• Announcements

    • iacas

      Introducing TST "Clubs!"   08/28/2017

      No, we're not getting into the equipment business, but we do have "clubs" here on TST now. Groups. Check them out here:

SG11118

Established Member
  • Content count

    123
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

21 Excellent

About SG11118

  • Rank
    Well Established Member
  • Birthday April 3

Personal Information

  • Your Location
    Northern Minnesota

Your Golf Game

  • Handicap Index
    4.2
  • Handedness
    Righty
  • GAME Golf Username

Recent Profile Visitors

930 profile views
  1. Green aeration

    Where are you located? I don't exactly have an answer for you. Our greens just got aerated (deep tine) this week with very little topdressing in preparation for winter. The head greens keeper believes that the greens make it through the winter better if the holes aren't filled with sand. I'm going to push for topdressing to fill the holes in spring to speed up recovery. Up until a few years ago we'd aerate twice in the fall like you mentioned. The first time it was topdressed to fill the holes and the second time was deep tined without sand to "shock" the turf to help it prepare for winter.
  2. A decent amount of the rationale for improving the full swing vs. improving the short game is that if you can hit the ball further, you'll be closer to the green, thereby improving your GIR percentage. Say an Ionomer covered ball travels 3% further on your drives (with less sidespin), a 250 yard urethane drive now travels 257.5 yards, and you are almost a club closer to the green. The main benefit to the urethane coated balls is extra control spin control around the greens. Most people are arguing in this thread that players should be practicing their full swing more than their short game to improve faster. Should they also be using a ball that travels further off the tee (at the expense to a little control around the greens)?
  3. Is there a typical rule of thumb for how much further ionomer covered golf balls travel than urethane covered balls? If this thread is saying the easiest way to become a 70 shooter is to improve your full swing, and not the short game, would it also make sense for more golfers to bench the urethane balls and go to ionomer coated ones for the same reasons?
  4. Good. I'm on the greens committee at my course and want to upgrade the hazard stakes on my course as they currently look pretty shabby, old, and inconsistent. It would be good if it happens by next spring so I only have to buy red ones. Have you turned over the petition signatures on the flagstick rule, and provided any other evidence on it to the USGA/R&A? Did you end up getting a decent amount of signatures? I signed it right away, but haven't been back to the petition website since then.
  5. This was about a 200 yard par 3 and it probably wasn't a 150 yard pond. It was probably about 125 yards in diameter, and the path from the tee to the green going through the center of the pond. It just happened to be that there was a "finger" of land jutting into the pond where my ball happened to roll back into the hazard at, and the line they had painted for the hazard kind of followed the contour of the ground. If the modified rules do come into effect, and I hit the same tee shot, and seeing that it was marked as a lateral, I still would have walked to the green side of the pond, saw where my ball rolled in to the hazard, tried to figure out if there was a way to make a legal drop, and then I would've eventually come to the conclusion that I couldn't make a legal drop on the green side, and I'd of had to walk all the way back to the tee for my third, slowing down play. You could possibly argue that the proposed rule might not be entirely equitable, as one of the guys I was playing with could've hit a similar shot except had the ball roll 6 feet to the right or left and not hit the "finger" allowing him to drop on the pond side. I'm not trying to say that I don't approve of the new rule changes related to hazards - I think I probably do. It has never made sense to me that you should be able to hit the ball into one side of the creek or pond and take a drop on the other side, just because it gave you a better opportunity to make a decent score. I just wanted to bring this scenario up as a possible topic for consideration to see if anyone thinks the rules should try and give an "out" to golfers who can't find a spot to legally make the two club length drop.
  6. I did feel like I might have broken the rules after it happened, but after looking at the diagram associated with decision 26-1/14, I figured I could easily argue the X3-Y3 situation was applicable to my situation - even though the other margin of the hazard was only 5 to 6 club lengths away.
  7. Haven't read all 15 pages, so apologies if this has already been discussed: A few years ago I was playing in our State MId-Am Championship and got to the 17th hole which was a long par 3 over a pond. I hit the ball right towards the pin but ended up being 2 clubs short, hitting the bank and rolling back down into the hazard. I got up to the spot and saw it was staked as a lateral allowing me to drop on the green side of the pond. However, the geometry of the hazard was such that there was no place to drop within two club lengths where the ball wouldn't be closer to the hole. I ended up picking the nearest spot that wasn't closer to the hole and dropping there. My drop was probably 5 or 6 club lengths from where it entered the hazard. I was playing with a reinstated professional, and one of the top players from the club where we were playing at, and they both agreed this was the correct play, so I liked that answer as opposed to going 150 yards back on the tee side of the pond - so I went with it. I was in a little bit of grey rules territory, but I assume I was technically playing the opposite side of the hazard provision, even though I was on the same side of the pond, just on the opposite side of the small anomaly that was preventing me from dropping within two club lengths. 1. Does anyone disagree that I did not properly play this situation? 2. If the USGA / R&A do get rid of the opposite side provision, there will likely be more occurances where the ball cannot be put into play within 2 club lengths of where the ball entered the hazard. Would the play then be to allow the golfer to exceed two club lengths, or would the play then be to force the golfer to use one of the other options (replay from previous spot, drop back on the line of where the ball entered the hazard)?
  8. Tiger Troubles - DUI Arrest

    I guess Tiger needs a new phone number now
  9. "Pro" shoots 127 in U.S. Open local qualifying

    Could be a score from a guy that tried to play through an injury. Could be a score from a pro who isn't very good.
  10. Agree - Probably can't govern what goes in the book. They could still make it illegal to utilize green slope information in the book to aid in making a putting stroke though. It would be a bit of a tell if the player and / or caddy are looking at the book while their ball is sitting on the green.
  11. It seems like the USGA / R&A can only eliminate the use of these books during the round. If I was a touring pro playing the same 30 courses every year for millions of dollars, I'd still figure out a way to get a hold of the laser scan data for all these greens to use in my preparation for the tournament and in my practice rounds. I'd also tell my caddy to memorize what he could. If can't use them during the actual tournament, at least can memorize the general slope of the green to aid in reading of the green.
  12. I find it strange that the USGA and R&A made this announcement to give people warning that they are reviewing the topic and might make another announcement that actually affects the rules in a few months. At the PGA level, Pros and their caddies will probably still create and reference these books in preparing for a tournament. They'll probably just have to do a little more memorizing and preparing before the event and between rounds if they can't carry the books along with them on the course.
  13. Lexi Thompson's 4 Stroke Penalty at the ANA

    Maybe you tentatively sign at the end of each 18 hole round, but that signature doesn't become "official" until the golfer has also signed for the tournament score?
  14. Lexi Thompson's 4 Stroke Penalty at the ANA

    There is a bit of a disconnect that you need to sign your card after each 18 hole round, but they can assess penalties over the entire 72 hole tournament. Why not change the rules to let the golfer officially sign for all four 18 hole rounds at the end of the 72 hole tournament?