TheSandTrap.com  ›  Blog  ›  Clubs  ›  Titleist AP1 Irons Review 

Titleist AP1 Irons Review

May. 9, 2008     By     Comments (126)

Do you aspire to be a become a better golfer? Then Titleist has some irons for you.

AP1 HeroTo say the buzz about the AP1 and AP2 irons from Titleist is loud is an understatement of quite some size. I cannot recall a product release in the last couple of years that generated the amount of interest, comments, feedback and questions from Sand Trap readers and forum members as these groundbreaking, technology-infused irons from the traditionally traditional Titleist.

Between our announcement of the 2008 lineup, Erik's field test and his AP2 review, we've received well hundreds of comments and questions. Add this to the amount of discussion and buzz in our forum and it's really quite remarkable the excitement these irons have generated.

We're going to focus on the AP1 irons for this review, which Titleist says is for the "skilled and aspiring" golfer. What is an "aspiring golfer"? While I would say all golfers are aspiring to some degree, I think the AP1 are designed for those of us who are in the double-digit handicap range. We show flashes of our golfing potential, but still have an evolving golf swing that could use a little forgiveness while still providing feedback to help us improve. Thus, perhaps we "aspire" a wee bit more than the guy who plays once a month.

Read on to find out this aspiring golfer thinks about these "sure-don't-look-like-Titleists" irons.

Design and Technology
Developing an iron that maintains the coveted "Titleist feel" yet is forgiving enough for us double-digit handicap golfers is a tall order. That Titleist claims to have done so is nothing short of remarkable. The dual cavity and multi-material design are a radical departure from anything Titleist has made in the past and have been designed with one key bit of player feedback at the forefront: feel.

The Advanced Performance (AP)1 irons are cast from 431 stainless steel and feature a tungsten nickel box that is laser welded to the body and is located in the back and sole of the iron. It covers the lower cavity and is designed to keep weight lower while giving players both good feel and added forgiveness. This lower center of gravity gives players a higher launch angle with more ball speed and what Titleist calls "consistent spin performance across the hitting area." The upper cavity sits above the elastomer cushion and is adorned with a metallic cavity plate. Weight is pushed to the perimeter to give you increased forgiveness.

AP1 Channel
The dual cavities provide a great blend of forgiveness and feedback. It looks a little busy here, but you can't seen any of this at address.

The cavities are separated by what Titleist calls a "central cross member and elastomer cushion" which provide rigidity behind the impact area of the thin clubface as well as lessons vibration to give you increased feel. Again, it's all about providing feel.

The wider sole offers playability from various lies without "excess bounce or dig," meaning you are still going to get decent shots even if you happen to hit the ball a bit fat. That's helpful for those of us who don't always make the best swing.

Esthetics
Confessional time. The first time I saw pictures of the AP1 irons, I thought the folks at Titleist had gone crazy. They looked… well… ugly. I equated Titleist with making beautiful looking clubs and these were shockingly different. "Big" and "clunky" were two adjectives that came to mind.

After unboxing my set of AP1, I was reminded never to judge a club's true appearance based on pictures found on the Internet. In person, the AP1 look quite nice. They are still a bit "busy" for me graphically and might end up being an acquired taste for some, but you don't see the graphics or cavity-back elastomer insert at address, so for the most part, I've forgotten about the "business." In real life, the AP1 don't look big or clunky at all.

While I think it's somewhat important how the club "frames" the ball, the angst I hear and read about topline thickness is a bit overrated, in my opinion. Does the AP1 have a thicker topline than most Titleist irons? Sure, compared to the ZM and ZB. But I would venture to guess that they are the same size - or thinner - than the toplines of comparable clubs on the market. If you can discern that small difference, then you have much better eyesight than I. The AP1 sets up nice and clean behind the ball and gave me confidence and in the end, that was good enough for me.

AP1 Backs
A bit busy for my taste but the only time you see the back is when the AP1 sit in your bag. Plus, the aluminum cavity plate helps out with all that feel.

Titleist says the "AP1 irons offer a contemporary, confidence inspiring appearance in the playing position and a semi-underslung hosel junction." Simply put, they are a nice, traditional looking iron with some serious technology hidden inside. Rounding out the looks department are dual hosel lengths with shorter ones in the long irons to keep the weight low to help out with launch and a consistent blade length with enhanced progressive offset.

Performance
Let's get this out of the way right off the bat: the AP1 irons are not some magic club that will correct your slice, lower your handicap overnight, and cause you to be the envy of your playing partners (well, maybe the last one). These are still Titleist irons and even though they have some serious technology to make them more forgiving, they will smack you around if you do not make a decent pass at the ball.

AP1 Topline
Yes, the topline might seem thick to some but after a few well stuck shots, you won't even notice.

I finished last year at a 17.4 index after going through some swing changes and becoming a dad for the first time, so I didn't play nearly as much golf as I've played in other years and my practice time was next to zero. I would like to move to a "player's" cavity-back iron from my current set that is more on the game improvement, zero-feedback spectrum that while might be a bit out of my league at the present, will help me develop as a golfer. With the time commitments of fatherhood, that could be a bit tough.

With all of that in mind, I was a bit worried that the AP1 wouldn't be able to help me out too much based on how they looked. I still want to advance as a golfer, so I need a little feedback and a lot of forgiveness if I'm to both enjoy golf and improve. That worry quickly went away after the first few shots at the range and on the course. After getting the assorted hooks and slices out of the way, I found the AP1 to blend a nice amount of forgiveness while also providing some feedback.

As for the feedback department, the AP1 do not provide much if you just missed the sweet spot as you are rewarded about the same for shots that were hit flush versus hit very close. Where the feedback started to turn up more was shots that were struck closer to the heel, toe, and low on the clubface (thin).

The feedback was muted nicely and you didn't get the stinging hands when you mishit a ball - more of a reminder that you didn't make your best swing insetad of a harsh rebuke. When you do catch one flush, I felt the impact to be quite soft. Distance wise, my mishits would still get good distance and the flush shots were absolute rockets. The ball seems to jump off the club face.

One word of caution - I found I've had to relearn all of my carry distances with using the AP1 and that is something you should keep in mind. They are a stronger lofted iron (though still weaker compared to many competitors), and the combination of the slightly stronger lofts and the True Temper Dynamic Gold High Launch shafts seemed to produce a bit more carry distance than my current irons. Around half a club, but obviously your mileage (or yardage, in this case) may vary.

I'm not complaining about the extra distance gained by any means, I've just had to learn to tone my swing down a notch or two for certain distances and that is a good thing as with the AP1, you don't have to swing very hard to get rewarded with not only a well struck ball but also very nice distance as well.

AP1 Toes
If you look closely, you can see where the tungsten nickel box meets with the steel body.

I found it a bit easier to hit a draw versus a fade with the AP1. Not that a fade can't be coaxed out of these, it just seemed that a draw was slightly easier to pull off. Having said that, you can work the ball either way a little, which for those of us still learning to do so was nice to be able to pull off without being penalized too harshly when making a less-than-perfect swing. I had plenty of practice with punch shots from the trees and had some fun with the amount of curvature I could put on the ball. Hopefully that's a shot I won't have to experience much of the rest of this year.

It took me a few rounds before I could get accustomed to the high ball flight. The True Temper Dynamic Gold High Launch shafts put the ball up in the air fairly quickly, but shots still penetrated nicely. Even shots dead into the wind had the same ball flight with no ballooning and less loss of distance than I'd have anticipated.

One final note about the performance is that the the grooves on the Titleist AP1s conform to the proposed revised specifications. What that means for you is you may encounter and have to learn to deal with fliers again. It took me a few rounds but I think I'm becoming more aware of how to deal with it.

I have to say that the AP1 provided a nice blend of forgiveness and feedback. You will still get rewarded with a decent shot if you don't hit the ball quite perfectly every time but you are also provided with decent feedback that will help you make better ball striker. Oh, you can still punished if you make a bad swing but the AP1 provided me with a good amount of feedback to help me get better while offering forgiveness on days when your swing is a little off.

AP Hero Triple

Specifications
The AP1 come standard with True Temper Dynamic Gold High Launch steel shafts or Titleist VS Proto-T 75 graphite shafts as well as Golf Pride Tour Velvet grips are available for righties and lefties in a 4-PW set which you can find for a retail price of $699. Also available is a 50° "W" wedge and a 3-iron, for those of you who can still hit one.

Don't worry though if the stock options aren't up your alley (or your swing and tastes fit into something better) as with the Titleist FittingWorks you have a myriad of options.

Shaft options include steel (Dynamic Gold, Dynamic Gold with Sensicore, Dynalite Gold, Dynalite Gold SL, Dynalite Gold SL with Sensicore, Tri-Spec, Nippon NS Pro, Precision Rifle, Project X, and Project X Flighted to name a few) and graphite (Aldila VS Proto-T in additional weights and Graphite Design YS-IRON+w/GAT).

If you not a fan of the Golf Pride Tour Velvets, you have a host of other options from Golf Pride, Lamkin, and Winn.

Getting fitted for the correct length and lie angle is important. Righties can customize the
length from +2 inches to -1 inch (lefties from +1" to ½"). Lofts can be adjusted +/-
1°, and righties can adjust the lie angle from +4° to -2° (+/- 2° for lefties).

Iron  Loft  Lie     Offset  Bounce  Length
----  ----  ---     ------  ------  ------
3     20°    60°    0.245"    1°    39.00"
4     23°    61°    0.220"    1°    38.50"
5     26°    62°    0.195"    2°    38.00"
6     29°    62.5°  0.170"    2°    37.50"
7     33°    63°    0.145"    3°    37.00"
8     37°    63.5°  0.125"    4°    36.50"
9     41°    64°    0.110"    5°    36.00"
P     45°    64°    0.105"    6°    35.75"
W     50°    64°    0.100"    7°    35.50"

Conclusion
The AP1 irons are a radical and bold departure from any iron set that Titleist has come out with in the past. Just looking at a picture of them, you would have to second guess as to what exactly they were thinking as the looked quite "game improvement - no feedback".

Pictures however do not justify how nice these irons look and once you hit a few shots and experience the nice blend of forgiveness and feedback, you'll probably forget your first impression of that picture you saw. I know I did.

Discussion

  1. LT says:

    I have been axiously awaiting this review since Erik's Field Test and AP2 Review!

    Excellent review! Bravo!

    I've been playing the AP1s for almost two months and your review matches my thoughts to the tee.

