Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'etiquette'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Welcome
    • Welcome, Everyone
    • The TST Blog
  • The Clubhouse
    • Golf Talk
    • Tour Talk
    • Member Outings & Meetups
    • Golf Courses and Architecture
    • Destinations and Travel
    • Rules of Golf
  • The Practice Range
    • Instruction and Playing Tips
    • Member Swings
    • Swing Thoughts
    • Reading Room
    • Fitness and Exercise
  • The Pro Shop
    • Clubs, Grips, Shafts, Fitting
    • Balls, Carts/Bags, Apparel, Gear, Etc.
    • Member Reviews
    • Marketplace
  • The 19th Hole
    • Disc Golf, Foot Golf, Etc.
    • Sports
    • Geek Zone
    • The Grill Room
    • Announcements & Tech Support
  • Michigan Golf's Golf Course Reviews
  • Michigan Golf's Topics
  • Apple Fans's Discussions
  • Wisconsin Golf's Discussions
  • Upstate New York's Topics
  • Central Florida Golfers's Discussions
  • General Architecture Fans's Discussions
  • Oklahoma Golfers's Discussions
  • Ohio Golf's General Discussion
  • SoCal Golf's Discussions
  • Missouri Golf's Discussions
  • Missouri Golf's TopicsThe eNewsletter of the Metropolitan Amateur Golf Association
  • Mid-Atlantic Golf's Discussions
  • European Union Golf's Discussions
  • European Union Golf's Europe golf Courses
  • Mevo Owners's Discussions
  • MA Golf's Courses
  • MA Golf's General Western/Central MA Golf Discussion
  • Golf Collectibles's What do you collect?
  • Minnesota Golf's What are your home courses?
  • Minnesota Golf's WITB?
  • Minnesota Golf's Thoughts on AM Tours in Minnesota

Blogs

There are no results to display.

There are no results to display.

Calendars

There are no results to display.

There are no results to display.

