TheSandTrap.com  ›  Blog  ›  Review

Review

TaylorMade M2 Rescue Review

Sep. 15, 2016     By     Comments (0)

TaylorMade M2 Rescue HeroFor a number of years, TaylorMade has been known to crank out one line of clubs after another in quick succession. The entire business model has turned off some golfers who were confused by the multiple offerings out or preferred to sit and wait for the newest line of clubs they know is coming just around the corner. TaylorMade has gone away from that lately, choosing instead to market fewer clubs than they have in the past. They now just have a high-end line, the M1, and the simpler (and cheaper) M2 lineup. This doesn't mean the M2 clubs are inferior; they are still high performance clubs.

The M2 Rescue is a performer. I love hybrids; they need to be workhorses for me and I usually carry two in my bag at all times. I use them as long iron replacements and for teeing off when I don't want to hit driver. I also like to use them to try and reach a short par five in two or to advance the ball out of the rough after an errant tee shot.

TaylorMade has produced some very good hybrids in the past. How does the M2 stack up to its predecessors? Let's find out.

Voice Caddie VC300 GPS Review

Sep. 5, 2016     By     Comments (0)

The Voice Caddie 300 GPS… It'll talk to you!The first thing that strikes you about the Voice Caddie VC300 is that there is no screen… none. There have been several talking GPS rangefinders in the past, but the Voice Caddie line is the only one that comes to mind that doesn't sport at least a small LCD screen to back up the voice output.

I was not sure what to think of that. Frankly, the idea of a talking GPS has always struck me as a little gimmicky. Having a glance at a screen just seems easier than pressing a button and listening to a virtual caddie give me the yardage.

Would my predisposition against talking GPS units sour me on the VC300? Just a few trips to the course would tell.

Blast Golf Review

Aug. 26, 2016     By     Comments (1)

Blast Golf Box FrontGolf is hard (a registered trademark of this site's owner…). Even the pros do not go about improving without some help from modern technology. For some, it may be with high-end launch monitors like TrackMan or FlightScope. For most of us, the price tag of one of those units puts them out of reach. Fortunately, it seems nowadays that more electronic products are coming out for the everyday golfer that are designed to be both helpful and affordable.

One of those products in the market is the Blast Golf, created by Blast Motion. The company is a leader in motion capture and analysis technology. They create products for a variety of sports and continue to develop new ways to use motion sensor technology to help athletes improve. For golfers, their sensor is designed to detect the movements of the golf swing and analyze it, giving an indication of how well they perform in various functions of the swing and where they can improve, all while taking high-speed video.

Having a good swing trainer at home would be a boon to any golfer who works to improve their game, but is it the real deal? Let's find out.

TaylorMade M2 Fairway Wood Review

Jun. 27, 2016     By     Comments (2)

taylormade_m2_fairwayBuilding on the success of the M1, TaylorMade introduces the M2 line of woods and hybrids that feature all the benefits of the M1, apart from adjustability. Keeping with the same looks and lower price point, the M2 line targets the player looking for distance and forgiveness with a more competitive price tag.

TaylorMade M2 Irons Review

Jun. 25, 2016     By     Comments (1)

TaylorMade M2 IronThe TaylorMade M2 irons promise to do two things that should benefit a whole lot of golfers out there: hit golf balls a long way and with a high trajectory.

Actually, those two are closely related for most players. Since the majority of us don't swing at anywhere near the speed of a pro, getting the ball up in the air so it can travel as far as possible is our best bet to knock it past our buddies. So those two M2 promises are a crucial combination that a lot of players will be looking for.

So how well do they deliver? Read on.

Harry Taylor Design Wedges Review

Jun. 4, 2016     By     Comments (3)

XR16In many ways, picking a wedge can be extremely similar to picking a putter. While the designs don't vary quite as much (there are no mallet wedges), still there is a great deal of personalization and customization that is available to golfers today.

When I look into golfers' bags at their wedges, I very often see one of two scenarios. One is what I would describe as a pot luck of wedges. One wedge won at a tournament, one they bought when they lost one on vacation, really, no rhyme or reason to the selection. The second scenario is an off-the-rack set of two to three wedges made by a brand name club manufacture which may or may not (usually not) have been fit for them.

The reality is wedge fitting is important. Because of the customization, mainly the bounce and flange design differences, one wedge might be better for you based on your swing over the one you'd otherwise be tempted to pick off the rack. A great deal of craftsmanship goes into a wedge. Golfers should pay more attention.

SKLZ Golf Strong Video Program Review

May. 6, 2016     By     Comments (1)

sklz_golfstrong_coverA little while ago, SKLZ introduced the Golf Strong Video Training program, a six-week training program designed to improved distance, accuracy, and flexibility that is portable and easy to use. The two-phase Golf Strong program provides video instruction for three training sessions per week that are 30 to 45 minutes long. Let's take a look at the program.

Callaway Apex Pro 16 Irons Review

May. 4, 2016     By     Comments (4)

Apex Pro 16 IronsNowadays, it seems hard to define what a "blade" is in golf. Growing up and working most of my youth around golfers, I always considered it those muscle-backed butter knives the really good players had in their bags. Playability was very minimal and you had to strike the ball perfectly in the center to get a result close to what you wanted. Since then we have progressed into a world where some of the best players in the world are playing irons that look quite different.

With that in mind, Callaway has introduced their latest player's irons, the Apex Pro 16. These are not "blades" but irons that some of the best players in the world (see: Phil Mickelson) have had in their bags at some point in time over the past year. Callaway has attempted to please these players with molding the looks of the X-Forged '13 irons with the newest technology and materials the world has to offer.

Did Callaway succeed? Read on to find out.

Posted in: Clubs, Review Comments (4)

Callaway Apex Hybrid Review

Apr. 30, 2016     By     Comments (0)

Callaway Apex HybridCallaway trumpets the Apex Hybrid as the first hybrid for the Apex and Apex Pro player, meaning folks that use the company's top line of irons (XR Pro players probably would count, too). However, that line ranges from "game improvement" with the Apex CF 16 to the "you-better-be-darn-good" Apex Muscleback, that's a fairly wide range, and a tall order to fit that span of abilities with a single club.

Such a club would need to be reasonably easy to hit straight, and yet still be workable. It should get the ball airborne easily and let the player to control the trajectory when needed.

Does the Callaway Apex Hybrid deliver? Let's find out.

Page 1 of 3912345...102030...Last »