IGNORED

Starting golf with old sports injuries?

Note: This thread is 4691 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

First off, I am new to this forum and new to golf. I have been playing "seriously" for about a 3 weeks. Now that I'm out of college I wanted something to get me out of the house and basically get some exercise and relax. I played lax in high school and club lax at my university where I was also heavily involved in powerlifting. This combination lead to some back injuries that still haunt me at times, multiple broken bones in my right hand which has arthritis in it now, and an arthroscopic shoulder surgery which took away a good chunk of my collar bone and 75% of the cartilage in my right shoulder with my left shoulder needing surgery if any future pain or injuries come about.

With that said, I am a self taught golf player who is willing to spend the money to take a few lessons. I go to the driving range 3-4 times a week to hit a bucket or two and my fiance will come along and watch my swings to tell me what I am doing different from swing to swing. My typical drives will go about 280-300, but I would say if I hit 10 balls, then 3 or 4 would be slices and I never hit draws. I can't get the 3 and 4 irons down solid yet but my 5i & 6i will typically carry 180-200 with my 7i carrying 150-160.