    Like you, I was down to a 17.4 last Fall; however, my swing went south and I went back up to a 22. After a couple of lessons and much practice/playing with my AP1s, I'm glad to say that my handicap is quickly dropping again.

    After I first demoed the AP1s and AP2s against my 755s I decided to stick it out with my 755s. However, after consulting with my instructor/fitter he highly recommended that the AP1s would be better suited to my current game. He was right. The AP1s require a lot less work to get accuracy and distance control. I now have a lot more confidence with my AP1s vs the 755s and that's half the battle.

    I'd like to add that in the looks department, the AP1s do not have as much visible offset as many of the game improvement clubs and this helps make it easier to get used to the slightly thicker topline. Now that I'm used to them, the slightly bigger head/topline provides a stable and powerful frame behind the ball.

    A few years back I briefly defected from Titleist to the Mizuno MX-900s. While they were beautiful and great feeling irons, they always felt a bit clunky and had a lot of visible offset(especially the 7 through 3 hybrid-type irons). Additionally, high/ballooning shots seemed to be the default. I never got used to them and went back to my Titleist 704CBs, followed by the 755s and now the AP1s.

    As the saying goes, "Golf is a journey not a destination" and as an "aspiring golfer" I'm extremely happy that the journey has taken me thus far to the AP1s!

  2. LT says:

    I forgot to add that for me, hitting draws as well as high/low shots is relatively easy with the AP1s; however, I've personally found that it's really tough to hit fades on command. While I have been able to pull off a fade now and then at the range, I've really had to work hard. Even then, many of the shots still want to go high and straight, which isn't a bad thing if you're not aligned too far left. However, at my handicap, this is a minor compromise with which I'm willing to live. :wink:

  3. Xavier says:

    I've heard that the AP1s face wasn't as wear resistant as the AP2's. Can you comment on this?

  4. LT says:

    First off, golf clubs are used for hitting balls off a variety of surfaces, which means that they're bound to get marred, scratched, scraped and possibly chipped or dented. Come on, they're golf clubs!

    I know club pros who have beautiful Mizuno/Titleist/Hogan, etc. blades that display the scars of many rounds and I'm guessing that it doesn't affect their playability.

    Personally, I select clubs on how well they look at address and how well they perform, not "wear resistancy" since I think most quality clubs will last a lifetime unless you abuse them.

    The AP1s are cast from 431 stainless steel versus the AP2s, which are forged from softer 1025 carbon steel. So theoretically, I would think that the AP1s should be more "wear resistant".

    That said, both irons have only been out for a couple of months, which I don't think is enough time to make an accurate determination of "wear resistancy". Personally, I have yet to replace an iron due to wear, although I think my trusty 60-degree lob wedge is starting to get there. :???:

  5. h_baden says:

    The AP1s are polished, not chromed like the AP2s.
    Thus, they wear as well as other similar clubs, e.g. Callaway X20s.

    I have had my AP1s for a few weeks, and they look fine after a few rounds.
    Of course, as I am the finestr ballstriker in my house ... I don't hit them too often on the polished part of the club face.

  6. JP Bouffard says:

    I'm happy to see Titleist making some game improvement type irons, in the tradition of those old DCI's.

    I know they own Cobra, and there are image/branding issues they pay attention to, but I think it would actually help Titelist to have at least a few club offerings that are geared toward 'average' golfers.

  7. gregg says:

    I really don't understand all the hoopla about these irons. I hit them during a demo day session and was not overly impressed. Yes, they are good, but not outstanding. There are other irons on the market that are superior. I personally like my Mizuno MX900 better which has similar but greater technology.

  8. JP says:

    I really don't understand all the hoopla about these irons. I hit them during a demo day session and was not overly impressed. Yes, they are good, but not outstanding. There are other irons on the market that are superior. I personally like my Mizuno MX900 better which has similar but greater technology.

    To be honest, gregg, I don't understand the hoopla about any irons...or you could say I believe all irons deserve hoopla equally!

    There are many, many good club sets out there today. I'm not saying I know all of them or am any authority on the matter, but technology is pretty good across the board, and hype and hoopla are just that...There is a certain mystique about Titleist, and as they haven't really made a splash with clubs very often in recent years, I think people are justifiably excited to see some new, energetic offerings from Acushnet.

  9. DRW says:

    I as well am debating on the AP1's. I am currently hitting the MX-23's that I bought about 4 years ago. I am sitting at 22, but primarily because of my poor short game. Was a 14 years ago before kids and a real job. If someone said chip this ball from 50 yds. in to the green or die, I would probably die. Nonetheless, in today's world of technology, my MX-23's feel like anvils, compared to the AP1's with the lite project X shaft. Even compared to the G10's or the i10's the 23's are very heavy. Anyone a Mizuno owner that has gone to or considered going to the AP1's or the i10's? (couldn't get over the chunky feel and look of the G10's) Thoughts on how these compare? Are they enough "game improvement" for a hacker like me? :?:

  10. Dave says:

    I just moved from my Mizuno Comp-EZs which I've had for about 6-7 years to the AP-1s. My hcp has gone from a 12 to about 15 from lack of play, so I really wanted a club that would be more forviging that my Comp-EZs.

    I hit all the major brands and quickly narrowed down my choice to the AP-1s and the Mizuno MX-25s. I loved my Mizunos, so I was leaning toward MX-25, but I just could not ignore the consistency and eaze with which I hit the AP-1s. They just stood out head and shoulders above anything else I hit, and I went into the process not even interested in Titlelist. My last experience with their irons, the DCIs, was not great.

    I'm still a little nervous about giving up that forged 'feel', but at this point in my golf career I'll take any advantage I can get. And from what I felt, the 'feel' factor was not that big of a deal. The AP-1s felt pure and sweet when I hit them flush.

    I had them custom fit at +1/2" and 2deg upright with the SuperLight shafts, so I am awaiting their arrival. I can't wait to get them out on the course.

    Dave

  11. gregg says:

    I as well am debating on the AP1's. I am currently hitting the MX-23's that I bought about 4 years ago. I am sitting at 22, but primarily because of my poor short game. Was a 14 years ago before kids and a real job. If someone said chip this ball from 50 yds. in to the green or die, I would probably die. Nonetheless, in today's world of technology, my MX-23's feel like anvils, compared to the AP1's with the lite project X shaft. Even compared to the G10's or the i10's the 23's are very heavy. Anyone a Mizuno owner that has gone to or considered going to the AP1's or the i10's? (couldn't get over the chunky feel and look of the G10's) Thoughts on how these compare? Are they enough "game improvement" for a hacker like me? :?:

    If I had to make a purchase when I demoed the AP1's, I would have selected the Cleveland Gold over the Titliest. You should give and try and if you like them, pick up a set used. Also, another great alternative are the Callaway MX-20's. Both of these, in my opinion, are better choices.

  12. gregg says:

    I just moved from my Mizuno Comp-EZs which I've had for about 6-7 years to the AP-1s. My hcp has gone from a 12 to about 15 from lack of play, so I really wanted a club that would be more forviging that my Comp-EZs.

    I hit all the major brands and quickly narrowed down my choice to the AP-1s and the Mizuno MX-25s. I loved my Mizunos, so I was leaning toward MX-25, but I just could not ignore the consistency and eaze with which I hit the AP-1s. They just stood out head and shoulders above anything else I hit, and I went into the process not even interested in Titlelist. My last experience with their irons, the DCIs, was not great.

    I'm still a little nervous about giving up that forged 'feel', but at this point in my golf career I'll take any advantage I can get. And from what I felt, the 'feel' factor was not that big of a deal. The AP-1s felt pure and sweet when I hit them flush.

    I had them custom fit at +1/2" and 2deg upright with the SuperLight shafts, so I am awaiting their arrival. I can't wait to get them out on the course.

    Dave

    There nothing like the "forged" feel. When hit near the sweet spot they are longer than cavity backs. Did you try the Mizuno MP-57? The reviews state they are forgiving forged irons.

  13. h_baden says:

    I really don't understand all the hoopla about these irons. I hit them during a demo day session and was not overly impressed. Yes, they are good, but not outstanding. There are other irons on the market that are superior. I personally like my Mizuno MX900 better which has similar but greater technology.

    I do understand the hoopla.
    I believe the AP1s cater to a player segment (lets say 10-15 hcp) that typically does not have many options. These are players that could be single digit hcps, if it weren't for family, work, age, ..., and would like some forgiveness in their irons (without playing gooseneck, huge offset GIs).
    For them, IMO, these are the best irons in many years. They may not work for all of them, but a Lot of them seem to think so.

  14. Robert says:

    I retired my older Titleist irons for the AP1s.

    Working with my club professional and going through the Titleist FittingWorks System, we arrived at a configuration of standard lie and the stock graphite shaft, lengthened one inch.

    The immediate outcome and benefit to me include a return to a much more rhythmic swing and improved tempo that is resulting in a consistent predictable draw. I find it difficult to manufacture a slice or hook with the AP1s, but on command, I can hit a fade if the shot calls for a fade.

    The better swing I am putting on these irons has also dramatically improved my consistency with my wood play, which is an added bonus.

    For this 56 year old body and six foot frame, I look forward to seeing a drastic reduction in my handicap index over the summer, and I am well on my way!

  15. Peter says:

    I am debating between Ping G10s and AP1s. I hit them both at a custom fitting and really liked both of them. Assume they are the same price as they are close.

    I am 38 and figure about a 20-22. These are the first new irons I have bought in 12 years so either way, they will be a big improvement, but I am on the fence with which one to go with.

    Any feedback would be appreciated.

  16. gregg says:

    I am debating between Ping G10s and AP1s. I hit them both at a custom fitting and really liked both of them. Assume they are the same price as they are close.

    I am 38 and figure about a 20-22. These are the first new irons I have bought in 12 years so either way, they will be a big improvement, but I am on the fence with which one to go with.

    Any feedback would be appreciated.

    I think either one will work. I would give Ping the edge for their fitting process and higher resale value. I believe golf magazine tested the G10 above the AP1. I am also in the market for new irons and tried a lot of them. I am leaning more toward a forged set, mainly for feel and repeatability. If I was looking for forgiveness, I would go with the Cleveland Hibore Irons (all hibrids).

  17. GP says:

    If you're just playing a couple times a month and don't care if you get any better and want to hit the ball all over the clubface with good results, get the Pings.

    If you want to improve and feel your misses get the Titleists.

    Personally, I have the AP1's and find them much easier to look at than any G series ping.

