-
Posts
24 -
Joined
-
Last visited
Everything posted by RollTide
-
I was B-FIt for Bridgestone Tour B330-S golf balls - Tiger Woods -15 - Henrik Stenson - 15 - Rickie Fowler -15
-
David is an excellent analyst, there's no denying that.
-
Looking back, it can't be who was first-in for the previous round (round 2), since Grace finished 4-5 hours before Johnson, because I can now see that it is definitely Johnson who will be in the final pairing. So I guess the question is, is it in fact the player that the better score going into round 2, or is there some other criteria?
-
Watching the finish of the 3rd round tonight (2015 U.S. Open), there are 4 guys tied at for 1st at -4. I know that normal order of precedence is the order in which the golfers finished their round. Obviously Jason Day finished well ahead of the others, so I understand that he would be in the final pairing. Dustin Johnson and Branden Grace were in the same group (and both finished at -4), but Johnson tapped in before Grace, so I presumed Johnson would be in the final pairing (I believe Johnson actually is in the final pairing but continue reading...). However I did some research and read that if two players finish with the same score and played in the same group, the order reverts back to the player who had a better score to start the day (see Tiger Woods/Sergio Garcia 2013 Players I believe). In this case though, both Dustin and Branden started the day with the same score. So I have a question? 1) Would the next tie breaker in ordering revert back to who finished first in round 2,or would it be the player that had a better score going in to round 2?
-
According to the rules it was.
-
You could carry 30 clubs with you and let the situations on the golf course dictate which 14 clubs you use, but that wouldnt be fair.
-
I dont think after sneaking off into the bushes to dispose of the club falls into "immediately".
-
Having 15 clubs isn't an advantage?
-
Unless he had already hidden all you wedges in a nearby bush.
-
Rule 6-1 - The player and his caddie are responsible for knowing the Rules. During a stipulated round, for any breach of a Rule by his caddie, the player incurs the applicable penalty . Rule 4-4c applies to the caddie as well.
-
One might argue that the following rule left them with no choice but disqualification. Rule 4-4c - Any club or clubs carried or used in breach of Rule 4-3a(iii) or Rule 4-4 (this rule deals with exceeding 14 clubs) must be declared out of play by the player to his opponent in match play or his marker or a fellow-competitor in stroke play immediately upon discovery that a breach has occurred . The player must not use the club or clubs for the remainder of the stipulated round. Penalty For Breach of Rule 4-4c - Disqualification Vinson clearly did not declare the club to the opponent nor notify Lara (and here's the key word) immediately upon discovery of the 15th club; hence the disqualification. Had he have done so, the 4 stroke penalty could have been assessed and Lara could have continued play. At least that's how I interpret this rule.
-
Rule 33-7 - If a Committee considers that a player is guilty of a serious breach of etiquette, it may impose a penalty of disqualification under this Rule. They caddie tried to dump the club in the bushes after Lara had played two holes with it. I'd call that a serious breach of etiquette. And he better find a new caddie soon considering this guy was banned indefinitely from the tour.
-
He could potentially play in 15 more majors before he turns 40. Let's don't treat him as being over the hill just yet.
-
snap hooking the ball off the tee
RollTide replied to duffedit's topic in Instruction and Playing Tips
I hope for your sake that you're just joking about club face being the sole determinant of where the ball ends up. If not, do yourself a favor and go google ball flight laws, do a little reading, then come back and write a recovery post about how you were just joking. -
They value walking the golf course, cause it's always been a part of the game. I highly doubt they believe one can get the ball in the hole using fewer strokes by riding in a cart. If it makes you feel any better, the highs are supposed to be in the low to mid 70s this weekend, so I would venture to guess even someone who is not a long distance runner like yourself will be able to finish the round without being so physically fatigued that they can't hit a golf ball 70 or so times.
-
No, as I said ,"if someone is able to walk, it's good for the sport to have them do so". You don't seriously think it's advantageous for someone to ride do you?
-
I'll say it again...riding in a golf cart has no competitive advantage over walking. Walking is a "tradition" and if someone is able to do so, it's good for the sport to have them do so. You know what else is good for the sport? Making arrangements (that offer no competitive advantage) to allow a great golfer to compete. They're not cutting a bigger hole for him, they're not giving him a remote controlled ball, they're simply allowing him approach his ball in a slightly different manner than everyone else.
-
It applies to anyone who thinks it's a competitive advantage to ride. Although most agree there is no advantage to riding over walking.
-
I'd love to hear someone that ends up finishing lower than Casey explain how they would have finished ahead of him had they not become fatigued due to walking. Can you imagine? That's laughable lol.
-
The Almighty Chip Shot with the Driver
RollTide replied to Paddy Gilmore's topic in Instruction and Playing Tips
When I hit these, my swing is usuall too steep. -
Also, I think the reason people rave about Luke's short game is because he is 1st on tour in scrambling, scrambling from rough, and total putting. Maybe I'm wrong though.
-
He still is #1 in total driving. No it's not. He's 8th on tour in Driving Accuracy.
-
FWIW, Tiger hasn't drove the ball as straight as he has this year for an entire season since 2002 (pre Hank Haney).