Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×

Gary Page

Member
  • Posts

    23
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Gary Page

  1. Gary Page

    Gary Page

  2. I bet you are a delight to play with. Rule book on ever time. If someone played out of turn, I'd suspect you'd be the type to incur a penalty on them lol. You're not getting it are you? Marking a ball with a putter is just stupid, why is it even allowed anyway? It's not different from marking your all with your knob, it's still the same result lol. To me that rule should just be a round object and nothing else. Different argument all together. Enjoy your day
  3. If you were on a golf course, and someone fell on their ball, maybe tripped over a log or something, would you call a penalty on them? Would you be that old fashioned, pedantic enough to be willing to do that? I know I wouldn't, the only time I'd call that on someone is if I felt it was blatant, or when playing in a match with a referee present. Anyone who says they would call it, are lying, because the majority wouldn't. P.S the committee has decided it was attributable, so they are right, that's the way it is, no one has cameras, no one has TV's, so it will always come down to common sense in the end. It might be wrong, but it's the truth. Is't that the problem here? Rule book allows marking with a putter, but not falling over and knocking your ball. The putter sounds more risky to me mate. Next time I'll mark my ball with my finger and see what people say. Rules are rules, but some are just too far for me. It was reversed before the competition closed, this doesn't apply. I believe and can't quote, the RANDA advised them they can reverse the penalty if they deem fit to do so. They advised them on it, what they said I'm not sure on that.
  4. They had his permission, and he agreed to the new ruling. I am pretty sure any committee can reverse any decision before the closure of the competition. Please not Tiger Woods in the Masters. Signed for a card lower than what he actually scored, still got in, My Fathersigned for a higher score, so could never ever be DQ'd for it. I wasn't on the green when this happened, however I don't think it's clear cut the guy slipped and nudged the ball, while pretty much on his knees marking the ball. I don't care what they rules say, that's attributable in my eyes. He was actually marking it while he nudged the ball, so they've obviously agreed it was. He beat me in the Last 16, which I'm annoyed at. He's off 5, I'm 0, so a shock win, however I think he's got a serious point to prove. One thing was, the whole committee and club have backed him on it, and anyone who is heard passing blame onto my father will be banned This is a huge thing because A) it shows the committee are going to take the hit, and B) they respect my father as an honest player. I love the fact our captain has said that, because it's something I didn't expect. I love golf, but sometimes, it's far too complicated, and it's why people are put off by it. Common sense is usually the best option.
  5. How's it not pointless? You're allowed to mark a ball with a putter, and if it moves you can replace it, but falling on a ball or slipping, and nudging it, is classed as a penalty. For me the marking with the putter is far more suspect to cheating, as people could just be going about nudging their ball with their putter while they mark it. Just saying!!
  6. Yes this fits, however the putter wasn't dropped, it was next to the ball, the toe of the ball hit it, so technically he could have been going into to mark it with his putter, even though he wasn't, people could still easily say that '' I bent down to mark with putter ''. Anyway to me it is the most pointless rule in the game, because either way, you have to replace it, and what advantage would it gain if you moved it? Only thing I can think of is to move it closer, but that's a different argument all together. The rule was noted as under 20.1 and reversed, and to note I wasn't playing with him, and he called it on himself, only for the committee to reverse it, so what else is he going to do? Say no thanks, he just said OK thanks for letting me know and moved on. This does make some clarification, but in all honesty, the term attribute effort in marking is not clear enough, that must have to come down to the committee deciding whether or not it was, and they obviously have, between discussion of his playing partners and himself. Some people grumbled over it. Sadly there's a lot of handbags at our golf club. As far as I'm concerned if someone is honest, and for what it was, a bloody 1 foot putt, after missing the three footer, I'd be like '' Yes that's fine, if that's the rule, I'm not complaining, because if his putter didn't slip on the green while bending down, i'd not be Q anyway ''. Thanks for all the information. Very good forum! If they were to receive no penalty for accidental kicking of the ball, then they could replace it closer to the hole, deeming that as closer. I was saying that's why we need these rules, because people would take advantage of it. For what it's worth, there are shit load of rules, some are fantastic, some are pointless.
