IGNORED

Golf Lessons??

Donnie_Brasco
Note: This thread is 5541 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I am a self taught bogey golfer, nothing to write home about, but decent enough to play a round of golf with the better players around..

I am ready for some help from a professional, so I had a few questions for anyone who has experience with lessons..

1st. Has anyone taken lessons from an Instructor in Los Angeles?
2nd. Did you take private or group lessons?
3rd. Is there certain things I should inquire about before choosing an instructor?
4th. Did the lessons stick with you, or did you fall back into your old habits quickly after?
5th and Final. WAS IT WORTH THE MONEY?

Any and all info would be greatly appreciated.

Bogey isn't good enough anymore, it's time to take it up a notch.

Donnie, I can help you with 4 out 5.... I am not a bogey golfer yet, but working on it. I started to play in Dec-08, picked up a few books, and read as much material on swing mechanics, approach, position, etc. Bottom line, is that I managed to pick up a few bad habits in the process, but not bad enough to prevent me from playing, and enjoying the game. So my recommentation to you is the following:

1. Not a clue (I live in south florida)

2. Private lessons may be best for you for at least one lesson. This will allow an instructor to concentrate on you a see where you need to work on. Group lessons and clinics , I feel, are good, when all you are looking for is a few pointers.