Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×

jacksparrow

Member
  • Posts

    8
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by jacksparrow

  1. Great post, and congratulations on your post. Like an earlier poster said, I was particularly interested in your comments after reading your yardages, because it means you are a lot like me. Just out of curiousty, what tees do you typically play from? I'm a big fan of the new Tee It Forward approach, and feel much less guilty playing from the tees closest to 6,000 yards instead of trying to macho up and play back around 6,400-6,500. How about you?
  2. This is pretty much what I was thinking. I just didn't like that the rules of the challenge force the "right" strategy to be intentionally missing putts. You get punished for playing good golf rather than being rewarded or just being able to strategize your play. One thing I'm curious about, and I'm not able to listen to the Golfgal's interviews right now in the event that this is discussed in one of the interviews, but what was the real-time timing of them arriving at the golf course and completing the challenge? I don't recall what attempt Charlotte finally made birdie on, but I know Ashley finally gave out after 11 attempts or something? Charlotte has a comment on her blog about she and Rob thinking something was up when the Ash's weren't at the finish line. Did she have reason to think that they had fallen behind in the challenge even though they got to the course first? IOW...what time did Rob and Charlotte complete the challenge and what time did Ashley finally give out? The editing, of course, makes the timing seem pretty close, but we know that's probably not the case. Just curious.
  3. Congrats to Rob and Charlotte on their win. Like many here, I enjoyed the show each week but found a lot of the editing and rule twists/surprises/changes lacking. Here's my issue with the final challenge. The "rules" of the challenge basically took away any strategy to be employed by the teams. The challenge was to complete two holes in net one under. So why was it that when both teams completed the first hole, a par 4, in net par they were forced to move on to the second hole. If I'm playing a par-4 and a par-3 for net -1 under, I'm going to play the par-4 until I birdie it and then move to the par 3. But that didn't seem to be allowed. For example...Charlotte birdied the first hole and Rob bogeyed. Why wasn't Rob allowed to go back and play for par and a net birdie on that hole? Then they would have only each had to par the second hole to complete the challenge. Instead, with a birdie in hand they had to move on to the second hole, and one of them would have to birdie that hole as well. Then...when working on the second hole for a net-birdie, why were the teams forced to leave just one player playing for birdie just because one player made a par. The players should have been allowed to keep replaying the hole as a team until they made a net birdie. It seems obvious that both Ashley and Charlotte were nearing exhaustion on their 10th, 11th attempts at the hole, and unfortunately it had dire consequences for the A's. I think that the likelihood of one player getting a ball close enough for a birdie putt is exponentially greater when two players are teeing off than when just one player is. This just seemed silly and really took the game out of the team's hands. The rules just didn't seem to make sense. But I think it can be improved for a second season, and I'll be sure to be watching. Again, congrats Rob and Charlotte (I was pulling for you all they way)!
  4. Not that it matters much, but it looked like he was in the SP-8's at the Tour Championship this weekend. Wonder why the switch?
  5. Tiger. But it would be very interesting to see Jack in his prime playing with today's technology.
  6. I've never played multiple balls in a round of golf, but I have found this summer that when we are able to play at a little quicker pace that I play much better. Something about waiting a long time between shots gets me out of synch.
  7. I am in Atlanta myself. Been playing golf sporadically for 15 years, but only seriously in the last two. Working my way from a 36+ handicap down to an unofficial 18-or-so now. Been lurking here on the Trap for months and finally decided to register and post.
  8. I don't think so. I think he's wearing the Nike Air Zoom Elite . Check out the white air sole and the little gray highlight towards the heel. These are not features of the SP-8 TW Tours. I think Paul Casey was wearing these also.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...