  7. Interesting discussion. What happens if a white marker post is clearly removed from the ground, and the ball would be in play if this post was present? visible square hole where it should be. This was years ago, went back to tee as the post being missing would have it out of bounds. Just had to assume the greenekeepers had moved this purposely.
  8. Hypothetical Scenario that I noticed in a game once. If you're ball is in play, but a large fence, net or boundary is out of bounds, and isn't a boundary for the course ( the white posts are ) can a free drop be giving? So pretty much can you stand out of bounds, and hit a shot with the ball laying in bounds? What is the ruling on a large net, pole that is outwith the course. I mean you'd just have to hit the shot assuming it wasn't there, however how can you take an unplayable lie anyway, when this object is actually out of bounds. Probably an easy answer to that.
  9. But how is it? It can't be, it states in that meaning of attributable that, putter would be to the side, marking the ball with one hand, and moving ball with hand or equipment would not incur a penalty. Unless this is trying to say marking the ball with your putter is acceptable, that would make less sense, considering we could all do that and say '' Oops moved it with my putter while marking it with my putter '' so to sum it up, it's better to mark with your putter lol? Kicking the ball is different, because that's not an attributable marking procedure is it, where as putter to one side, and leaning down to mark with your hand is. It just seems hilarious that marking a ball with a putter is '' Equipment '' so no penalty, but slipping while marking, hitting with the same type of equipment that is allowed to mark it incurs a penalty. Certainly not a clear cut rule. I still think it was the correct one, they decided this anyway, and went ahead with it, but I do understand why we have these crazy rules, because people would start taking advantage and kicking the ball etc. There has to be more to this, any examples of guys on tour that have slipped while marking ball?
  10. Using a coin, under rule 20-1 you should read it, then come back see what you think. Just trying to get a feeler out here. I'm 200% positive it's not a penalty. Only time it is, is when you move the ball with equipment when not attempting to mark the ball.
  11. Hi All, I have a question that I know the rule too, however would like peoples ' First thought ' answer so I can get an idea of what the majority of golfers think. So my father was on the 9th green yesterday in our Club C 2nd Round. He missed a putt from inside 5 feet, then went to mark it from about a foot, however he slipped while in the process knocking the ball with his putter. He replaced the ball with his playing partners in agreement, and tapped out. At this point he assumed he'd been giving a penalty, but wanted clarification after his round. The club committee made the decision that it was a penalty under rule 18-2. All happy, he accepted it, and moved on ( he even told his partners he knocked the ball), as they hadn't seen it. So he handed is card and signed over to the match committee on their decision. Anyway, the following morning, the committee were doing the results, and reviewed the decision, and realised they'd unfairly penalised my dad, therefore reversing the rule, which fell under 20-1 (when a player moves the ball or marker by accident while trying to mark the location on the green, no penalty will incur and ball must be replaced). All great my dad was happy, and the club changed his score to this, under the guidance of the R & A. His score was then 75 Gross without the wrongly applied penalty. So this actually meant my dad qualified for the club in 15th position, putting out someone on the same total (157). This has caused quite a riff and two people have complained to the club (one of which it doesn't even affect). My question is really, what would everyone assume this rule would be, if not already aware? To add to this, my father drew myself in the last 16 knockout, as I was 2nd seed. I just feel terrible for him because I think he's done all the right things, but it was the club who called the wrong ruling, not himself, so reversing it seems totally plausible, and within the rules of golf.