  18. cragie brae paul says:

    I as well am debating on the AP1's. I am currently hitting the MX-23's that I bought about 4 years ago. I am sitting at 22, but primarily because of my poor short game. Was a 14 years ago before kids and a real job. If someone said chip this ball from 50 yds. in to the green or die, I would probably die. Nonetheless, in today's world of technology, my MX-23's feel like anvils, compared to the AP1's with the lite project X shaft. Even compared to the G10's or the i10's the 23's are very heavy. Anyone a Mizuno owner that has gone to or considered going to the AP1's or the i10's? (couldn't get over the chunky feel and look of the G10's) Thoughts on how these compare? Are they enough "game improvement" for a hacker like me? :?:

    I have played Mizuno MX-20's, MP-60's, and currently have MX-25's. I bought the last set last summer 2007. This spring I replaced the 5 and 6 iron with the AP1 5 and 6 iron. Crazy right? I am considering changing all irons to AP1's but am seriously debating myself. I like the AP1's very much. I think they are as smooth as the forged MX-25. I seem to be a bit more accurate with the Titleist irons (my first real set of irons was Titleist some 40 years ago and I miss them). Mishits seem more forgiving and they are just a little longer than the Mizunos. They look a little clunkier next to the MX-25's all in the same bag, but I am liking the way they play.

  19. Stew says:

    I am a Mizuno fan and have MP60 and R wedges.

    Getting a bit slower now and want to enjoy rather than stuggle with consistancy I reluctantly faced up to playing to my handicap catogry but still want to improve. Tried loads of top brands but with Titleist coming in with the newest technology and forgiveness.

    In terms of feel from a forged to cast AP1 I actually got more 'soft' feedback from the Titliest! In part more club face to use and the dampening elastomer works. Distasnce was better and trajectory was good. (never had sa problem getting airbourne but these seeemed to have more airtime) Accuracy also improved. Never a worker of ther ball and natural flight being straight I can't comment on workability or otherwise

    I tried the AP2 but not as good for me.

    So, I've ordered ap1s 4 to gap wedge (lofts are strong as pw is 45 degrres so a bit of a gap to sw) in the high launch standard steel and vockey spin wedges. went through fitting process and look forward to fun and low rounds!

  20. mark says:

    i appreciate the input, comparing the mx 25s with the ap 1s. Am a left handed golfer and am presently considering which to go with. have only demoed a 6 iron mx 25 but love hitting it. tried the ap 1 at a demo day. also impressive, but did not have the same feel. (I think) Continuing to have a difficult time deciding which way to go. Presently play to a 17. Any further thoughts from golfers who have made similar comparisons will be helpful.

  21. gregg says:

    i appreciate the input, comparing the mx 25s with the ap 1s. Am a left handed golfer and am presently considering which to go with. have only demoed a 6 iron mx 25 but love hitting it. tried the ap 1 at a demo day. also impressive, but did not have the same feel. (I think) Continuing to have a difficult time deciding which way to go. Presently play to a 17. Any further thoughts from golfers who have made similar comparisons will be helpful.

    I don't think you can make a bad choice between these two. But because the AP1s are new, you won't get much of a discount in the used market. The MX-25's are a better value used. You should checkout Mizuno's presentation of their forging process on U-Tube. It explains why forged clubs are more consistent. Also, there very good reviews at "the deep rough" web site for the MP-57 and the new MX-950.

  22. steve says:

    My handicap is 11 and am currently playing Ping i10s but am looking to switch has anyone any thoughts about which one could be right for me the AP1 or AP2 I play at Scotscraig Golf Club in Fife Scotland and it is windy 90% of the time i was custom fitted for the pings with regular shafts but i think the stock ping shafts are too soft

  23. DRW says:

    Thanks for all the feedback on the AP1's vs. my MX 23's. After going back to the club and having them set me up a 6 iron AP1 with a project x 5.5 shaft off the demo cart, I was not as impressed as I was with the club I hit at demo days. Two of our pros mentioned that they thought the Titleist fitting system, where you pick the shaft and screw on the heads, is definitely flawed and not a proper representation of the club. He is trying to work with the rep to get me a "real" club to demo. If the fitting system 6 is any indication of what I will get from the AP1's, then I am going to stick with my Mizuno's for now and spend my money on improving my swing.

  24. mike says:

    Steve,

    I am a similar HCP and am considering the Ping-i10's. Why would you switch to the AP1? I am playing Hogan Apex Pro. They are great when I hit well, but I tend to dig with them and have a hard time controlling the direction. I need more consistent dispersion and a rounded leading edge.

    Any input would be much appreciated.

    Thanks.

  25. Darren says:

    I went looking for a "game-improvement" set with some "player" charateristics OR a cavity-back "player" set with some forgiveness. Based on Golf Magazine and Golf Digest, I made a list and hit several sets. The AP1's stood out in the former category and the Callaway X-20 Tours in the latter.

    As a 14hcp looking to improve, my current Ping G2's were straight and high with the same feel on every shot. The G2s are closer in setup to the i10's with the current G10's having much larger soles and almost hybrid charateristics at first glance.

    I hit the X-20 Tours and AP1's similarly and I loved the heel grind on the Callaway's but the Titleist simply felt better swinging and looked better at address. I won't pretend that the $100 cheaper Titleist wasn't a small factor.

  26. steve says:

    The Ping i10s are ok when I am swinging well but i find I have to try and dig out a shot ,they are not the greatest for distance either . I play a links type course and find they ballon up in the air into the wind , was never a lover of Ping irons until I saw these and thought I would give them ago but never liked them much. Anyway have tried both the AP1 and the AP2 from the pros fitting cart and a getting fitted for the AP2S nxt week he is saying 8 week delivery .I took out the 6 iron AP2 with a regular Dynamic Gold shaft and was blown away with these I hit our courses Par 3 3rd which is 201 yards with the 6 iron with a slight breeze at my back I hit another and the same result. I hit these into a strong wind and didn't lose much distance with a great flight. I hope this helps you. PS what course do you play

  27. mark says:

    I really appreciate the input. I ordered the ap 1s last friday. Six through pitching wedge. Not ready to give up my gap, sand and lob wedge, all of which are big bertha and are vital parts of my game. I found the ap 1s were more consistent and I definitely picked up an extra ten yards or more on equally well struck MX 25s. I went in prepared to purchase the mizzuno. The titleist won me over. By the way, I played a final round with my big berthas today. As if playing with my mind, I shot my best round in two years. As if to say, "not so fast my friend...we're not ready for the heap yet."

  28. gregg says:

    I really appreciate the input. I ordered the ap 1s last friday. Six through pitching wedge. Not ready to give up my gap, sand and lob wedge, all of which are big bertha and are vital parts of my game. I found the ap 1s were more consistent and I definitely picked up an extra ten yards or more on equally well struck MX 25s. I went in prepared to purchase the mizzuno. The titleist won me over. By the way, I played a final round with my big berthas today. As if playing with my mind, I shot my best round in two years. As if to say, "not so fast my friend...we're not ready for the heap yet."

    I read a lot of reviews where claim they gain yardage by changing irons. If the shafts are identical, it is highly unlikely you will see any significant gain in distance from simply change the head of the iron.

    Further, it has been proven that forged irons are more consistent and repeatable than cast irons, and forged blades go further than forged cavity backs.

  29. LT says:
    I really appreciate the input. I ordered the ap 1s last friday. Six through pitching wedge. Not ready to give up my gap, sand and lob wedge, all of which are big bertha and are vital parts of my game. I found the ap 1s were more consistent and I definitely picked up an extra ten yards or more on equally well struck MX 25s. I went in prepared to purchase the mizzuno. The titleist won me over. By the way, I played a final round with my big berthas today. As if playing with my mind, I shot my best round in two years. As if to say, "not so fast my friend...we're not ready for the heap yet."

    I read a lot of reviews where claim they gain yardage by changing irons. If the shafts are identical, it is highly unlikely you will see any significant gain in distance from simply change the head of the iron.

    Further, it has been proven that forged irons are more consistent and repeatable than cast irons, and forged blades go further than forged cavity backs.

    In this case the heads are different in loft and design. The AP1 lofts are stronger than the MX-25's by 1-degree. Also, the CG appears to be further back in the AP1 heads, which probably provides more initial launch. The standard steel shaft for the MX-25s are the DG Superlites, which is probably not a true apples to apples comparison against the DG High Launch in the AP1s.

    With regard to forged blades versus cavity backs, there is a good article in the June 2008 edition of Golf Digest called "Forged Fossil" that covers the forged blade versus cavity back debate. It provides distance results using an Iron Byron swinging at 90mph. While the forged blade provided the longest yardage on center hits, its cavity back equivalent produced longer distances on each type of off center hit.

    Most mid to high handicappers don't have enough consistency and repeatability in their swing to hit center shots everytime. For them, cavity backs don't penalize their distances and direction on off center hits as much as blades do.

    It's like playing Craps. It's heck of rewarding when you get the 15-1 payoff bet on a Yo 11 bet but how many times does that happen? You're typically better off playing the odds that pay out more often. :smile:

  30. gregg says:

    The best analysis about the blade versus cavity debate is found at:

    http://www.thewedgeguy.com/blades-versus-cavity-backs-a-golf-club-epiphany/#more-18

  31. Darren says:

    I don't know how the topic of forged blades worked its way into a discussion of the AP1. It is well accepted that a perfect, sweet spot hit on a forged blade will look, feel and fly nicer than a forged cavity back which, in turn, would look, feel and fly nicer that a cast game improvement cavity back. Each targets completely different skill levels - the forged blade topic might be better suited in the AP2 discussion where it competes for players to switch from the muscle backs (much like several pros have done by playing the AP2).

    The point for mid-handicaps is that the perfect shot is not as frequent and the 1/4 inch miss is something I want to know happened but don't want to be overly penalized. When my 14 hdcp becomes a 5, I'll be more focused on workability and the forged debate.

    In the meantime, I consider the AP1 a great starting point for those people, like me, who want to improve their shot feel but not get overly penalized (and hence discouraged) with slightly off center hits.

