In my last round, I hit a shot that just rolled back off the green into the water. I walked around the hazard to where my ball fell in, determined it was unplayable, and went back to hit my approach shot again. I couldn't tell you if I was within 6ft of where my previous shot had been, but I played it to my best guess, and moved on. It was close enough to be as the rules intended. Since no one but Tiger even realized that he was 2 yards behind his last spot, I think it was close enough to be "as intended". Since we are debating how the rules are intended to be interpreted to determine whether or not Tiger should be DQ'd, he clearly should not be.