by removing water." So, the line of putt is always a line of play, but the reverse is not always true.
  10. Maybe have a look at this decision. 3-4/1 Competitor Not Given Opportunity to Lift Ball Assisting Fellow-Competitor Q.In stroke play, A's ball lies near the hole in a position to assist B, whose ball lies off the putting green. A states his intention to lift his ball under Rule 22-1. B mistakenly believes that A does not have the right to lift his ball and plays before A has an opportunity to lift his ball. What is the ruling? A.B is disqualified under Rule 3-4 as he intentionally denied A's right to lift his ball. It is irrelevant that B did so in ignorance of the Rules.
  11. Spike Marks on Someone Else's Line

    If players were allowed to repair spike marks then some would state that every perceived imperfection on a putting green was an "old" spike mark and tap them down on their line of putt: (a) giving them a advantage, and (b) significantly slowing up play. The spike mark solution is simple: (1) After you putt out, tap down all spike marks in the vicinity of the hole so that all of the following groups won't have any interference by them. (2) Pick up your feet.
  12. Rolling the Ball under preferred lies

    One club length is a specific distance, that is, up to 48", and because the ball is first marked, there is little opportunity for the golfer to inadvertently, or deliberately, place his ball farther from the original lie than this distance. In rolling the ball with no marking, there is no original starting point and if 6" is the maximum allowable distance, one knows very well that many golfers will roll the ball, again, inadvertently or deliberately, more than 6" and there is no effective way a fellow competitor can accurately supervise the move. Using a scorecard for the preferred lie is not a standard length. Yes, a club length is generous, but it is more fair, measurable, and superviseable, if that's a word, than any other distance.
  13. Can you rake the bunker?

    You may rake the bunker. Rule 13-4 Exception 2 2. At any time, the player may smooth sand or soil in a hazard provided this is for the sole purpose of caring for the course and nothing is done to breach Rule 13-2 with respect to his next stroke . If a ball played from a hazard is outside the hazard after the stroke , the player may smooth sand or soil in the hazard without restriction. Also, Decision 13-4/37.
  14. Lost Ball Rule is Stupid

    What other rules have you deemed unfair and refuse to play by? If you and I are playing a match or a stroke play game and you LOSE your ball as you have described above, how is it fair that you get to just take a FREE drop?
  15. Rules incident in Des Moines

    Would you clarify that what Fourputt said above is incorrect? Is he not saying, "I think my ball is in a hazard. I am going to play a provisional." This is not permitted so is what he said not correct? If a player says that his ball may be in the hazard or maybe outside the hazard, he may play a provisional, as you have stated.
×

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...