Product Groups

  • TST Supporter Options
  • TST Sponsor Options

Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


Handicap Index

Found 8 results

  1. I have an etiquette question, but there may not be a standard answer for it.I play in two groups. One keeps a common scorecard and we report our scores to the person in the 4-some keeping score per hole. We also show an interest in one another's game and round. It's a great group to play with. The other group doesn't keep a common scorecard, ever, and some don't claim to keep score at all. The first group is obviously more serious. Anyway, an associate was invited to play in the more serious foursome and refused to report his score to the group's scorekeeper at the first hole. None of the regulars said anything about it, but there was an odd distance in the round not common for this group. What's the etiquette here? If the convention is a common scorecard for the group, should golfers share their score with the group, especially when they are invited to play with them? On one hand, what difference does it make? We weren't betting, certainly not with a relative stranger in the group. If someone wants to put up a fantasy score, let 'em have it. On the other hand, not sharing with folks who invited you to play with them seems rather chicken-shit and stand-offish. Of course, when we play with strangers, noone shares scores per hole or uses a common scorecard. I generally have a good time playing with strangers this way--low stress and you learn a lot about new people and golf stuff. What's the convention, opinion on this?
  2. Hi guys, I was at the range today and a couple spots over from me, I notice a guy, looked like he had a decent swing. His practice swing was very nice and smooth, but when he set up in front of the ball, his downswing seemed to double in speed. His swing still looked decent (and although I didn't see how the ball traveled), the practice swing looked markedly better than the real thing. Now, I'm not a good golfer so I'm not an authority to give advice, but I kind of wanted to mention my observation to him. After thinking it over a bit, I decided to mind my own business, but I am wondering--would it be poor etiquette to mention it to him? I think I'd appreciate an observation like that if I were in his shoes, but he may not feel the same.
  3. I think most of us know that you cannot stand on the extension of the line of play or putt of someone on your side (your caddie cannot stand there, you cannot stand there for your partner's shot, etc.). It's also poor etiquette (it's in the Rules' "Etiquette" section) to stand on the line of putt of anyone else, but that's also pretty common sense. It's also poor etiquette to stand really close to a fellow competitor while they're playing a shot. Again, most people know that. They also know you're not supposed to distract another player, and so on and so forth… But what's perfectly legal is to stand behind (i.e. basically on the extension of the line of putt behind the ball) to observe a player hitting a putt. In fact, I will advise my college players to do this, under the condition that they're WAY back so as not to possibly distract the person putting the ball. I also advise them that if the player asks them even once to move, that they step to the side enough to satisfy (and stop standing there the rest of the round), and then do the usual dumb dance where players rush in to stand on that extension of the line right after the stroke is made. What I don't get is how people are upset by this. Yet it happens. For example… My player has an eight-foot putt from 6:45. His fellow competitor has a ten-footer from 7:15. My player stands 30 or 35 feet back of the player, unmoving. In that case, I think he's in the clear. Hell, someone could stand 10' back of me, on a 10' putt, and I'm not gonna notice them if they're still and silent. 30' is more than enough room. But people feel like this is "cheating," somehow. Many people, despite me saying "I think most of us know…" above, think that the rule is actually the opposite: that your partner can stand there, but your opponents cannot. I've heard "that doesn't make sense - why should your opponent or fellow competitor benefit but your partner cannot?" when I've told people what the rule actually says. IMO, standing 30' back is better than standing 10' back and 3' to the side… and then rushing to step in behind the line when the player hits the putt. I wouldn't care. Sometimes you get lucky, and you "get a read" from someone. I'd rather someone stand still 30' back (or even 15' back) than stand close by but eager to jump in behind me to watch my ball roll. Hell, I honestly don't care where they stand so long as it's not in my field of view. But some people are uptight about this. As with most things, I feel I understand both the nature of the rules and the rules themselves. I understand and appreciate the unwritten rules, too, I feel. This practice violates neither - I'm not advising anyone to stand anywhere near where someone can see them, and they move less than someone who steps in from just behind. Yet players object to this more than seems normal to me, and I'm trying to understand why. And also, perhaps a little, to point out that you too can stand there (and that if you do that with me, so long as I can't see you or hear you, I couldn't care less).
  4. This is the worst example of abusing power and ownership. What example does this set for new golfers and youngsters. Shows ZERO respect for the men and women who care for that golf course so others may enjoy fabulous conditions. THE WORST
  5. Steve Williams was very mad about having Adam Scott hit from a bad lie in an "unraked" fairway bunker. I would not want to be that guy. Did Steve ever find the bunker raking slouch? I agree with Adam Scott's caddie, this should not happen. They are professionals - right?
  6. So Saturday I was playing a cancer charity scramble. I am usually a filler who is used to round out a team. So as usual I played with 3 strangers, 2 who knew each other. We finished the front 9 at 4 under and it started to rain, and rain and then rain some more. Then the thunder and lighting passed through so the course kept us in the club house until the storm passed. During this time 1/2 of my team baled because they had been out drinking all night. The remaining guy was on the fence as he had a 3 hour drive home. I told him repeatedly "if you have to go, go" as I could jump in to round out another team. It seems a bunch of people left leaving alot of 3's on the course. But he said he would stick around and we would each play 2 balls for the remainder of the scramble. We get the 10th Tee and there is 3 groups in front of us teeing on. My partner starts hemming and hawing about his drive home. I told him "do what you have to do". So when we were on deck, he shakes my hand and takes his bag and leaves. now I am a team of 1 in a 4 man scramble. I begin talking to team in front of me explaining what has happened. I told them I felt it was unreasonable for me to go out of hit 4 balls all by myself, but I would just go play a round of 9 since I was already there. The group offered to let me play with them this way I would not be alone and they could verify my score. Otherwise what is to stop me from getting an eagle on every hole? So I joined up with the team in front of me and I let them play their scramble and I played only 1 ball. Finished the back nine +4, bringing my "team" score to even. I later spoke to the director of the tournament who indicated had I known ahead of time he could have placed me with another group. No matter, because -14 was the winning score and I was there for the fun. However considering I played 9 holes within the rules of Golf and I had people there to verify my score. Can I post my 9 solo holes to my handicap?
  7. Yesterday I forgot to bring my push cart to the course so I had to rent a golf cart. Not a big deal, but I walk so frequently that driving a golf cart to play golf is odd to me. Anyways, I finished up 9 holes and whipped around to #10 because I was finally allowed to play through a slow (new golfers) 2-some on #9. I have played the front 9 at least 20x more than the back 9 of my home course mainly because of time, but I left work early yesterday and since I had a cart and the course wasn't busy I was able to fit in 18. I get to #10 straight par 4 but has a big will in the middle and green sits low. I don't see anybody but since I know I can carry the hill I drive up and sure enough there's a guy on the other side of the hill waiting for some folks on the green to finish up. So I wait up there a minute and when he hits I turn around and head back to the tee box. I turn the cart around to face the correct direction of my play but the cart is on the grass. I had all 4 wheels on the grass but the outside wheels (in relation to the tee box area) were edging the cart path. The "tee box area" was at least 6-7 yards from the cart path. I consider this the area that the tee markers are moved around in. There's obviously adjacent grass to those areas where they will never put tee markers. The area where my cart was (and conditions were very dry, the wheels were not doing any damage to the grass). I get out of the cart and have a guy drive from #18 green all the way over to me and heckle me about, and I quote, "driving onto the tee box." I politely said I am sorry, and quickly moved it to the cart path. And then he goes on and repeats himself... (as if I didn't hear him the first time... one of those people... puffed chest and all). Do I not understand the "driving on the tee box rule?" I felt like I wasn't anywhere near an actual tee box. And I COMPLETELY understand the rule not to drive a cart within 20 yards of a green since that's an obvious chipping area. But this area of grass sees no play, period. Not even a wanky shot would be played from here. And conditions were very dry (there was no cart-path-only or 90-degree rule yesterday, I checked). What's the deal? Am I missing something?
  8. I haven't had an official handicap for about 15 years because in the past several I've only been able to play 6-8 times per year. This year I joined a club so that I could play in tournaments and since I need five scores to get a handicap, I entered some scores in GHIN from my last few rounds in 2015 (since I play so rarely, I can remember them). When I was doing this, I forgot to change the date when posting a score from August so it defaulted to today and is now my most recent reported score. GHIN won't let me change the entry but says to "contact my club" to fix it, which seems like a hassle for everyone involved. It's not my lowest score but it's close, so it will probably be included in my handicap calculation for quite a while unless the date is changed. How big of a deal is this?
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...