Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'penalty area'.
Found 1 result
My first post! My coastal course has a green with the ocean behind it. It is classified as a red penalty area (lateral water hazard old language). If I thin (skull) a short wedge, the ball can fly through the green and into the penalty area (and gone). At the point of entry it is impossible to drop within 2 club lengths 'no nearer the hole' and out of the penalty area, because the margin of the penalty area curves around and towards the green. I can't go back behind the area, as it's the ocean. There's no designated drop zone either. So what are my options? 1. Replay the shot under stroke and distance, or WHAT ELSE??!!!! I have been taking a drop right on the point of entry. It always rolls into the penalty area so I then place the ball right at the point of entry, as it is 'no nearer the hole' and within 2 club lengths. I take a stroke penalty as well of course. Is this legal? It seems to be legal to me, but the rules of golf don't cover this scenario as far as I can see. Are players required to have at least two options when their ball is in a penalty area, according to the rules? This situation is really bugging me and Google is silent! Regards - Brendan