  12. I play off 0, and have done for several years. Sometimes I go back up to 1, and one one occasion went back up to 2. However Scratch is where I have been mostly since around 2008, with a spell of 2009,2010 at +1. Anyway, back when I was off +1 I practice at least 3 times a week, with medals on the weekend. Now I would say I practice 9-12 holes once per week, with a competition day on either Wednesday or Saturday, and sometimes both. I have had a very solid season, winning two out of three of our major club competitions I also include my rounds on a Saturday as practice. Even though I'm playing for my handicap, it is a still a round of golf where I can keep my swing going. So three times a week, two times minimum for me. I would be mainly interested on hearing what everyone thinks, and to add to the discussion to include if you feel practice helps, and your strengths and weaknesses in the game. I'll start - My main strength is driving. My mid-irons are very solid, and my long irons are consistent. I have a good short game, with solid bunker play. However my main weakness is putting. I don't three putt, and don't miss many inside 3 feet, but I never hole enough from inside 20 feet. If I had a putt from 8 feet + I'd regard it as a 50/50 chance of holing it. I average around 31 putts per round. It's something I work on out on the course and it has improved,but I've always found putting the hardest part even from when I first started the game. It's still better than most of Cat 1 golfers, but it probably falls short of what a scratch golfer should putt like If I had 210 yards, with a 4 iron, I'd hit the green more times than I would holing a 15 foot putt.
  13. We do have determined tie breakers, but it's what we have been used to over the years, we all just expect it to be better last round, or back 9 count back if tied. I just really mean if they wanted to do play-offs they would have to introduce that and notify everyone before the tournament actually starts. They didn't do that, so I'm not going to accept a play off, and rightly so. We have an Open every year as well, and I also won that, so I Well my name will be on the trophy ;)
  14. It's 4 rounds, picking the three best scores of 4. The ruling last year was the player with the better last round wins, if that was tied on the same day, it would be a count back. I was told the competition generating myself as the outright winner. I was then asked if I would have considered a play off, to which I said NO. The reason I said no was because last year the champion won in the same circumstances. The only reason I was asked personally was because the runner up last year (also tied) was not happy about there being no play off. On this occasion, my opponent hadn't completed a score the final round, so I won on better last round. I also had the lowest round of 65, and won on that. If it came down to my opponent's final counting round, and my final counting round, which were both 71, I had him on the back 9 anyway. So on all three possible tie breakers I have 100% won. It's always been count backs in our club championships and my opponent actually told the committee that if it has been that way, they shouldn't change it. So he has effectively agreed honestly to determine me the winner. He could have been difficult and said '' Play-Off'' Rounds in order: Me = 73 - 65 - 74 - 71 Opponent = 68 - 70 - 71 - NR Both come to a total of 209, and obviously I've won it on better last round that we both played in. It's pretty much fair in my eyes. This is our Stroke play championship and yes it's a proper club championship with set dates. Our Club Championship is Matchplay, with two rounds Stroke Q. Top 16 Q for that with top 8 being seeded. It's also worth mentioning this is our third year of introducing our Stroke Play Championship and 209 beat the previous years winning total of 2013. As I lost in the Semi Finals of the Matchplay Championship this was something I really wanted to win.
  15. No play off on the day, nor the following day. Would have to be the tied payers with the lowest round wins, or better last round, if tied, lowest round.
  16. We had our clubs Annual strokeplay championship today. I shot a 71, and finished joint 1st. It is a 4 round even throughout the year and the best 3 of 4 scores from each round are added to your total. My best three rounds were 73, 65, 71 (-4). My opponent who I tied with was 68,70, 71. The problem is my opponent NR'd in the final round today, but it didn't matter because he had three rounds posted. Would the winner be decided on better last counting round? My opponents last counting round being 71 in the 3rd round and mines being 71 today in the 4th round. It would then go onto a back 9 countback. My opponent could have not played today and his last round would have still been 71. I have no idea how it works out. Can anyone point me in the direction of a rule?
  17. Fair point. I like him and hope he wins one next season, leave the masters for Rory so I can see a three in a row majors win for a European! How do you get all those symbols on your profile? What's in the bag stuff?
  18. After Ricky's fantastic major season can he continue that form into next season & win? Or is he going to be a Garcia type of contender?