  32. Frank says:

    If Adam Scott, one of the best players in the world, is playing a forged cavity club, why wouldn't I play even more of a game improvement iron? (I am a single-digit golfer.) Golf is hard enough as it is, I want all the help I can get. I am currently playing R7 XDs and I am looking to switch to the AP1s. I also only carry 11 clubs but that is for a different thread. :grin:

  33. Jake says:

    Im currently in the process of buying clubs. I used to be a professional baseball player but have since retired ( due to shoulder problems) and now play golf alot. Without any formal lessons or anything, I hit my driver around 290 and hit my irons well. I average around a 90 and am now "dedicating" myself to the game. This means I will be taking lessons on a regular basis and practicing alot. I dont know whether to go with a "game improvement" iron or not or get one that is not strictly blade but not "game improvement". I hit the Cleveland CG gold and titleist AP1 and hit them well with my 6 iron averaging around 200-205yds. Does anyone have any advice im kind of stuck here

  34. Alex says:

    I purchased a set of AP1s this past weekend - have played one round with them and am very happy.

    I used to be a 6 handicap, until work, living in NYC and everything else got in the way. I had been playing with Mizuno MP-33s and finally decided it was time to give up the blades...at first the new look of the AP!s had me a bit scared that they weren't going to provide much feel or touch, but after hitting them on the range for one hour I was quite happy.

    I almost bought the AP2s, but decided they were too much of a "player's club" and I was frankly looking for something easier to hit and more foregiving. The AP1s still provide nice feel, while not being penalized for miss-hits (which unfortunately happen more often than i'd like nowadays)...these clubs will allow me to once again enjoy my golf rounds while improving my scoring quite a bit.

    When I was a 6 handicap I would have enjoyed playing these clubs...let's i hope I get back there soon.

  35. steve says:

    jake

    Go with the AP1s there so easy to hit i've hit both at a demo day and for someone who is just starting out the AP1s are awesome

    steve

  36. Sam says:

    I just got AP1s and i love them and i heard some of you say that you are finding it hard to hit a fade well that is because most golfers starting out tend to have a swing that makes the ball cut fade slice... w/e so they made it easier to hit a draw so that is the reason it is harder to hit a fade

  37. John says:

    For all of you older golfers who have been playing for awhile and feel a bit stagnant, the AP1s are great irons to revitalize your game. I'm 60, and they are the easiest clubs I have ever hit. Yes, a well struck forged club feels terrific but how often does that happen? The AP1s feel great shot after shot and are more forgiving. The look has that classic style, like sitting in a '59 Corvette. Thanks Titleist for making a great club for mid-capers of all ages, even though you won't admit it.

  38. Alex says:

    I have a set of AP1s that i am selling 3-GW...let me know if interested acgreen@gmail.com

  39. reformed chopper says:

    Good review...thanks....
    AP1 vs G10 vs X20 vs TM Tour Burner -- that is my ultimate question.

    All will be better than my current set of Titleist DCI Oversize of 11 years.

    Thanks for the advice previously submitted and anymore you're willing to say....

  40. m3tek says:

    Thank you for excellent review!
    I've been playing golf little over 2 yrs with Callaway Fusion Wide Sole and was looking for new iron set. After trying Mizuno MX25, Callaway X20, Taylor Made Burner, and Titleist AP1, I have decided to go with.......... I am/was big fan of Callaway from the start and now I was open to any suggestion from golf shop and reviews.
    I am currently hitting mid 90's and wanted to replace my irons so that I can get feedback from irons. After trying all irons above I went with TITLEIST AP1!! :razz:

    I can honestly tell you that I was never a titlest fan other than Scotty Cameron Newport 2 putter that I currently own. I just bought it today will leave a feedback later in the month. Thanks again for great review and article.

  41. Dave Shaffer says:

    I too am a Mizuno user. Currently with the MP60 and as I face my 60th birthday I am beginning to want something gs but all seem to little easier to use than the 60s. I found your assessment very useful and interesting. I have spoken with my pro and he keeps orienting me to the AP2 as he claims the AP1s to be heavier. I play to around a 10-12 and so am concerned that the AP1 might be too much of a game improvement club. I have tried the Bertha and Ping clubs and found them to be way too draw/hook prone for me and wondered if the AP1 were closed face and if htey are too hard on a natural right to left ball flight. Thanks.

  42. Darren says:

    I too am a Mizuno user. Currently with the MP60 and as I face my 60th birthday I am beginning to want something gs but all seem to little easier to use than the 60s. I found your assessment very useful and interesting. I have spoken with my pro and he keeps orienting me to the AP2 as he claims the AP1s to be heavier. I play to around a 10-12 and so am concerned that the AP1 might be too much of a game improvement club. I have tried the Bertha and Ping clubs and found them to be way too draw/hook prone for me and wondered if the AP1 were closed face and if htey are too hard on a natural right to left ball flight. Thanks.

    The Pings (I assume you refer to the G10s) have a massive offset that runs about .10" greater in the mid-irons than the AP1. If you're a straight hitter or hit a natural draw already then a draw/hook wouldn't be unusual. The Miz M60 have an offset and general specs closer to the AP2. The AP1 is inbetween the G10s and AP2s (on the AP2 less offset side of things).

    If you're like my father and plays a set for 5 or 6 years, you might want to think about which direction your game will be going over that time to aid your decision.

    Otherwise, you just have to hit them to find out.

  43. Amir Salleh says:

    I recently purchased the AP1's here in Brunei(which is in Borneo) and had them fitted with regular flex, NSpro950 steel shafts. There was a demo at our local range by Acushnet and so i tried the AP1, AP2, and the Cobra UFI and i instantly loved the AP1.

    'm 29, athletic and took up golf in 2001. I've been hovering over the 14-18 hcp for the last 2 years and have been using Mizuno MP30's for the last 3 years. My friends think i've downgraded myself to cast irons and cavity backs but in all honesty, all i care about is an improvement in my game. I can shape my shots a little and my natural ball flight is a slight draw. I shoot in the high 80's and low 90's and was looking to improve my game by having a better iron game.

    Unlike the MP30's which were forged, i obviously had less feel with
    the AP1's but what got me was the level of forgiveness these irons gave me on mis-hits. On my MP30 5-iron, a mis-hit on the toe would have taken my ball 30 yards off the target line but on my last round, a mis-hit went only 10 yards off, which for me isn't too bad. When i hit the ground before the ball on the Par 4 10th, the ball still carried a good 120 yards when using the 5 iron. On my MP30's, the same mis-hit would not go very far.

    It's true, there is some offset on them but not noticeable plus i can still hit fades and cuts. The elastomer really works and there is hardly any vibration on impact which gives a nice feel on feedback.

    A word of warning. These AP1's have stronger lofts than what you might be used to. My Mizuno PW had 48 degrees but the AP1's have 45 degrees. I was scratching my head on my last round when i over-hit my approach shot from 120 yards with my PW. They are a full club more than what i was used to so i had to trust the club and change my yardage.

    I've played only 3 rounds and wil give an update it after a few months. Pretty satisfied with the clubs, they are my first Titleist set. This one will be staying in my bag for a long time.

  44. bobsuruncle says:

    Can anyone advise on whether it makes more sense to pick up a set of 775CB (as the price has dropped drastically)vs getting the AP1. How would you compare and rate these 2 "game improvement" irons from titleist? Thanks

  45. rocky says:

    Had and loved the Callaway X20 Tours, however my swing didn't love the ProjectX 6.0's. The AP1's look very similiar to the X20T's, only with a slightly larger face and while still giving some necessary feedback, they don't punish my older paws as much. The more minimal than GI offset is the same, the lie's are the same, the top down views are the same thickness. I had some fundamental swing flaws that required lessons and alot of practice, which in turn beat up my paws to the point where I just didn't want to practice anymore. The switch to the AP1 and regular TT HL shafts has allowed my to practice more, actually slow the inner need to kill the ball to get any distance and smoothed out my tempo. Traded in my X20T's for the AP1's and only forked 290$ out of pocket for them at GolfSmith.....my reward was less pain, 5-10 yards per club and a 6 pt drop in my HCP. A guy earlier said it right, these are the "GI" clubs for the 18 HCP'r looking to get to 9. The i10's are alot like the X20T's, in the smaller head and less offset is better mentality. The AP1's do all the above, but with a larger effective hitting surface. For me, it was a no brainer. As for the club/loft selection in the standard set. I carried a 3 HYB anyway and always wanted GW that was the same as the rest of the set, spaced 5* apart from the PW, couple that with a 58/8 Titliest wedge(bent to 56/6) and I have the perfect 125/100/75 yd combo going(9i/41, PW 45, Gw 50, very low bounce utility SW/56). marry that to known distances for a full/3 qtr/half swing(Butch Harmon/Golf digest swing tip) and I have become deadly from 125 in. Now I still have a chance to 3 putt for that bogey!

  46. rocky says:

    oh yeah, I'm also deadly from 125 yards too! :mrgreen:

  47. JOHN says:

    Can anyone advise on whether it makes more sense to pick up a set of 775CB (as the price has dropped drastically)vs getting the AP1. How would you compare and rate these 2 "game improvement" irons from titleist? Thanks

    I think it would make more sense money wise but not a good investment as there is a reason why certain clubs lose their value. If you can afford the AP1s, I would do so. I had the 775s but think the AP1s are much more forgiving and for me, inspire more confidence. I am an older player so the 775s just might be fine for you but you should go hit them both and decide for yourself. They are both excellent clubs. Hope this helps and good luck!

  48. Mike says:

    I just happened to find this website while considering a new Tour Edge Exotics CB2 fairway wood....I appreciate the information. For the record, I am a 4.4 handicap.....down from a 12 handicap 3 years ago. The secret to this success is not hitting a long drive or buying forged or not forged irons....it is about playing and developing a better short game (especially putting). Year to date, I have played close to 70 rounds. I can hit my drive 300 yards but rarely try to as you lose accuracy. I definitely can not hit a 6 iron 200 yards as I saw above.....I am the "worst" golfer in my group of 24 and I know of only 1 player that can stake claim to that and he is still a 7 handicap. Anyway, I have hit the new AP1 irons from Titelist at a demo day and found them to be very nice. However, I currently hit Adams Idea2 with their stock stiff graphite shaft and I can not find another iron that I personally like better......before this iron, I was hitting the G2 steel stiff and was a 12. Anyway, there are several irons on the market that are outstanding.....the key is to go to demo days and hit ALL of the irons and go with the ones that fit your eyes and you feel confident with and I would not overlook the Adams Idea3. I do not have any iron in my bag below a 6 iron.....the rest are Adams hybrids.....people can laugh at me until I take their money.

  49. Kevin says:

    I have always been a Titleist fan (used to play the 962s and the 990s), and I think these irons looks very promising. People need to remember that an iron set is not going to solve all of their problems, but it certainly could make your "bad" shots less penal.

