Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'rules of golf'.

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Welcome
    • Welcome, Everyone
    • The TST Blog
  • The Clubhouse
    • Golf Talk
    • Tour Talk
    • Member Outings & Meetups
    • Golf Courses and Architecture
    • Destinations and Travel
    • Rules of Golf
  • The Practice Range
    • Instruction and Playing Tips
    • Member Swings
    • Swing Thoughts
    • Reading Room
    • Fitness and Exercise
  • The Pro Shop
    • Clubs, Grips, Shafts, Fitting
    • Balls, Carts/Bags, Apparel, Gear, Etc.
    • Member Reviews
    • Marketplace
  • The 19th Hole
    • Disc Golf, Foot Golf, Etc.
    • Sports
    • Geek Zone
    • The Grill Room
    • Announcements & Tech Support
  • Michigan Golf's Golf Course Reviews
  • Michigan Golf's Topics
  • Apple Fans's Discussions
  • Wisconsin Golf's Discussions
  • Upstate New York's Topics
  • Central Florida Golfers's Discussions
  • General Architecture Fans's Discussions
  • Oklahoma Golfers's Discussions
  • Ohio Golf's General Discussion
  • SoCal Golf's Discussions
  • Missouri Golf's Discussions
  • Missouri Golf's TopicsThe eNewsletter of the Metropolitan Amateur Golf Association
  • Mid-Atlantic Golf's Discussions
  • European Union Golf's Discussions
  • European Union Golf's Europe golf Courses
  • Mevo Owners's Discussions
  • MA Golf's Courses
  • MA Golf's General Western/Central MA Golf Discussion
  • Golf Collectibles's What do you collect?
  • Minnesota Golf's WITB?
  • Minnesota Golf's What are your home courses?
  • Minnesota Golf's Thoughts on AM Tours in Minnesota
  • Dallas–Fort Worth's Golf Courses
  • Dallas–Fort Worth's Topics

Blogs

  • Instructional Droplets
  • Journey to 190
  • 19th Hole
  • Out Of Bounds
  • Consistently Terrible Posts
  • Road to the Championship
  • Digging In The Dirt
  • Random Musings
  • Early Retirement (and golf)?
  • Loose Impediments
  • Going It Alone
  • Through the Green
  • I am NOT a blogger
  • The Chili Dip Dribbler
  • Random Golf Commentary
  • I'm All About That Blog
  • Nonsensical rants and grumblings...
  • The Day Golf Became Easier
  • Journey to the Center of the Green
  • The Rules Chair
  • The Road to Competitive Amateur Golf
  • It's In The Hole!
  • Journey to Better
  • Single Length Irons Guy
  • Bill's Little Paisley Book
  • A Fitness Journal… of Sorts
  • Bro on Golf Team
  • Picking Up The Pieces
  • 20 Years Later…
  • The TourSpoon Blog

Calendars

There are no results to display.

There are no results to display.

