Jump to content

iacas

Administrator
  • Content Count

    68,287
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    842

Everything posted by iacas

  1. There have been other holes pointed out. The first four that spring to mind: You've not defined "approach" You're not treating like situations alike. That's at the core of "equity." You're punishing someone else because, what, wind? Or a careless other player? You're not "playing the course as you found it." It's not an opinion. The spirit of the game is defined, and it means: act with integrity (including following the Rules) show consideration for others take care of the course That's it. That's the "spirit of the game." There's no "spirit of the rules." When people say things like that, it's usually - as is the case with you - what people "feel" like things should be. That's not how the Rules work. If the rock is large enough that a smaller player cannot move it, should every player in the field be precluded from moving it? No. That's a ridiculous position to take. No, it's not. Go ahead and tell me which of the three bullet points it violates. The answer? None. It's not about acting with integrity, showing consideration for others, or taking care of the course. You'd have a better case if you just pointed out that would be against the ACTUAL rules of golf. No, it doesn't. Your alternative is lousy. The OP's question has been answered.
  2. Or, Bill, don't over-think it and just set up with the face a little open.
  3. @Bonvivant, just stop. You're arbitrarily making up Rules based on what you think makes sense, and ignoring all of the holes people are poking into it. Furthermore, there's really no such thing as "the spirit of the rules." There's a thing called "the spirit of the game," and part of that is playing under the Rules, but the rules are basically all made up, so as long as you're following them, whatever they are, you're obeying the spirit of the game. It's not "against the spirit of the rules" for Tiger to have spectators move a large loose impediment (even if they move it the wrong direction), and it's not "against the spirit of the rules" (or the game) to take a drop from a shitty lie into a great lie because your back right heel is on a cart path. Nor is it bad of you, if you have a great lie, to opt not to take relief because you're on the same cart path. There are just Rules, and while the Rules are all somewhat arbitrary, they do follow some guiding principles, and they do strive to eliminate or minimize grey areas while maintaining equity, and your proposed rules for a situation you admit isn't that frequent are almost none of those things.
  4. Day 28 - January 27, 2020 Full swing work again. This is going to be almost everything that I do. Mirror work today as I was stuck at home most of the day doing computer stuff.
  5. So now the Rules have to contemplate what "approaching the green" means, and it means that any time a good player is within 230-250 yards of the hole, perhaps, that they have to ensure that the flagstick is in the hole, lest they be penalized?
  6. Yeah, and it's great when it works that way. I've seen it at two clubs that I can remember. One of them was Allegheny Country Club near Pittsburgh. They get about 30 rounds a day. 🙂
  7. So here's one way to think through the rules… when you find yourself saying "yeah, but at some point… it crosses that line," and you consider that the line would exist in different places for different people… then you're likely looking at what would, if written, be a shitty rule. In other words, you might draw the line at 25 yards, but a PGA Tour player might draw the line at 90, or 130 yards, no? So how would you write that rule? Turns out that most Rules don't have these grey areas. They're pretty black and white. In this case, unless you did something to put it there, or had someone put it there, or other similar acts, you lucked out.
  8. Right, so: That's not that many players. "No tee times" can work for small clubs. Like I said, you effectively still have tee times, they're just unwritten. That's not quite the same as what Charlie is talking about.
  9. Think about it… it's quite likely it could hurt you, too, and how could the Rules penalize someone if they play a blind shot toward a green and didn't know the flagstick wasn't in the hole?
  10. In other words, you have unwritten tee times.
  11. When 70% (8.031/11.466) of your strokes gained (albeit for just three of the four rounds, as Torrey Pines North has only basic data) come from putting, you're an outlier. I read that Mark himself said that he'd never putted better in his life, and odds are strongly in favor that he'll never again gain eight strokes putting over 54 holes again this year. That's one hot putter! We know a few things: Over the long haul (more than a one-tournament sample size), players get ~39% of their scoring separation from approach shots, ~28% off the tee, ~19% around the greens (<100 yards), and ~14% putting. Over the short term, it's relatively easy to pick up or lose strokes putting, because of the binary nature of putting: a holed 33-footer gains 1.0 strokes, and a missed 8-footer loses 0.5. Despite contributing the least over the long term, putting is the most fluctuating of the four categories. You can't practice getting "hot" with a putter. Putting generally contributes about 35% of the strokes gained in winning an event, so 70% is a REAL extreme outlier.
  12. So long as you didn’t put it there or have it put there, etc., then yup.
  13. As this is the Rules of Golf forum, let's keep the answers in that line of thinking. The answer is that the flagstick is movable obstruction. Thus, if someone carelessly leaves it out, or the wind knocks it out, you can choose to play up to the green with it lying there. If it happened to direct your ball closer to the hole, good for you. There's no penalty and no requirement to replace it at any time, though you can move it at any time. You cannot specifically put it somewhere to aid you in your play, though, and of course anyone else can move it. And of course, etiquette says that you should replace it when you're finished with the hole. Failure to do this repeatedly could result in a DQ in a tournament if the Committee decided it was intentional and a serious breach of etiquette. But the next time that occurs will probably be the first, so…
  14. Needs a score there. You too @boogielicious. 🙂 The FedExCup is also the Tour Championship winner, so they get a score in 2019 and beyond (until it changes again).
  15. Ditto for me, largely because you're not also trying to hit a golf ball.
  16. It can work at a minority of clubs. Not at most.
  17. Meh. Ball isn’t completely dropped. But it’s awfully low to the ground.
  18. It’s nice in theory but doesn’t really seem to happen in real life.
  19. I think the ghost effect is more like when you push up your arms against the sides of a door frame and then step out and your arms just keep going up. But that's a result of residual chemical transmitters, I think. So this is slightly different?
  20. They were at Downing two summers ago when they had no tee times.
  21. Yeah, but that one hit the liner and popped back out the front side. It's more like this one: Unlucky either way.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...