Jump to content


Established Member
  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

48 Moving Up the Leaderboard

About drmevo

  • Rank
    Well Established Member

Personal Information

  • Your Location
    Seacoast NH

Your Golf Game

  • Handicap Index
  • Handedness

Recent Profile Visitors

2,738 profile views
  1. Hell no. First, I’m not a very good golfer, and second, one injury from so many attempts and you’re done for.
  2. Yeah I’m just thinking about scenarios where you’re playing as a foursome on a time limit, you’re going to be moving it quite a bit and that will eat into your time. Plus cable wear and tear from constant moving, potential tripping hazard, etc. if I’m paying decent money to play I wouldn’t want to have to deal with that.
  3. What happens when you get a lefty in the group? They have to move the unit over for every shot?
  4. I understand that but then why didn't they include it in the clarification? Omitting it there seems like they removed "club behind the ball" as a criteria.
  5. You're right, I somehow missed that last paragraph of the change regarding backing out - my bad. I agree, that is too subjective. Where "beginning to take a stance" is now defined as having at least one foot in place, how could you? I meant placing the club behind the ball, yes. How can you have "beginning to take your stance" explicitly defined as one foot being in place for the actual stroke and then also have other examples? If that's true, then you're right, they really haven't solved anything.But I took this at face value, that you are NOT beginning to take your stance until one foot is in place.
  6. In terms of how they have changed and clarified the rule, yes. Do I think the changes are the best they could have done? No. I think grounding the club behind the ball should also count as starting to take your stance, as it did originally and as I stated earlier. Any practice swing where the club head is just outside of the ball is going to put your feet practically just as close as if you were to only move them an inch or two, and that practice swing is now allowed to take place with your caddie in line behind you. Does it allow players to skirt the intent of the rule more easily? Perhaps. Again, I don't think this change is ideal. Just better than it was. It might be trivial and stupid, but if you've moved both feet (and I would add the club head if it were up to me), then you've reset.
  7. No, he wasn't in his stance, according to this definition. He moved. It's undoubtedly more defined than it was, is my point. Not sure if you would remember but I have nit-picked over "what-if" scenarios on other rules with you in the past and as I recall (can't find my activity going back that far) your response was basically that they simply can't address every single scenario one can imagine when creating the rules. Well I really can't understand that, care to explain?
  8. It seems to me that it's at least less ambiguous than it was before. Before it was basically, "we can't really define when you are starting to take your stance, but we'll know it if we see it!" Yes, they provided two examples but as far as we knew they were just that, examples, and any official could've decided something else was "beginning to take a stance," as we indeed saw happen. I do tend to agree, even more clarity would be better, but I don't see this as worse. There was always some degree of interpretation/judgement as a factor in this rule. Question - wouldn't all of your backing out concerns still have applied on the green even if they didn't change that part of the rule so it was allowed everywhere?
  9. You can adjust the height of the handle. Just push the handle down slightly to lift the front wheel and sharp turns are pretty easy, or at least easy enough I’ve never thought about it or wished it were easier.
  10. I could imagine tour players pushing back on this whole thing and saying, hey, I thought we’re supposed to make an effort to speed things up and this is making our shot process take longer. Not saying that’s right but I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s brought up.
  11. Perhaps it has more to do with the fact that the green is a much more confined area with other players more likely to be in close proximity. The caddy may have fewer reasonable places to stand and might accidentally find themselves out of position more easily. Who knows.
  12. I edited it to add, “in the interpretations” right after I posted it. The two examples there include a foot being in place and the club being in place to make the stroke. I hadn’t seen that graphic but it looks to me like one of the feet is in place. Neither of those two criteria are met in a practice swing. And look, I agree with the idea behind the general rule and recognize that it’s extremely difficult to define a rule like this without compromising somewhere. It just seems crazy you can fix the situation on the green before making a stroke but not elsewhere. ETA: Of course you’re right about stance being defined, I should’ve said “beginning to take a stance,” but it sounds like you got my point.
  13. Oh please? Very common in my experience when wearing spikeless Trues or Footjoys. The studs make little impressions and there are so many it makes a clear footprint. I can’t be the only one to have seen this. In fact, the green is the only grassy place I’ve ever really noticed clear footprints, not that I’ve paid much attention to it in the fairways or rough. I don’t disagree they should know the rule, but the pros probably think making your stance involves putting your club behind the ball in preparing to hit it. That’s the example given in the interpretations. Otherwise, you’re putting more judgement into the rule. How close to the ball can you be when making a practice stroke for it to not to be a penalty? A yard? A foot? If you define stance more clearly it’s not a problem. I’m sure some will say just don’t have the caddy stand there and it’s not a problem, but there still needs to be a clear definition IMO.
  14. I would disagree, I’ve played on many greens where you can see clear footprints for a couple of minutes after walking/standing on them. I’m also curious why practice strokes count for this...it’s almost by definition not your “actual” stance.
  15. This is interesting, and there is a similar concept in practicing/performing music. Basically, when rehearsing you have to think more about logistics, the form of the song, dynamics, technique, etc. But when on stage, the goal is the let all of that go and just play and try to make the music feel good. You wouldn't want all of that thinking going on or it would negatively affect the performance.
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...