    I am a 9 handicap. Two years ago I switched to the Macgregor V-foil M565 irons. These are a game improvement iron and indeed I found them to be very forgiving compared to my old Titleists that had a tiny sweet spot in comparison. The only thing I think is really sacrificed is feel around the greens when you are chipping with them. However, this Macgregor set I think is often overlooked by people, and considering that you can get some for under $300 on eBay like I did, I would highly recommend them to people. The idea is kind of similar to the AP-1 irons, except that the Macgregor's are much cheaper.
    Good luck.

  50. Shane says:

    I Cannot WAIT till i get my new AP 1's i Purchased them today and just waiting for them to be delivered. I Play of 8 and im 13 , quite abit of experence with hitting clubs, and i have to say , these are by far the best yet. they have a Pro Trajectory and come of the face like a Rocket. This Gregg i have seen commenting on here is abit of a Hypocrit to Titleist i must say, i mean he is goin on about mizuno so much , and from my point of view, Mizuno as a much different style of club to Titleist, most mizuno club have a alot of Cavity on there clubs for players that need to get the ball up high and quicker, where as Titleist are for the Lower Handicap players if anything. But i currently have a set of MX-17's but i hit them to high now and not enough feel, Where as Titleist have abit mlre of a Low Trajectory and abit harder to hit , but very nice to hit. So Gregg Stop Going On About Mizuno's like your married to them and let people have there own opinions rather than Questioning them over why they think AP1's are God's Gift :D

  51. karl says:

    I agree with Shane!! I just got mine yesterday after trying, Ping G10's, S57's, Cobra S9's, Wilson di7's, Pi7's. I currently play with Mizuno's myself and tested all irons "back to back". Everyone is different and there is a club to suite all but my decison was instant!

    My HCP is 9 and falling which is why I was actually thinking that the S57's would be best suited but the Ap1's seemed so easy, consistant and gave enough feel.

    I do think that that there is a stigma attached with irons and if you play with a cavity then you must be a mid HCP at best ...but how I see things......Why make things difficult for your self?? If it fits you then who cares aboout make, type, etc surely it's all about bringing your score down!

    Oh yes and the extra distance was great. 190yrd 6 irons no problem!! a good club extra to all of the others tested!

    So in conclusion... a great club!! well done Titleist!!

  52. Bart says:

    I bought my AP1s today. The regular AP1s fit me perfectly so I left the store without having to order the custom fit clubs. The guys at Edwin Watts took their time and made sure the fit was correct. I hit them today and they were a big differance from my old DCIs. This site helped me decide to make the change so thanks to everyone for their honest replys. I also picked up a Taylormade Burner driver and matching 5 wood.

  53. Shaun says:

    so is this more of a titleist "improvement" iron set. I think they would be worth a try but I am trying to get away from the improvement clubs and trying to learn working the ball.

  54. Tom says:

    I'm currently hitting Callaway Big Bertha Irons, I've been very intrigued by the AP1's. I'm currently at a 17. Do you believe these clubs are appropriate for me?

  55. Alex says:

    I'm currently hitting Callaway Big Bertha Irons, I've been very intrigued by the AP1's. I'm currently at a 17. Do you believe these clubs are appropriate for me?

    Tom, I do not - I sold my set and went with the AP2s more of a players club - the AP1s aren't gogin to help you that much more than your Bertha's and when you do improve you'll want somethign better, so unless you are wanting to upgarde to another set a year from now, don't....all depends on how much you play and what your goals are..if you are planning on maintaining the 17 handocap level or a couple of strokes better then maybe.....

  56. Alex says:

    so is this more of a titleist "improvement" iron set. I think they would be worth a try but I am trying to get away from the improvement clubs and trying to learn working the ball.

    In my opinion defnitely go woth the AP2s - the AP1s are great, but they are definitely an improvement club - very little difference in feel no matter where you strike the ball...not what you want if you are looking to learn to work the ball...am playing off an 8 right now and love my irons - the AP2s...they're also a bit forgiving...more so than the baldes I used to play...

  57. Alex says:

    so is this more of a titleist "improvement" iron set. I think they would be worth a try but I am trying to get away from the improvement clubs and trying to learn working the ball.

    In my opinion defnitely go woth the AP2s - the AP1s are great, but they are definitely an improvement club - very little difference in feel no matter where you strike the ball...not what you want if you are looking to learn to work the ball...am playing off an 8 right now and love my irons - the AP2s...they're also a bit forgiving...more so than the blades I used to play...

  58. lulululu says:

    i also play 9 holes around a high sometimes low forties to a middle 50. im trying to get better and find that club that suites me. i hit a 4 iron around 160-180.

  59. mark says:

    i also play 9 holes around a high sometimes low forties to a middle 50. im trying to get better and find that club that suites me. i hit a 4 iron around 160-180.

    I would recommend a maximum game improvement iron like a big bertha. great irons for people who shoot from mid nineties to low 100's. i would also suggest trying a 4 hybrid rather than a four iron. last year i went to a 2, 3, 4, and 5 hybrid...all calloway (although different people will swear to different hybrids) and it probably took at least five strokes off my total score. bye the way i just went from the big berthas to the ap1s. love the titleist. also game improvement, however they must be struck better than the calloway in order to get them to go where you wish. but strike them well and they go right where you want them to go.

  60. Mark Peterson says:

    I carry a 10 hcp and currently play a set of Adams Idea A2 irons with graphite shafts. I have owned those for four years and have been very satisfied with their performance. However, I have the itch to try something new. I am intrigued by the AP1s by Titleist. I have gotten used to the feel and light weight of my graphite shaft irons. The AP1s come with an Adila VS Proto By You 75-R. These are newly introduced shafts by Adila and I have found very few reviews on them. Can anyone give me some meaningful feedback on these new graphite shafts that come standard on the AP1 irons?

  61. Colin says:

    Just to chime in... best irons ever. I've owned them well beyond any 'honeymoon' period now and haven't looked back.

    I'm a decent ball striker, but am truly amazed at the heel to toe forgiveness for off center hits.

    The feel for such a club is fantastic. I can tell you instantly where the ball is struck on the face with any shot.

    Anyone who tells you these aren't 'workable' is full of it. I can and have hit low (under tree) stingers, and you can draw/fade as desired depending on how much you trust your swing. I would say these are great Game improvement irons, and they don't look like some of the shovels being pushed by other OEM's.

    Finally, quite possibly one of my favorite features that originally drew me to these irons was the Proto By You shafts. I love the shaft for drivers, so it was a no brainer. Very well done, very reliable, and accurate. Great shaft for a 'made for Titleist' shaft.

    This is the first time in 2008 and that I have zero desire to get new irons (I've had these for about 25+ rounds now).... and that's the truth.

    These were my first venture into Titleist irons, and probably not my last. If you're looking for something that gives you tremendous off center hit forgiveness without looking massive at address, and doesn't rob you of feel, at the very least, give these a demo.

  62. walter says:

    I read about every review on the web for the 2008 irons, especially the Golf Magazine 2008 Club Test. I went to the local club fitter today dead set to buy one of the following: Ping G10 & i10 (forgiving), Wilson Ci7 (low cost, long and test winner), Callaway FT (high end), Cobra S9 (great improvement clubs) and the Mizuno X950, X200 (not available yet here) and the MP57. One of these top rated clubs must fit me.

    After hitting all the above listed irons in steel & graphite, the fitter told me to try the AP1 & AP2. I never thought about Titleist irons because I always thought they were for the pros and not a hacker shooting in the mid to high 80's.

    I swung the AP2 first, beautiful set but small head, no confidence feeling, first swing thinned the ball and that was that. I then tried the AP2s with the regular TT DG HL R (True Temper, Dynamic Gold, High Launch Regular) and I was completely amazed!

    The feel was softer than my current Mizuno Comp Plus forged irons and even better than the MP-57!! The balls felt like they were trampolined off of the face. Every shot straight as an arrow and 1/2 club longer than the FT. The AP1 6 iron is 1 degree stronger than the FT, so maybe that was the 1/2 club length? Regardless, what great feel, great feed back and no shocking vibrations even on thinned shots. This club lets you know how you well struck the ball and where on the club face but without stinging you for mishits! I am still trying to recover from tendonitis on my left elbow.... 1 year later....

    As well, at address, even the thicker top line was nice and actually gave me more of a confidence feeling than my thin top Mizunos and FT.

    In terms of looks, the AP1s and FT are tops then comes Mizuno MP-57 & X950, then Cobra S9, Wilson Ci7 & lastly the Ping i10 & G10. The FT frames the ball a bit better with the 2 white lines at base of club face but AP1 is not far behind.

    In summary, in terms of price, performance, feel, confidence, distance, the AP1 is the top choice for me even though Golf Magazine rated the Ci7, FT & the G10s higher.

    Oh, forgot to mention I finally found out I was playing ill fitting clubs. After some measurements, I was fitted with -1/2" & 2Up and with the new set up, I nailed the sweet spot 10/10. Awesome!

    It is a shame that the season is coming to an end here in Holland, just when things are shaping up! I corrected my swing in June, bought the G10 driver and dropped my strokes by 10!! I will wait for Dec to pick up a set of AP1s in the States on my next trip back. This is just as well because Titleist said the AP1s will stay for 2009 with no replacements in sight until 2010 or later.

    I am pretty sure I can get my game to the low 80s and maybe even the high 70's when the custom fit AP1s complete my bag. Ping G10 10.5R (the Ultimate Driver!!!), G10 4W, Cobra Baffler Hybrids 3 & 4, AP1 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, PW, GW, Volkey 56.10 SW, Cleveland 60 LW (just for goofs) & the great Hiro Matsumoto MR-15 putter.

  63. Steve says:

    im 15 yrs old and i shoot low 80's. i got cleveland black pearls used and there garbage. their just too bladish 4 me. im really looking forward to da ap1's. i just don't understand why there's a 50 degree wedge in it. should i just buy a vokey instead. any comments would be appreciated.

  64. LT says:

    im 15 yrs old and i shoot low 80's. i got cleveland black pearls used and there garbage. their just too bladish 4 me. im really looking forward to da ap1's. i just don't understand why there's a 50 degree wedge in it. should i just buy a vokey instead. any comments would be appreciated.

