I find this discussion very interesting as it is very relevant to the desert golf courses we play here in Arizona. I understand that you should just not post your scores when not played under the rules of golf, but what do you do if the committee or tournament club posts the scores? Many courses here will list the "desert rule" right on the scorecards as will many (but not all) of the tournament rules sheet. What is a person to do in those situations? I never play 'desert rules' in my casual rounds but I am certainly not giving away strokes in a tournament where everyone else is taking them and since I am not the one posting those scores, what is my responsibility then. I tried to get a bogus posted score changed once that was posted from the City of Phoenix amateur tournament this year and it turned into an act of god, and in the end did not get changed. (They did not apply esc to my score) At the end of the day it does not effect my index, but trying to do the right thing took alot of time and got me nowhere. On a side note: the 'desert rule' states the boundary as where the grass line ends. That seems like a definable area no? Not that I advocate the desert rule because I don't. When my handicap was 5 or 6 strokes higher it was a godsend though and I do think it speeds up play and makes the game more enjoyable if you are spraying the ball around.
John