Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'oob'.
Found 4 results
Hi guys potential issue at our club, 8 th hole uphill OOB all up left side but a cart path runs up left side about 6 to 8 feet from fence. There are small trees planted along the fence which used to be staked so free drop, now they have grown stakes are gone and no free drop which is fine. ( free drop made hole too easy imho). Problem is if a ball stops on the gravel path and you are right handed the room to drop is small and trees and fence interfere. This makes it difficult in places to even have a playable shot after a free drop. You couldn’t play from path with out destroying a club but seems harsh that your only 5 yards off the fairway on a man made path but have to drop where it’s virtually unplayable. There are places where if you took relief it would be unplayable then two clubs only gets you back to path! can we make a local rule that all drop to right of path if a ball is on the path? Or a drop zone for path? Or is it just tough? thanks
One of our holes in our resort golf course has a wide water area on the left and trees and swamp on the right. Both sides have been designated as red marked penalty areas. Balls hit into either penalty area are allowed a drop area which is in front of all the tees and on the fairway. On the left, the water stretches the entire hole and it is 30 - 40 yards wide. Across the water are houses. Should a golfer who hits his tee shot into the penalty area and further into the houses is he allowed the drop area or must he re-tee. As a follow up if the answer to the above is re-tee, How certain must that Golf be that the ball did not completely cross the hazard as line of sight is sometimes blocked by shrubbery. Another interesting point made by the head pro was what happens on that hole if a ball is sliced to the right across the red line and way up over the trees and swampy area. No one knows whether it came down on the golf course or on land not owned by the golf course.
I am just using the language from the USGA question, and posting it here for discussion. I added the "In tournament play" precursor, though, because it's like the USGA/R&A don't consider what virtually everyone already does this in casual/recreational play. So… answer as if you're playing in your club championship or something, not about what you'd do in casual play. This is the type of rules change that could still make it into the 2019 Rules of Golf. So, let's discuss it. I voted as you can see above. Most of the time, OB is in a bad area, and I'd rather take my chances hitting a second drive to get into a better spot than to drop in amongst some trees or really close to the margin of OB. To put it another way, I just hit a bad shot… I think I have a good chance of hitting a better shot and lying three than playing from where my bad shot is lying three. Of course, that's in tournament play. In casual play, where I'm not even really keeping score, I just drop a ball and play on.
I play at a course that has a dog leg right. From the tee box it's possible to reach the green if you cut the dog leg diagonally (forming a triangle with the ball path and the fairway). For safety reasons, a green that is very close, they've put up a net probably about 20' high between the tee box and the green, along with a sign on the box that states, "Over the net and to the right of white stakes is out of bounds". Even with the net, depending on the placement of the tees, it's still possible to hit your tee shot over the net and onto the green. It's by no means an easy shot, but none the less possible. We've debated this back and forth for a while, arguing that where the ball lies is what determines the ruling. For example if a ball travels out of bounds hits a rock and lands back in bounds there is no penalty. The pro at the course states that if the ball travels over the net it is OOB regardless if you stick the green. To put an end to this debate, per the rules (not by how nice of a shot it is), how would you rule it? The sign reads as above and you tee off, purposely or not, aimed over the net. The ball travels over the net and sticks the green, is it really OOB?