    Steve,

    I initially purchased my AP1 set as 5-P plus a Vokey 50-degree Tour Chrome at the recommendation of my fitter/instructor. I later purchased the matching gap wedge, thinking that it would be more forgiving and longer for full swings since I hit my Vokey 100 yards and my pitching wedge 120. I ended up sticking with the Vokey since I was just as consistent with it for full swings (distance and line) plus the feel and look suit me way better for chipping, pitching and partial swings. Additionally, the trajectory is a bit lower with the stiffer DG200 vs the S300 HL shaft (which I love, BTW, just not for my gap wedge). Lastly, I prefer to use my Vokey 50 for longer bunker shots versus a cavity back iron. In short, I feel that the Vokey 50 is more versatile with a better look and feel for most short game shots.

  65. Steve says:

    i appreciate it LT

  66. TM says:

    I am 16 and just started not to long ago. I usually shoot in the mid 80s but i am hoping to keep improving quit a bit. would the ap1s or ap2s be what i am looking for? I also looked at the 755s and 775s.
    Which of those two would be better?

  67. Alan says:

    I am 16 and just started not to long ago. I usually shoot in the mid 80s but i am hoping to keep improving quit a bit. would the ap1s or ap2s be what i am looking for? I also looked at the 755s and 775s.
    Which of those two would be better?

    If you are just starting out and still working towards building a more repeatable swing, the AP1's might suit you more as they provide a good amount of forgiveness on mishits. Having said that, you should really try out all the clubs you mentioned to find which is the best for you now or that you can can "grow into" as with the AP2's. Find a good fitter and try as many sets as you can.

  68. TM says:

    k thanks for your help

  69. Bill says:

    I am currently at a 10.5 handicap and been as low as 8.9. I can attribute most of that to being very long off the tee and solid putting. My iron play from 175 to green is the weakest part of my game. Currently playing the Callaway X20 Tours with Project X shafts and I am considering going to the Titleist AP2 but I am afraid although my handicap is close to single digits, that these irons may be too difficult for me to control. I've never been a divot-taker, I tend to pick the ball pretty clean. Would I be better off with the AP1 or AP2?

    I like the thinner topline look of the AP2s compared to my Callaway X20T, and the overall weight seems lighter. Will I notice an improvement in the accuracy and playability with the Titleist AP1 or AP2's?

  70. TomG says:

    I am a 15.4 index and have been playing Hogan CFT w/graphite for about 4 years. I have seen all these great reviews for the AP1 - so I went to test hit a set.

    Went to a shop that had the Titleist Fitting Station so they fitted me with the Adilia stock shaft with the mid kick point like my Hogans- and - wow what a difference. When hit sweet - there is no feel better (I have Titleist 905R and 906F so I know the feedback).

    With a less than perfect swing - was a bit of a line drive shot - but much better than a crummy one with the Hogans. I got the Gap club, but I will keep my classic BH Tour Series II wedges (I have trusted them for 10+ years - plus have a brand new set as backups) - just need to find the distances.

    I can't wait to get these out for a round when they come in next week - just we have a foot of snow on the ground.

  71. Sam says:

    Just change from Maruman M1 to AP1 G.shaft, I used to play ping eye2 ( still keep ) but after went to Japan I bought Jap -made Maruman M1 which was very good in distance . After two years I think US-made and Jap-made spec is quite different,my game improve very slow. Early this year I saw T-AP1 in G.Digest , very nic edesign and when compare with Ping G10 or Rapture , no hesitate to buy AP1 .My game improve a lot thanks for its performnce .

  72. Flanagan says:

    I am currently at a 10.5 handicap and been as low as 8.9. I can attribute most of that to being very long off the tee and solid putting. My iron play from 175 to green is the weakest part of my game. Currently playing the Callaway X20 Tours with Project X shafts and I am considering going to the Titleist AP2 but I am afraid although my handicap is close to single digits, that these irons may be too difficult for me to control. I've never been a divot-taker, I tend to pick the ball pretty clean. Would I be better off with the AP1 or AP2?

    I like the thinner topline look of the AP2s compared to my Callaway X20T, and the overall weight seems lighter. Will I notice an improvement in the accuracy and playability with the Titleist AP1 or AP2's?

    I play a blended set: AP1 4,5 and AP2 6-P (also got the 6 iron in the AP1, don't ask). I can't imagine the AP2s are going to be hard to handle. The lofts are weaker than the AP1s, so beware when comparing. Match the right shaft for you to the AP2s and I think you will find them plenty forgiving, and appreciate the feel and accuracy of the shorter irons. I play to a 10, but can play much worse and when I do, it's not because of any limitations in the Titleists. I did really like the difference in the shorter irons in play and setup of the AP2s vs. the AP1s.

  73. Erik says:

    Flanagan,

    I am in almost the exact boat as you. My handicap ranges from 12 - 15, mostly because I am long with the driver and have a very good short game. My iron play is the weakest part of my game. I play Titleist DCI 762 irons and I was thinking about switching to AP-2's. I love the look of these clubs, however I was worried about once again buying clubs that were, in general, too tough to hit. I hate the look to the bulbous forgiving irons that my friends hit, however I am getting tired of losing to them! So now I am debating buying the AP-1's, but I just cant make up my mind.

  74. Mark says:

    I've been playing Titleist DCI 981's for almost 10 years. Ping Eye 2's for about ten years before that, and Haig Ultradynes for 10 years before that. Played to about a 10 handicap years ago but have been floating in the 14 range because I only play a few times a month, rather than a couple times a week like I used to.

    I have been looking at the AP1's since they came out. Between them and Mizuno MX 57's. I was wondering about the AP2's with Proj X 5.5 shaft so tried them all today at the range.

    Warmed up with my old DCI 6 iron. It's solid like an old friend. Workable enough and gives enough feedback without the jarring feel of a blade. I always know where the ball hit the face.

    I picked up the AP1 6 iron next with dynamic gold shaft. It was a bit more upright due to its stronger lie and that was it. Higher trajectory and the ball velocity was definitely higher. I don't think I missed one shot until I tried to push-fade the ball. I know I can get the shot off, but not sure of the exact adjustment and wanted to just keep flushing them.

    I then went to the AP2 6 iron. No doubt, higher ball flight with the Proj X shaft. Rocket ship with a center hit. A bit ouchy near the heel and toe. Makes you concentrate more to get that center hit, but I'm not sure I want to concentrate that much during every round. There was a day...

    So, tomorrow no question. I'm walking into the shop and throwing down for the AP1's with Dynamic Gold shaft. Just sweet as butter, workable enough and they set up like you can't miss. They have a balance that now make my DCI's seem clunky. How did Titleist do that? I loved those DCI's but the AP1's will be my new babies.

  75. ben says:

    Just tried the AP1 always had Ping and reluctant to give them up.However the trial with the AP1 seemed good although i am having the True Gold not high launch because I have always hit the ball high.Has anyone else gone for a similar option and has it worked ,Iget my clubs next week.

  76. marty says:

    I have the Ap1's and really like them. I ddo have a few questions.
    1. What kind of grooves are in the Ap1's, U or V ?

    2. Are toold like the groove Cleaner allowed?

    thanks

  77. Todd says:

    :???: Great review,,but would like to know if anyone has had any playability problems with pinching down on the ball and letting it roll up to the hole when missing the green on the second shot of a par4or the third shot on a par5. The sole width is a little wide,coming from thinner soled blades. in other words does the sole interfere when you get close up to the green..Any feed back would be greatly appreciated thanks..

  78. LT says:

    :???: Great review,,but would like to know if anyone has had any playability problems with pinching down on the ball and letting it roll up to the hole when missing the green on the second shot of a par4or the third shot on a par5. The sole width is a little wide,coming from thinner soled blades. in other words does the sole interfere when you get close up to the green..Any feed back would be greatly appreciated thanks..

    I had the same initial concern since I switched from the Titleist 755s, which I especially loved for chipping and had my distances down. I have to admit that it took a little bit of time to adjust with the AP1s for chipping, mostly for dialing in the distance since they're a bit stronger lofted than the 755s. I also had to get used to the thicker top line at address and the wider sole; however, I now love these clubs for chipping, pitch-chipping and pitching just as I do for full shots! As others have pointed out, while this is Titleist's most forgiving iron to date, it is not a "super game improvement shovel" and still provides the playability desired by lower handicaps.

  79. Dave says:

    h_baden
    Enjoyed your response. I was a 7 about 2 years ago but work, age, kids and grandchildren etc, have ensued and so I am probably a legit 12 - 15 now. In my opinion, the 10 - 15 handicap golfers you mention not having much to choose from, is on target. I went to the AP1s after playing MP60s for a few years. As far as the AP1s are concerned, for me, the jury is still out. The change from the Mizuno, is a significant one and so I am going to demo the AP2s next week to see 'exactly' what the differences truly are. Again, I truly enjoyed your insight.

  80. Sagar says:

    I heard that the ap1 irons get too much height. Does this affect the distance ??
    Any other irons that can be compared to the ap1s ..???

  81. Sagar says:

    TaylorMade r7 or the Titleist AP1 ... which is better for a mid handicapper??

  82. LT says:

    I heard that the ap1 irons get too much height. Does this affect the distance ??
    Any other irons that can be compared to the ap1s ..???

    I switched from the Titleist 755s with Project X High Launch 6.0 flex shafts to the AP1s with the True Temper High Launch S300 flex shafts. While the mid to high irons seem to have a higher trajectory I was surprised by the fact that the low irons, especially the pitching wedge actually have a lower and more boring trajectory for me vs the 755s. Also, I gained a half to a full club of distance over my 755s. BTW, I still have my 755s and while I hit them well, I keep going back to my AP1s since they're longer and accurate plus easier to hit.

  83. LT says:

    Forgot to mention that knock down shots are easy with the AP1s once you get the hang of it.

  84. LT says:

    TaylorMade r7 or the Titleist AP1 ... which is better for a mid handicapper??

    I think they're both designed for the mid-handicapper in mine. It's been a while but I think the r7 has a slightly thinner topline than the AP1; however, I believe the AP1 has less offset (definitely less visible offset anyway), which I like since my misses tend to be pulls or hooks. Also, the AP1s feel much softer to me. That said, I think it comes down to personal preference.

  85. Sagar says:

    Thanks LT.
    I have just started hitting shots. I mean I just started making good swings. I need clubs which will help me make my swing, improver my timing and grip.
    Do you think AP1 is right for me? If any other clubs please suggest!!

  86. LT says:

    Thanks LT.
    I have just started hitting shots. I mean I just started making good swings. I need clubs which will help me make my swing, improver my timing and grip.
    Do you think AP1 is right for me? If any other clubs please suggest!!