  19. Typically a 'fade' would be shorter than a draw, as it will land softer and roll less. However I know for certain that a power fade could go as far a draw. If you want to hit a big slider with a fade shape then you can seriously bomb it out there. also depending on the lie of the hole fairway a fade may be the correct shot for the ball to go further.
  20. I think I would have felt the same but to come out on top against the odds is more thrilling than anything I've ever won. I think it helps us enjoy the game more , knowing that when you're almost down & out, out of moves that you can still comeback & restore your pride. The same goes for playing in your first important match, it surely would only leave us with positive memories. It's probably worth saying that I was 5 up through 8 in our final summer league game last year & only needed a half point to secure our 3.5, 2.5 win & I was taking down the 18th hole. The guy birdied 9,10,12,13,15,16,17. I needed a birdie on 17 to keep it all square. I didn't crumble, god I didn't even make a bogey on the back 9, but using that in my head I knew I had to dig deep! Chances of it happening again.....well I'd rather not be in the position of 5 down through 6 EVER again haha! Hope you enjoy your golf & go on to do well for your golf club, I'm 27 now but remember my first winter league games as a Junior, I got beat a lot of the time but still enjoyed it, but it's not ideal. Great that you can win your first competitive team match. Something not many can say they have done! Cheers!
  21. I had our clubs 5th summer league tie & it was a must win game. If we now win our last game then will be champions, as well as a draw if we fail to win. I was 5 down after 6 to a player who was -3 & I was +2. At that point it's safe to say you don't expect to win but you will try none the less. I hate giving up & as soon as I get one hole back I know he might get nervous, which he did. So I then went on to win the 7th, 8th & 9th to finish 2 down through the turn. I then won the 12th to a par (which is a very long hole), 13th to a birdie, 14th to a birdie & then 17th to a birdie to win my game 2 & 1. It's safe to say I need to start better in match play. It is such a great feeling & I wanted to share that on here. Has anyone had the same results?
  22. So using that example to see what I would shoot hitting Rory's ball. I'd be able to make two or three more birdies based on the fact I'd be hitting more short shots into greens I know well enough! I'd say I'd shoot 70 or less
  23. Well around my home course (Par 71) where I average 73.74 for this season. I am going to use Mcilory for this analysis. I'm going to use a system where I use my highest % of misses left & right of the fairway to determine what Mcilory would shoot. 1st Par 4 (I miss right more, possibly into trees) - Par/Bogey 2nd Par 4 (I miss very rarely) - Birdie 3rd Par 4 (hard to miss) - Birdie 4th Par 3 (Miss right) - Par 5th Par 4 (Drivable par 4, I miss more left which is in the bushes) - Par/Bogey 6th Par 5 (I miss left) - Birdie 7th Par 3 ( Depends on my shot) - Par 8th Par 4 (Miss Left) - Par 9th Par 4 (Miss right) - Par 10th Par 5 (Miss right into bunkers) - Par 11th Par 3 (Miss right of a short green surrounded by bunkers - Par/Bogey 12th Par 4 (Miss left into semi thick rough) Par/Bogey 13th Par 4(Miss right into trees) - Par/Bogey 14th Par 3 (Miss right) - Par/Bogey 15th Par 4 (Miss left into semi rough) - Par 16th Par 4(Easy fairway to hit) Birdie/Par 17th Par 4(Can drive green) - Birdie 18th Par 5 (Miss left into Semi, leaves short iron into green) - Eagle/Birdie So on that basis & using my worse stat shots then I reckon with Rory's talent then I reckon he'd finish my ball out in anything between 64(-7) & 71 (E). My dispersion of misses is quite good so I'm always in play & able to attack pins from such position.
  24. I scored 77 (+6) in round 1 and finished up with a 71 (Level( in round 2 making me third best seed. So i ask how do you guys prepare for each stage of knockouts and how do you go bout winning the thing or do you just turn up play and see what happens I would prefer players who have won their own championships to comment here please, I have lost in four finals in the past and I'm only 26 and I have only won one Stroke Play Championship with Scores of 73 76 on a very windy day @ Drumoig golf club Gary
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...