Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'penalty strokes'.
Found 1 result
I am just using the language from the USGA question, and posting it here for discussion. I added the "In tournament play" precursor, though, because it's like the USGA/R&A don't consider what virtually everyone already does this in casual/recreational play. So… answer as if you're playing in your club championship or something, not about what you'd do in casual play. This is the type of rules change that could still make it into the 2019 Rules of Golf. So, let's discuss it. I voted as you can see above. Most of the time, OB is in a bad area, and I'd rather take my chances hitting a second drive to get into a better spot than to drop in amongst some trees or really close to the margin of OB. To put it another way, I just hit a bad shot… I think I have a good chance of hitting a better shot and lying three than playing from where my bad shot is lying three. Of course, that's in tournament play. In casual play, where I'm not even really keeping score, I just drop a ball and play on.