Product Groups

  • TST Supporter Options
  • TST Sponsor Options

Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


Handicap Index

Found 25 results

  1. That's the bottom tweet, but the whole exchange looks a bit more like this: We've known that professional golfers are often not the most knowledgeable of the Rules, and so this Twitter conversation shouldn't surprise anyone. This topic exists to share stories of pro golfers and the 2019 Rules. That means we might find ourselves discussing a pro golfer screwing something up, talking about the Rules changes, doing something under the 2018 Rules accidentally, whatever. Here's another example: PGA Tour players preparing for new rules, Bryson DeChambeau mor
  2. We have an article, written long ago by I-no-longer-remember-who, here: https://thesandtrap.com/b/swing_thoughts/he_cheated. It discusses some very brief bits about how Gary Player may have cheated a few times. Recently, someone commented on the article with a link to this video. Watch the little bit at 0:08: Here are some screenshots (though, IMO, the video is more damning): Why do that? Did Gary Player cheat (or breach the rules) by improving his lie here? You can move loose impediments, but this appears to be an area of sand and/or loose soil. O
  3. I think the USGA/R&A got this one completely wrong, and it's one of the two rules changes for 2019 that I absolutely hate. One of the great things about golf is that it's a self-policed game. At every level of the sport, we're supposed to call penalties on ourselves and know the rules. Rule 6-1 - the first rule in "The Player" - is "The player and his caddie are responsible for knowing the Rules." In the 2019 Rules, that says "Players are responsible for applying the Rules to themselves:" Except that they're not, really, because there's absolutely no further penalty to be ha
  4. So on March 16-19, @GolfLug and I will be attending another USGA/PGA Rules seminar. I currently have a list of three things to ask about, but I'm curious if there are others: Prolonged use of music on the course. Etiquette? If not to aid you in playing, why? Balls "embedded" in sand-filled divots. Agreeing to leave a ball in place "to help a player." I might feel I know how they'll be answered, but I've told people I'd ask, and share the generalized response… Any others? If they're clear, I may just say "no, that's clear" and shoot the idea down pretty quick
  5. https://www.usga.org/content/dam/usga/pdf/2017/rules-modernization/downloadable-material/Certain Topics or Proposals Not Addressed in the Proposed New Rules of Golf for 2019.pdf That may be one of the easiest to read and best documents out there. It casually bats away a number of assorted complaints and things about "why didn't they change this" or "why can't I drop from a divot hole," etc. I encourage everyone to take ten minutes to read it.
  6. I have a question about a situation I observed during Sunday's round at the PGA Championship. On the 5th hole, Kevin Chappell hooked his drive left. It hit a tree, bounced off the concrete cart path, over a green fence,into a porta-john area, and lodged under a porta-john. A rules official arrived before Kevin and entered the biffy area to locate the ball. After Kevin arrived, together they determined where it crossed the green fence. There was some moderately heated disagreement on the part of Chappell as to how to proceed, but eventually they determined the nearest point of relief (NPR)
  7. Phil Mickelson has found himself in breach of the Rules of Golf once again. At least he didn't lie about it and insult his fans afterward. Just a brain fart this time around. Unfortunately that clip also includes the announcers bumbling through stuff. Of course you can violate a rule without a ball in play. Of course you can violate a rule on the tee box. C'mon guys. These rules aren't that difficult, and… if you don't know, don't give your opinion.
  8. I watched a few minutes of the second round of the BMW International Open today, and saw an issue come up with a drop/placing of the ball after Thorbjorn Olesen’s ball went into a water hazard. His ball went into the water hazard, and in taking relief, he dropped twice and it twice rolled back to the hazard and so he placed the ball (1 stroke). He then walked up onto the green. While he was on the green, the ball rolled again into the water hazard. Olesen called for a rules official, who told him to re-place the ball and continue on, with no additional penalty. Evidently there was some
  9. As last happened in 1984, the USGA and R&A are reviewing the Rules of Golf, top to bottom, end to end, 1 through 34. They tend to do this every 25-35 years or so. They may make sweeping changes. They may decide they pretty much like them as they are. The only guiding principles are… the Principles as outlined in: So, what changes do you think they should make? Why?
  10. This topic is for the discussion of what happened at the 2016 PGA Championship to Jordan Spieth on the 7th hole. Jordan was on the cart path but didn't want to take relief from that as it would put him behind a big pine tree. His ball was also sitting in a puddle, so he wanted to take relief from casual water. After a protracted discussion with the RO, during which Jordan indicated his line of play to be to the right a little (to miss the tree), and attempted to drop several times toward the right near a second smaller puddle, Jordan finally dropped to the right somewhat and back a f
  11. So I heard this story told to me today… A college coach, I'll call him Jim, told me the story of his first conference championship win. He won it over the Close Competitor team (CC), who had won the previous several conference championships. They were playing in a threesome with a third irrelevant team. The teams in Jim's conference had played a tournament three days prior where stones in bunkers were movable obstructions and could be removed. In the second and final round, when Jim's team trailed CC by a few strokes, three players in the group hit into a bunker. Jim's player hi
