IGNORED

How do you swing the club?

Dr_Fu_Manchu
Note: This thread is 5528 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I am about 90% self taught and over the last 3 years of playing I have always started my downswing with my hips moving to the left, followed by moving my chest and shoulders, allowing my arms to come along for the ride. I don't know exactly where I came up with this, but I have always relied on my core to power my swing.

However, today, I started toying with getting my arms and hands more actively involved. Same sequence, but using my arms to add some power. I added about 10 yards to my irons and 20+ with my driver, but my consistency was off. That might be because it is a new swing or because this is not a proper way to swing the club.

I am a pretty athletic guy, who has lifted weights for over 15 years so I have the strength in my arms and figured I should use it.

Should I have been doing this all along? How do you swing the club?

I too am about 99% self taught. I continuously get contradictory advice. Everything you read says start with your hips. The pro at my local clubs tells me to let my hands and arms move my body and not the other way around. Although, I think he may be telling me this because I sometimes let my body get waaay out in front, which is obviously bad. So I think hes telling me this because in my mind, I think im starting the downswing with my hands and arms, when in actuality im subconsciously still starting with my hips, just not getting them to far out front. Does this make any sense?

In my bag:

R9
Burner 3w
Burner 5w Burner Plus 4I-SW 60* LW, 52* GW Rossa Spider putter