Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'bunker'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Welcome
    • Welcome, Everyone
    • The TST Blog
  • The Clubhouse
    • Golf Talk
    • Tour Talk
    • Member Outings & Meetups
    • Golf Courses and Architecture
    • Destinations and Travel
    • Rules of Golf
  • The Practice Range
    • Instruction and Playing Tips
    • Member Swings
    • Swing Thoughts
    • Reading Room
    • Fitness and Exercise
  • The Pro Shop
    • Clubs, Grips, Shafts, Fitting
    • Balls, Carts/Bags, Apparel, Gear, Etc.
    • Member Reviews
    • Marketplace
  • The 19th Hole
    • Disc Golf, Foot Golf, Etc.
    • Sports
    • Geek Zone
    • The Grill Room
    • Announcements & Tech Support
  • Michigan Golf's Golf Course Reviews
  • Michigan Golf's Topics
  • Apple Fans's Discussions
  • Wisconsin Golf's Discussions
  • Upstate New York's Topics
  • Central Florida Golfers's Discussions
  • General Architecture Fans's Discussions
  • Oklahoma Golfers's Discussions
  • Ohio Golf's General Discussion
  • SoCal Golf's Discussions
  • Missouri Golf's Discussions
  • Missouri Golf's TopicsThe eNewsletter of the Metropolitan Amateur Golf Association
  • Mid-Atlantic Golf's Discussions
  • European Union Golf's Discussions
  • European Union Golf's Europe golf Courses
  • Mevo Owners's Discussions
  • MA Golf's Courses
  • MA Golf's General Western/Central MA Golf Discussion
  • Golf Collectibles's What do you collect?
  • Minnesota Golf's What are your home courses?
  • Minnesota Golf's WITB?
  • Minnesota Golf's Thoughts on AM Tours in Minnesota

Blogs

There are no results to display.

There are no results to display.

Calendars

There are no results to display.

There are no results to display.