    Sagar, it sounds like you're in the same situation as the author and myself (need just enough game improvement but not too much), in which case the AP1s will serve you well for years to come. I couldn't be happier with my AP1s! Also, Billy Mayfair plays these clubs on the Senior Tour which proves that this club can work for lower handicaps as well.

  87. Sagar says:

    Then I believe AP1s will be right for me. I can play with them for a year or so and then switch to some other clubs.
    Thanks again LT

  88. LT says:

    Then I believe AP1s will be right for me. I can play with them for a year or so and then switch to some other clubs.
    Thanks again LT

    Sagar, why would you want to plan on switching out your irons so soon? Most pros I've spoken to says it usually takes a year to get really comfortable with your irons. I'd say that's held true for me with my AP1s and I'm just really starting to take full advantage of them and bringing down my handicap as a result. Switching away from my AP1s at this point probably wouldn't help my game.

    As a confessed golf equipment junkie, I wish I would have invested more in lessons (with the right instructor) at the beginning of my journey versus all of the costly equipment changes.

    If the AP1s look, feel and play well for you now, my recommendation is to stick with them and set a goal of not upgrading your irons until your handicap and shot making ability warrants it. If you have to change them out for the sake of something new then so be it but don't expect your handicap to miraculously come down as a result.

    Again, just my two cents from the golf school of hard knocks.

    LT

  89. Sagar says:

    I get your point. I really didn't knew about the time players usually take to get comfortable with their clubs. I would keep that in my mind.

    Thanks LT

    I even came to know about this thing that AP1s get scratches and the shine is lost easily. You know anything about this ?

    Sagar

  90. LT says:

    I get your point. I really didn't knew about the time players usually take to get comfortable with their clubs. I would keep that in my mind.

    Thanks LT

    I even came to know about this thing that AP1s get scratches and the shine is lost easily. You know anything about this ?

    Sagar

    I'd have to agree that the faces of myAP1s scratched up and lost some of their lustre fairly quickly. However, I also got over it fairly quickly since 1) they're golf clubs for God's sake and bound to scratch and 2) I spend most of my time looking at them from the top at address vs looking at the face. If you want an iron that doesn't show scratches then take a look at the Ping G10s.

  91. Sagar says:

    Thanks LT
    I want to buy clubs which will help me with my swing. I don't care about the scratches and all.
    I just wanted to confirm that those scratches and all are true.

    I am thinking of going for Callaway for my fairway wood. Which will be best for my game improvement. Any other fairway wood that will help me with my game?

  92. OC says:

    I just ordered a set of AP1s 4-PW with the TT DG S300 shaft. I was worried that the DGHL S300 would have too high of a trajectory. I used to play 735CM with DG S300 shafts and the trajectory was fine on those irons. I know the lofts are stronger on the AP1s, so now I am re-thinking whether I shouldve gone with the HL shaft. Any suggestions?

  93. thedill says:

    I just ordered a set of AP1s 4-PW with the TT DG S300 shaft. I was worried that the DGHL S300 would have too high of a trajectory. I used to play 735CM with DG S300 shafts and the trajectory was fine on those irons. I know the lofts are stronger on the AP1s, so now I am re-thinking whether I shouldve gone with the HL shaft. Any suggestions?

    I did the EXACT same thing in custom ordering a set of AP1s 4-PW with the standard S300 shafts. I have always hit my irons high and even though these are a bit delofted I didn't feel the high launch shafts would be beneficial to me. I needed mine 1/2" long and 2 degrees flat so they needed to come directly from Titleist unless I wanted to pay Golfsmith to regrip them after lengthening. That would have also forced me to purchase one of the sets they had in stock, which included the AW. Personally I'd rather go with a 52 degree Vokey for just a few dollars more. Another week and a half and hopefully I'm playing them and will provide feedback for those still interested.

  94. Chuck says:

    From where did Alan Olson derive the information that the Titleist AP1 and/or AP2 feature grooves that were compliant with the USGA's 2010-spec rule?

    I think it is an untrue statement. I'd be very happy to entertain other information, sources, etc. If someone can supply detailed information on the AP grooves, please feel free to correct me.

    And more generally, why, I would ask, would any recreational player -- who is not faced with a Condition of Competition that requires 2010-compliant equipment -- want to play with anything other than pre-2010 modified U-grooves, if the rules allow it, as they will?

  95. From where did Alan Olson derive the information that the Titleist AP1 and/or AP2 feature grooves that were compliant with the USGA's 2010-spec rule?

    From the same place I did in my AP2 review: from Titleist. It's not an "untrue statement."

    As for why - why not? Any clubs made after January 1, 2010 will have to conform anyway. May as well get used to it now.

  96. Mike M says:

    If I had to make a purchase when I demoed the AP1's, I would have selected the Cleveland Gold over the Titliest. You should give and try and if you like them, pick up a set used. Also, another great alternative are the Callaway MX-20's. Both of these, in my opinion, are better choices.

    I played the MX23 for years, went to the AP1, hate them. Ordering either the MX200 or the MP52. Stay with the Miuno, you will not regret it.

  97. Stew says:

    I tried to like he AP1's but found the balance unsuitable for me as the head seems heavy and lower ions to thick bottomed(especially the gap wedge)

    I, like Mike M, will be going back to Mizuno and irons of choice will be the mx200's

  98. rudy says:

    I AM A JUNIOR GOLFER THAT USUALLY SHOOTS IN THE LOW 80'S SO ARE THESE CLUBS FOR ME? :roll:

  99. Chuck says:

    Again, I only have questions; but as the USGA begins to roll out its testing equipment for newly-compliant grooves, in the wake of the PGATour's decision to go ahead with a Condition of Competition enforcing the use of newly-compliant equipment, I wonder if anyone has actually field-tested any of the retail Titleist AP irons.

    As I understand it, the new USGA field device(s) are relatively simple machines that utilize a scanning mechanism much like an office flatbed scanner.

    There are also some very sophisitcated and very expensive models that are intended strictly for select laboratories and the R&D departments at the major manufacturers.

    Has any independent person or group begun to test current offerings like the Titleist AP's, to deterimne whether they pass field-testing?

    (Not that most recreational players have any reason to care, or worry, since all currently-legal gear remains legal, and only the very few elite players need to worry about any Conditions of Competition...)

  100. Mike M says:

    I AM A JUNIOR GOLFER THAT USUALLY SHOOTS IN THE LOW 80'S SO ARE THESE CLUBS FOR ME? :roll:

    Rudy,
    I would try the Mizuno line. I went from the MX 23 to the AP1 thinking they would be easier to hit and take some of the work out of it. The AP1's are now gone and I just ordered the Mizuno MP 52 irons. they are surprisingly easy to hit and the feel you get is unbelieveable, better than anything I have ever hit. I agree with Stew that the AP1's are very head heavy and it through my tempo off. While playing the Mizuno's I was a 7-7.5 now I am a 9-10. Make sure you can get used to the extra weight compared to what you are playing now.

  101. Mike M says:

    I tried to like he AP1's but found the balance unsuitable for me as the head seems heavy and lower ions to thick bottomed(especially the gap wedge)

    I, like Mike M, will be going back to Mizuno and irons of choice will be the mx200's

    Stew, If you haven't hit the MP52's you owe it to yourself to try them before you purchase the MX200's.

  102. austin says:

    ;-) the AP1's rocks the topline is a little thicker but in person seems smaller

  103. Matt says:

    I purchased the AP1's to replace my dci762s that were stolen and I have to say that I was a bit nervous about the thickness of the top line at first, but I did not even notice it when playing with these clubs. These are great looking irons and I am very happy that they are in my bag, I have always thought of myself as a good ball striker and I like to work the ball but with a young family at home I do not get out to play very much anymore and these clubs fit my game perfectly. They give me the ability to be creative with shots when swinging well but also the forgiveness that I need now when my swing is a bit off.

  104. Joe says:

    Steve,

    I am a similar HCP and am considering the Ping-i10's. Why would you switch to the AP1? I am playing Hogan Apex Pro. They are great when I hit well, but I tend to dig with them and have a hard time controlling the direction. I need more consistent dispersion and a rounded leading edge.

    Any input would be much appreciated.

    Thanks.

    Steve: I am a 10 HCP and play the Hogan Apex Pro's. They have been reshafted with the Nippon 950 stiff (don't even think about regular) shafts. My Hogan 52 and 56 degree wedges were reshafted with the new Nippon wedge shaft. At age 63, the lighter shafts are sweet. I tried the AP1 club, Calloway X-20 Tours, and in fact played a few rounds with both, and both were good, solid hitting clubs. They were not as solid as the reshafted Apex Pro's. Distance was about the same, but the Pro's seem to hit through all types of turf more consistently. The Pro's are easier to hit with the blade a little open or closed. It's a tough club to give up.

  105. Kimounten says:

    I play to about a 12 handicap and I am interested in either the ap1s or the ap2s. The thing that concerns me about the ap1s is the high ball flight that I have about in these comments. I have a naturally high ball flight that I feel hinders my game especially on windy days. Can anyone comment on either the clubs (ap1s or ap2s and their ball flight) or recommend shafts that reduce the height of a ball flight? Any help would be appreciated!

  106. Dino says:

    I as well am debating on the AP1's. I am currently hitting the MX-23's that I bought about 4 years ago. I am sitting at 22, but primarily because of my poor short game. Was a 14 years ago before kids and a real job. If someone said chip this ball from 50 yds. in to the green or die, I would probably die. Nonetheless, in today's world of technology, my MX-23's feel like anvils, compared to the AP1's with the lite project X shaft. Even compared to the G10's or the i10's the 23's are very heavy. Anyone a Mizuno owner that has gone to or considered going to the AP1's or the i10's? (couldn't get over the chunky feel and look of the G10's) Thoughts on how these compare? Are they enough "game improvement" for a hacker like me? :?:

    I was playing the Raptures and wanted to get away from the very large head and the forced offset of these clubs. I tried the i10's but found I didn't get any feel from them. I considered the G10's but their heads were large also. So, I have opted for the AP1's and should receive them today. I can't wait as I liked the feel of them at the store. I am a 18 handicap and think this will work well for me!

  107. Jon says:

    I currently have a 8.7 H.I. For the past 15 years or so I have played with Ping ISI's! I truly loved these clubs, but friends convinced me to make a change (for technology sake). I'm so happy with my new AP1 irons! I have played 45 holes since getting them 5 days ago. First try was in a 9-hole league shot 36 (Par 35). My first 18 holes was a score of 74 (Par 68). My latest 18 holes was a 69 (Par 70)! I'm 46 years old, and have never shot under par for an 18 hole round. Alot of reviews have claimed they feel these clubs are for high handicappers...I disagree strongly. Great feel upon striking the golf ball. Somewhat higher ball flight...actually like that. And if you have good alignment and strike a solid shot...it goes where you want it to. Can't wait to play again...oh by the way, anyone interested in some Ping dinosaurs?

