IGNORED

Golf woes

Note: This thread is 6467 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hey folks,
I decided to make this post because I’m looking for a little bit of experience, and maybe insight, from others as to situations similar to mine. I’m pretty new here so I don’t expect anyone to know me but I’m in a sort of a “golf funk” right now. My index is 3.2 which to me is somewhat misleading given my take on the general population’s view of what a 3.2 should consist of (you know, always shooting par and whatnot . While I have been playing golf since 7 years of age (27 years), I have gone through periods of drought where I may have only played 6 to 8 times a year, mainly through college and when my kids were really small. I have now gotten to a point where I have been able to join a country club and play once or twice a week and maybe hit balls or practice putting once a week. I have moments where I play really well and can shoot around par but I also throw in the occasional 85 or so. I feel as though I shouldn’t shoot above 80 on most courses, primarily because I consider myself a thinker on the course, know quite a bit about the swing and game, and am capable of most shots required but most of my playing partners have this “image” built up in their minds that I’m this scratch golfer and act like they’re attending my funeral when I shoot one of these “balloon” rounds. This just adds to the image in my mind that something is very wrong and basically gets me thinking that I’m not where I should be. Logic says that if I can only play once a week and practice once a week then I probably should have lower expectations. If that is the case then I guess I have to accept it but the competitive side of me won’t allow this so I ask anyone, willing to contribute, for thoughts, ideas and maybe a few words of encouragement.