Product Groups

  • TST Supporter Options
  • TST Sponsor Options

Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


Handicap Index

Found 10 results

  1. So my ball came to rest on top of a leaf inside of a bunker. I wasn’t sure if I had to hit it as it lied or not. So I marked the ball with a tee and removed the leaf, moving the ball with it. Because I marked it, I replaced the ball. I was wondering if this is the correct or if I did it incorrectly. (If this is incorrect, please explain how.) Thank You
  2. Is there a way to practice sand shots without sand? I ask this because I can practice pitch shots and chip shots in the winter on mats, but I can't think of a way to simulate sand. I searched this forum and didn't find anything definitive on this subject. My sand game has gone awry as I have worked mostly on my long game this year. My pitching and chipping has improved because I can work on that hitting in my backyard or into my net. But I have really struggled with sand for the most part. I've reviewed @mvmac's video below about 30 times this year. I just want to find a way to simulate it so I can work on it this winter.
  3. I saw a thread about the ball position or something like that in regards to bunker shots. I wanted to take a little time, if possible, to discuss the #1 all time, best tip, best advice, best lesson, you ever had regarding getting out of the bunker the first time... For me personally, I struggled with bunker shots for years and years. Last summer I remember chatting with one of the drummers/percussionists in the Shriners "Million Dollar Band" here in town (I currently play 2nd chair trumpet). He too is a golfer and is also in the Shriners "ACCA Swingers" golf club. Anyway, one thing led to another and we were talking golf, and I casually mentioned that I always had troubles getting out of the bunker. I've been so tempted to just grab the ball and toss it out or kick it out when nobody was looking! He told me (since we're both Freemasons as well as Shriners), "Getting out of a bunker is easy... We all know 'Brother' George Washington on the dollar bill, right? Well, practice this next time you're at a range with a sand trap bunker...." Imagine a dollar bill underneath the golf ball. The ball is covering George Washington's picture. Now, we don't want to hit "Brother George" do we? That would be against our Masonic obligation! What you do is hit the dollar bill out from underneath him. (in other words, hit about 2" behind the ball, while the sand wedge clubface is open, and it will slide underneath the ball). Long story short - I thought about what he said, and tried it out last year at one of the local driving ranges where they have natural grass tees and a practice bunker way off to the side. I tossed an old Pinnacle ball in the trap and shifted my heels of my golf shoes down a bit. Thought long and hard about what he said, used my 58° sand wedge while imagining a dollar bill under the ball, and WHACK! --- I hit it right out of the trap with a descending blow, just like the pros do! It works!!! What do you think of this method?
  4. This is a golf hole from the Heathland course down in Myrtle Beach. If a ball in the bunker rolls up against the pilings in the bulkhead - note red X - what is the ruling? Would a player have to take a penalty stroke and drop back, or what? I'm not sure if pilings are considered part of hazard.
  5. Steve Williams was very mad about having Adam Scott hit from a bad lie in an "unraked" fairway bunker. I would not want to be that guy. Did Steve ever find the bunker raking slouch? I agree with Adam Scott's caddie, this should not happen. They are professionals - right?
  6. So I heard this story told to me today… A college coach, I'll call him Jim, told me the story of his first conference championship win. He won it over the Close Competitor team (CC), who had won the previous several conference championships. They were playing in a threesome with a third irrelevant team. The teams in Jim's conference had played a tournament three days prior where stones in bunkers were movable obstructions and could be removed. In the second and final round, when Jim's team trailed CC by a few strokes, three players in the group hit into a bunker. Jim's player hit out. The other team's player hit out. The CC player said "I'm gonna move this stone." Jim's player and the other two looked at each other but said nothing. The player moved the stone, hit out, and went to the next tee and teed off. Jim said the player should be DQed because he teed off on the next hole and didn't correct his mistake (?). The CC coach argued that all three boys should be DQed for waiving a rule of golf (??). In the end the CC and Jim's team tied, and because they use the fifth score as a tiebreaker, and the guy who hit from a bunker was DQed (?)… so Jim's team won. ? - This isn't a DQ penalty. Why they thought it was, I don't know. ?? - The players probably didn't waive a rule, but they should have stopped the guy if they knew that stones were not movable obstructions for this tournament. It's the right thing to do. CC would have won the tournament if the fifth player's score had counted… even with penalty strokes added. There are very few things in golf that result in DQ. Playing the wrong ball and then teeing off is about the only one that really comes up in stroke play college events. Occasionally signing for the lower score one does too. Know the rules. They help you about as often as they hurt you.
  7. Can designers build a sand trap area you only fill with sand when needed? Let's say you have a hole on which a greenside or fairway bunker would be challenging for competitive golfers, but a killer for everyday golfers. Would it be possible to have a hollow or trough that had the tiling and drainage for a sand trap, but was a grassy depression most of the time (Set-up A). Then, it could be filled with sand for big tournaments (Set-up B)? Then, most of the sand could be removed afterward and the area would quickly go back to a grass bunker. Would this work from a maintenance standpoint, or would it be best just to build a new bunker for big events, and then remove it?
  8. Many years ago I played a team match format on an odd day. The bunkers were full of casual water, sometimes six inches or so deep. We were only told to re tee if we could not rake it out or certain it was in. A playing compeitior teed off and it clearly went in, he could not rake it out but was entitled relief. I hit next and since it was hazy I could not see my ball land, one competitor thought he saw it hit the bunker. It was possible my ball went into the casual water, but it may have bounced out of the bunker, or landed just beyond the bunker, and into tall grass. We could not find the ball in grass, so I believed it was also in the water. Due to the weather I did not put up much of a fight and ran back to re tee and made a nice round ruining 8. Perhaps I should've called for an official but in the cold and pouring rain I decided to just get on with it. I believe the competitor was right in any case. I think if I am certain it is in the casual water, and my competitor disagrees, it goes to any other competitor or spectator, and then the committee must rule. Now that I see Justin Rose having to re tee because he cannot climb a tree to identify his ball, I am wondering if you must also find a ball when in casual water, bunker or otherwise.
  9. In talking with @david_wedzik this morning about a chapter in Lowest Score Wins, I pointed out to him that you could not take an unplayable ball in a bunker and drop within two club lengths or on a line back from the hole to escape the bunker. He was surprised by this, and in thinking about it, it struck neither of us as "right" given the other Rules of Golf. This, I quickly decided (and I may rethink it later, but for now I'm sticking to it and arguing this point), is the one Rule of Golf I would change. Why, should a bunker penalize a player more than a water hazard? I'm aware of the fact that you can play a ball out of a bunker virtually every time, and 98% of the time out of a hazard you can't even find your ball without scuba gear and a few free hours - I'm talking about when you choose to take a penalty stroke. So imagine this. I have a bunch of little bushes. Next to them I have a small creek. Next to that, I have a bunker. Three players tee off and each hits a ball into the bushes, the creek, or the bunker. Each decides to take a penalty stroke and drop back, in the fairway, on the line from the hole through their ball. Except the guy in the bunker doesn't get to do it. If he is a poor bunker player, under the Rules of Golf, he could quite literally never get out unless he opts to re-play his tee shot (stroke and distance), effectively a two-stroke penalty while the other players only suffer a one-stroke penalty. It's still early, and I'd love to hear opposition to this, but I'm seriously considering petitioning the USGA to change this rule. I realize that bunkers are not "through the green," but all it would take is the removal of the bolded lines here: Just remove that paragraph. What's the harm? Bunkers suck. Most players will continue to play out of them most of the time, but if your ball buries under the lip and you want to take an unplayable, why should you be penalized MORE than if your ball buries in the mud of a creek in a water hazard by having to play from the hazard again?
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...