Jump to content

humblepeasant

Member
  • Content Count

    21
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by humblepeasant

  1. Actually I guess I'm not sure...I just remember the USGA course handicap calculator used to prompt you to enter you handicap index, and it would specify a range of +9.9 to 36.4 for men. But that might have just been the calculator 🤷‍♂️
  2. Is the minimum handicap index still a +9.9, like it was before the WHS in the US? I know they raised the max to 54, but I haven’t read about a minimum. Wondering if there is no longer any minimum. Certainly nothing any of us will ever probably really need to think about, just a random thought/question I had haha
  3. Haha yes, my question has been answered and then some! Never dreamed my simple question would ever be on it's fourth page of discussion 😀
  4. To me, though, it would be too time consuming and an unreasonable burden on players to have to ride or even walk all the way to the green and back before a tee shot on a par three, or a long second shot on a par 5 to the green, etc. So the question is, where EXACTLY would you draw the line? Because that would so difficult to do in a completely objective and universal way, I guess that's why the rule is no penalty at all.
  5. Does anyone know for sure if anyone in your group can move it at any time? Say your competitor has a chip onto a steep downhill green with the flagstick on the ground as a backstop right behind the hole...can you move it before he takes his shot so he doesn't have that advantage? Or can you move it only when it's your "turn" (not to mention, if playing ready golf, who's turn is it anyway)
  6. I was assuming anyone could move it at any time, but I don't really know anything so I shouldn't be chiming in haha
  7. The way I'm interpreting it, if anyone wants to move it, they can move it. So whoever it disadvantages will naturally move it, and that'd be that. So if you have a group, it's probably going to be moved by someone. For my question, it happened to be a solo round.
  8. Hi! What are the rules for when a flag is lying down on the green (in this case, when it's been knocked down by the wind)? When are you required to pick it up? I assume if you are on the green, you have to pick it up or be penalized if your ball comes into contact with it. But what about if you're chipping/pitching? Approach shot? Etc? It's happened several times lately where I live. I usually just pick it up once I'm putting, but yesterday my chip shot came into contact with the downed flagstick, to my advantage, and so I was wondering what the rule actually is. Thanks!!
  9. I actually just found it! https://www.usga.org/content/dam/usga/pdf/Handicap/Rules-of-Handicapping_USGA_Final.pdf (page 50)
  10. Hi, the picture I've attached is for the old USGA handicap before the new world handicap system. I can't find the same information for the new formula. Does anyone have it? Thanks!
  11. Actually sorry, I’m still not sure. Let me give an example... Say I’m playing a 9 hole course. When you look up the rating/slope, it actually gives a 70.8/119 18-hole rating/slope, then 35.4/119 for the “front” and “back” 9’s. Say I have a 7.0 (18-hole) index, which gives a 7 course handicap using the 119 slope. That’s 7 strokes for 18 holes...so how do I apply them to the 9 hole course? Do I get 4 strokes or 3 strokes?
  12. If you have an odd-number course handicap, and you are playing a 9 hole course, how many handicap strokes do you get? For example, if you have a 7 course handicap, would you get 4 strokes or 3?
  13. For the 3 minutes you get to search for your ball, when exactly does the clock start? Thanks!
  14. Thanks everyone! Makes sense. I will mention it's 2 holes on a 9-hole course, so it's really like 4 holes, so a little "worse" than it probably seemed. I have a sensible plan though, so I'm all set! Thanks.
  15. The more I think about it and research, the more "most likely" makes sense to me. And in the case of a par plus for a hole skipped entirely, I guess you could make your best estimate of what you course handicap would be and therefore how many strokes you would get on the hole. Just thinking, in theory: if a golfer with the game of a +5.8 handicapper was establishing a handicap for the first time, the handicap would be completely inaccurate if one assumed 36.4 for par plus, etc. I feel like that basically answers my original question...because I think there are only 3 ways to modify a score: par plus, ESC, and "most likely." I'd still be interested to hear anyone thoughts! I can't imagine most golfers put (waste?) this much thought on something like this, but it's just my personality haha. I'm establishing my handicap for the first time and I want to do it right! 🙂
  16. Hello, I am in the process of establishing a handicap index (I don't yet have 5 scores). My home course has two holes with the tees moved far forward due to some maintenance...a long par 4 is now a short par 3, and a par 5 is now a short par 4. I understand for handicap posting purposes, I am to count those holes as not played, and apply par plus. However, what is par plus for someone without an established handicap? I know for calculating ESC, I am to use the maximum handicap index of 36.4 while establishing a handicap (handicap manual 4-3). However, section 4-2 (holes not played) does not address my problem. I figure I have 2 options...either use the 36.4, or play the holes as they are and figure my "most likely" score based on how I did. For example, for the long par 4, I think it would most likely take me 2 strokes to get to where the tees are now...so add 2 strokes to that hole? It'd be 1 stroke with the other hole. I would just like to find the official guideline for this situation, as I have not been able to. Thanks! And, hypothetically, what about par plus for a hole that is skipped entirely?
  17. Thanks everyone! Knowledgeable people here! 😀
  18. Thanks, guys! My only question would be then, where do you draw the line? My example is obvious because it's such a drastic change. But tees are routinely moved a little bit periodically to different grass. Is 20 yards the line? 50 yards? Seems to me the course should have a sign to eliminate ambiguity (maybe they're supposed to). I suppose if the tee markers are simply outside of their normal boxes, maybe that's the line. Thanks for the help!!
  19. At my home course, there is a par 5 with the tees moved 200+ yards forward due to some maintenance they're doing on the fairway. With a solid shot, I can easily reach the green from the tee with my driver. According to the rules (for handicap score posting purposes), am I supposed to add a stroke to my score in this type of situation? There's nothing at the course indicating that I should (the sign with the par and yardages hasn't been modified). Thanks!
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...