IGNORED

Fairway woods #3 and #5

Note: This thread is 6042 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I'm a newbie so I appreciate everyone's opinion. A friend of mine gave me some inexpensive Tour Edge woods but now its time to buy my own. On ebay I saw Orlimar VT830 quite cheap are they any good. Should there be something that I should be looking at.

I'm not good enough to really appreciate one thing from another however whatever I buy now I plan on keeping for a while. Any thoughts?

In my opinion that would not be an upgrade over the Tour Edges. But whats wrong with the Tour Edges?

"You can live to be a hundred if you give up all the things that make you want to live to be a hundred." Woody Allen
My regular pasture.

They belong to my friend and he lent me them to me while I started playing, however he wants them back to give them to his son.

I see.

I'm not good enough to really appreciate one thing from another however whatever I buy now I plan on keeping for a while. Any thoughts?

This was the tough part for me too; I didn't mind spending the money but I didn't want to do it multiple times as my game improves. I wasn't sure I could actual do that so I decided to get the most bang for the buck.

I looked for clubs discounted from mfg/models that had previously listed on Golf Digest's Gold and Silver lists. That at least gave me somewhat of an idea of what manufacturers I could trust. I scoured the online discount houses and ended up with some MacGregor woods from RockBottomGolf that have served me extremely well and I only have $50 a club invested. As my game improves, future upgrades will be a little less painful money wise. I hope that helps.

"You can live to be a hundred if you give up all the things that make you want to live to be a hundred." Woody Allen
My regular pasture.