  12. So, a discussion more for the Rules Geeks, not whether this is "fair" or "right" or "stupid" or not. I believe the scenario was: A and B hit into the same area in a stroke play competition. B hits A's ball mistakenly. A cannot find his ball and goes to re-tee. On the green (B with A's ball, A with the second ball he put into play), they see that B hit A's ball. This seems to me close enough to 15-3b/1 that I am wondering why A can't just go back to the spot they identify as the spot from which B played A's ball and A can play his second shot from there. Heck,
  13. A lot of people are questioning the rules of golf these days. Just like many are calling for a simpler tax code here in the US (myself included), people think the rules are too complex to understand. I’m guessing that it isn’t so much that they are too difficult to understand than it is hard follow when you have to penalize yourself. The world we live in seems to be migrating further towards a philosophy of “Do whatever you want”. People don’t think that laws apply to them. We are self-centered and spoiled and becoming more so as time goes on. For years, I fought the notion in a golf lea
  14. Should range finders be allowed in PGA Tour golf? Why or why not?
  15. So again: Player A commits three serious breaches that, for whatever reason, nobody but A sees. Player A wins by one stroke over Player B, who wasn't even in the group. Player A is caught on camera doing all of these things. Because it's caught on camera, A wins, B finishes second, and we're just to go about on our merry way? Also, please keep your answer short, because it's… for this thread. This thread isn't about using all or any video evidence. Where in the heck is that written in the Rules of Golf? And though you've used the word "opponent" what
  16. In 1958, Arnold Palmer hit his ball over the 12th green in the final round at Augusta National in the Masters. His ball was half embedded, and he asked the walking official for a ruling as he felt he should get a free drop. The free drop was denied. He played out the hole, making a 5, and then, with a defiant attitude, dropped his ball near where it had been embedded and played out the hole again, making a 3 this time. The 3 was upheld, and Arnold Palmer won his first major and first Masters. Ken Venturi was pissed about it. Not because he disagreed that Arnie wasn't entitl
  17. I started a new topic on this based on this comment: It's interesting, if you think about it… will the USGA dictate to Fox how they screwed up and misrepresented the USGA? Would this have happened on NBC? In other words, the USGA chose FOX as their broadcast partner, and FOX - by allowing their former players turned announcers to go on for so long about how unfair things were, and to misunderstand and mis-apply the rules, certainly didn't do the USGA any favors. Will this cause a change in the way the USGA allows FOX to cover their events?
  18. Hear me out. Suppose that the Rules Official correctly (IMO) ruled that Dustin Johnson earned a penalty stroke on the 5th green for causing his ball to move. I think there is a good chance - not a certainty - that he collapses a bit and/or Lowry plays well enough at that point that the outcome changes. Maybe they tie, maybe DJ loses outright… something. Consider that DJ probably played the last 13 holes not thinking he'd be penalized because he doesn't understand the rule, and how his mind set and decisions might have changed if he had been penalized. At the time, he'd have only been
  19. So… the USGA supports and would support making the embedded ball rule offer relief through the green (basically everywhere but the green, the teeing ground of the hole you're on, and hazards and OB), but the R&A resists. Maybe in 2020 they'll change their mind a bit. Plus, as many have pointed out, it would let them remove the idea of "closely mown" grass from the Rules of Golf. Anyway, most of the time, courses and tournaments here play the embedded ball through the green as a local rule, which is allowed, but it has to be specified or it's only in closely mown areas.
  20. I could have sworn that, when I was younger, the Rules of Golf specified that a flagstick could only be, say, 0.75 inches in diameter for the bottom 8 inches of the flagstick or something like that (I made the actual inch measurements up), but I now believe my memory is wrong on that, as I can't find anything on ruleshistory.com to support that. In fact, the Rules do not have a maximum flagstick diameter, so in reality you could have a flagstick that's so thick (say, 3 inches) that a ball will NOT fit between it and the cup. Just an odd little quirk. Think about it. You could legally
  21. Goodbye, anchored putting stroke. Do you have any last words?
  22. Some of you may recall that I was curious about mismarked hazards (i.e. those areas that courses will often mark as lateral water hazards to speed up play even though they don't even remotely match the definition of "water hazard" - stands of trees, areas of tall grass, etc.) because I'm coaching a college team and the coaches, in the smaller invitationals and tournaments, act as the committee but don't have the time to set up the course (or even check out the setup) prior to the beginning of play. Well, it didn't come up during the fall season, but another situation did, and it was at the co
  23. In talking with @david_wedzik this morning about a chapter in Lowest Score Wins, I pointed out to him that you could not take an unplayable ball in a bunker and drop within two club lengths or on a line back from the hole to escape the bunker. He was surprised by this, and in thinking about it, it struck neither of us as "right" given the other Rules of Golf. This, I quickly decided (and I may rethink it later, but for now I'm sticking to it and arguing this point), is the one Rule of Golf I would change. Why, should a bunker penalize a player more than a water hazar
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...