  108. Scott says:

    I currently have an index in the high 9's but I am looking to get a new set of irons. I had been playing a lot until lately and now with work and a baby on the way, my golf time is going way down!

    I have been playing the Taylor Made Tour Preferred Irons for about a year (which I got on the cheap from a friend), but with my lack of playing and practice now, I find them really hard to hit solidly! I am not interested in getting down to scratch, but would like some irons that I can go out and play with once or twice a month. I am not looking to work the ball, just some irons that are forgiving and easy to hit without being full, "clumpy" cavity backs.

    I have been looking through the reviews of these Titleist AP1s and I am very interested in them! Any advice on these versus the competition or the AP1 vs the AP2? My concern is that the AP2 will be similar to the TM Tour Preferred that I'm playing now and don't like....thanks!

  109. Nick says:

    I am playing off a solid 16 handicap and have only used the demos around my 18 hole golf course. I think these irons are very forgiving as even when i turned my club face either way I ovcourse got some draw or cut but it was not uncrontrolled. However these irons are very light so take a lot of practise to get used to. For a tip i would tell an improving golfer to start with a nice and slow swing, as even with this the club will do the work for you, as i found out when i hit the 5 iron 200+ yards.

  110. Dino says:

    I was playing the Raptures and wanted to get away from the very large head and the forced offset of these clubs. I tried the i10's but found I didn't get any feel from them. I considered the G10's but their heads were large also. So, I have opted for the AP1's and should receive them today. I can't wait as I liked the feel of them at the store. I am a 18 handicap and think this will work well for me!

    Update: I have been playing these clubs for a couple months now and LOVE them! You will be happy if you buy these clubs!

  111. Mike M says:

    Update: I have been playing these clubs for a couple months now and LOVE them! You will be happy if you buy these clubs!

    Well like you i played the MX23 went to the AP1's hated them and now I am back with Mizuno MP 52, great feeling club!!!!

  112. Andy says:

    Hello golf pros,

    I am a beginner and working my way into one hundred. I am looking to buy a set of clubs that are best suited for me. After looking into a few sets, I liked the reviews on the AP-1 graphite, taylormade burner plus, and callaway x20. Please shine some light on my educated guess. I am 5-10 and 165 pounds, athletic.

    Thank you so much!

    Andy

  113. Michael Wagner says:

    I Just hit these clubs an hour ago at demo day, got fitted and bought them. Absolutely amazing clubs. Look cool, feel great, and perform exceptionally well. I don't know what I'm going to do for the next 2 weeks while i wait for them to come in but they better get here fast. I can't wait for my first round with them.
    Bought 4- Pitch to make room for an extra Volkey! (Also hit well!)

  114. bobby_14hc says:

    I currently have an index in the high 9's but I am looking to get a new set of irons.

    I have been looking through the reviews of these Titleist AP1s and I am very interested in them! Any advice on these versus the competition or the AP1 vs the AP2? My concern is that the AP2 will be similar to the TM Tour Preferred that I'm playing now and don't like....thanks!

    Scott....I am getting my custom ordered Ap1's this week. After playing 5 rounds I will submit my detailed review here.

    I am a solid 14 handicap and on many occasions will flirt with a 80 on my course which demands precision due to abundance of trees lining the fairways. I had a set of 775-CB irons which I played earlier in the year. They were very accurate but I had trouble getting distance with longer irons with the steel shafts. So I chose graphite shafts for the AP1's with 1 deg flat and
    -1/64 grip.

    That is the best part with Titleist clubs, you can order Lie adjusted at factory and there are a myriad of choices for shafts and grips. Also you don't have to order all 8 irons. You can order amy number of clubs from #4 thru #9, PW, GW, SW.

  115. Ignace Deryckere says:

    I'm playing of a solid 17 Hcp. Currently I am playing with Ping raptures. I purchased them with the static fitting from Ping. My pro tells me my posture at adress isn't perfect due to these clubs. He says I can hit the ball much better with other clubs and a dynamic fitting. I want to change clubs and I prefer more a player's club like the AP1. I play several times a week and always have the motivation to lower my handicap. What about the AP1? Good choice of club? Other suggestions?

  116. bobby_14hc says:

    Ignace....before spending a lot money, do a check of the Lie angle on your Rapture irons at home. Just put a masking tape on bottom #6 iron club and place a cardboard piece on floor. Take your normal swings just brushing the cardboard. Observe the scrape marks. They should be centered on iron bottom.

    If the marks are more towards the hosel, you need a flatter Lie.
    If more towards the toe, you need more upright Lie.

    Without a correct Lie angle suited to your swing, it is difficult to control ball direction.

  117. bobby_14hc says:

    I ordered my AP1-710's on Nov 29th through Golf Smith's web site and it said delivery on Dec 8th. Guess what it is now Christmas and still no delivery!

    Making several phone calls to Golf Smith (GS) did not get me any where so I called Titleist directly and found out the cause for the delay. It was the particular grips I picked from options available on GS! They were on back order!! Titleist was nice enough to change my order to something they have in stock. Hopefully I will get the clubs before New Year's.

    So.....stick to standard Titleist grips unles you have no problem with delays.

  118. Rod says:

    I just purchased the AP1's and have lost 2 club lengths but don't feel it's the club.

    The fitter said I needed a stiff shaft but I've always been a regular but being that I took a few lessons and my swing was dialed in I thought he could be right.

    After playing with the AP1's I don't feel I needed the stiff flex. Could this be the problem for the loss of distance? I hit my old 9 iron (Taylormade R7 XD) the same distance I currently hit my AP1's.... Somethings not right and to say I'm frustrated is an understatement. Any ideas out there? By the way I contacted Titleist and they have no issues reshafting the irons to regular flex.

    Thanks

  119. fishin_99 says:

    I had been playing a set of stock reg steel Ping G2's for past 7 yrs until someone decided they liked my clubs more than me and stole my bag. I was really comfortable and knew exactly what to expect from my G2's. So I had to start from scratch and choose all new clubs which is not cheap. Found out that it is hard to take a set to a range or find a Demo Day. Most chain stores don't want you to take clubs out of store without purchase but give option to return for a small fee. I felt like I wanted to take a step closer to players irons but still remain with forgiving clubs since I am about an 18 hdcp. I hit all kinds of clubs in the store net and found a used set of MacGregor MacTech with 5.5 rifle flighted shafts that felt great. I played a round and realized that I had lost a full club length plus but was right on target. The loss of distance was too much for me since I play with a group that likes to play the "longer tee's"! So, I purchased the new Adams A7 iron set in reg graphite as I loved the smaller sole and topline. I played with them for about 5 rounds and realized that the head was very light and I could not feel much. Same with the hybrids in the set. So I took them back and traded them in for a used set of Calaway X22 Pro with 5.0 project X flighted shafts. These were just not forgiving enough and I realized that my distances were not predictable (still a bit shorter overall) since I don't hit the sweet spot each time. So I went to Golfsmith after hearing about a store going out of business with 50% off everything! I went in and found much of the shelves bare already. So I looked anyway and found a used set of 2008 AP1's with DG high launch reg steel that had a few battle scars but still looked good. I really was looking for some more Pings or Taylormade Burner iroon..... Not really Titleist. The AP1's looked real good since they discounted the price to $234 for 4-P plus matching W 50deg. I traded in my X22 Pro's and was able to walk out with the AP1's, a new Taylormade Burner 5-wood and a new $10 kids driver for my young son (which he trashed on the driveway within 24 hrs). I took the AP1's to the range and love them! The distance is very close to my G2s and I think the clubs give more feedback. I am hoping to get a round in soon. Will provide feedback after a little more use.

  120. fishin_99 says:

    Well I tried out the AP1's on the course and liked them. They were forgiving and long. I think I gained about 5 yards over my old Ping G2's. These clubs felt good to me and the trajectory was a high launch as expected from a game improvement club. I have no complaints about these clubs other than I had a little trouble hitting the short irons from hard, dry fairways where I seemed to hit the ball a little thin. I have noticed that I personally hit clubs with less bounce on the sole better in this type of conditions. I hope I get a chance to test the latest AP1 version (2009 model) which has short irons with a smaller head, thinner face and a bit less sole bounce so that I can compare to my 2008 AP1's.

    Bottom line: I am planning on keeping these irons in the bag for a while

  121. bob freckles says:

    these are irons that are funny because they are very un lifley. i hit one shot with the 9 iron and it snapped. mind you my old cavity back irons are like tissue and they were made by callaway or mizuno. actualy i think it was youtube.. no it was taylor made. actualy no it was ping yes thats it the ping i twos. i bought them of this geezer in a pro shop.

  122. kjarsit says:

    With the Titleist AP1 or any Titleist club, keep in mind that the heads are made in China, and the shafts are made in Japan! That's a fact! These a golf clubs, for God's sake! Isn't any frickin' thing made in this country anymore? Acushnet ( Titleist and Footjoy) is an American company. No wonder there's no f'ing job market in this country. I'm thinking of taking my AP1s back for a refund...but I don't know if I can find any clubs that are made in the USA. Can anyone shed any light on this? kj

  123. basfick1 says:

    Good afternoon,

    I have recently newly bought the AP1's and found that I was hitting the ball left.
    On the simulator when I bought them this proved to be the case and the clubs were 'uplofted' 2 degrees.
    To make up for the balls going left.

    I now find that I still hit them left.
    So I have taken my standard old clubs (TaylorMade OS) and hitting them straighter.

    I have asked the shop here in Stockholm if the 2 degrees UP loft they had put in origianally could be put back (delofted) to the standard.

    They mentioned with the AP1's this is not possible as they are tungsten dual cavity.

    Could you please confirm this?

    Thanks and best regards

    Bas Fick
    Stockholm, Sweden.

  1. [... To say the buzz about the AP1 and AP2 irons from Titleist is loud is an understatement of quite some size. I cannot recall a product release in the last ...]

  2. [... To say the buzz about the AP1 and AP2 irons from Titleist is loud is an understatement of quite some size. I cannot recall a product release in the last ...]

  3. [... To say the buzz about the AP1 and AP2 irons from Titleist is loud is an understatement of quite some size. I cannot recall a product release in the last ...]

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.