Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

bridge in my backswing


Note: This thread is 6204 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
there was bridge in my backswing, my club would hit the rail on my backswing,... my ball was outside the hazard, the biridge was inside the hazard,... do I get relief,... and a free drop 1 club leghth,..? or do I have to take a stroke and get to move it 2 club lengths,...?

either way, can I move straight back on a line from the pin,...? or stay within the club lengths?

scuba

Posted
It's an unusual circumstance. I may be wrong but I'd be happy to proceed as if the bridge were an immovable obstruction see below. If you had access to a rules official I'd be asking for a ruling on this one to make sure everyone was happy, otherwise I'd play out one ball from where it lay and play out another ball treating the bridge as an immovable obstruction and record both scores and present the situation to the match committee at the completion of the round. Can't get yourself in to any trouble doing this!

24-2. Immovable Obstruction

a. Interference
Interference by an immovable obstruction occurs when a ball lies in or on the obstruction, or when the obstruction interferes with the player's stance or the area of his intended swing. If the player's ball lies on the putting green, interference also occurs if an immovable obstruction on the putting green intervenes on his line of putt. Otherwise, intervention on the line of play is not, of itself, interference under this Rule.

b. Relief
Except when the ball is in a water hazard or a lateral water hazard, a player may take relief from interference by an immovable obstruction as follows:

(i) Through the Green:If the ball lies through the green, the player must lift the ball and drop it, without penalty, within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. The nearest point of relief must not be in a hazard or on a putting green. When the ball is dropped within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, the ball must first strike a part of the course at a spot that avoids interference by the immovable obstruction and is not in a hazard and not on a putting green.

Posted
  chingali said:
It's an unusual circumstance. I may be wrong but I'd be happy to proceed as if the bridge were an immovable obstruction see below. If you had access to a rules official I'd be asking for a ruling on this one to make sure everyone was happy, otherwise I'd play out one ball from where it lay and play out another ball treating the bridge as an immovable obstruction and record both scores and present the situation to the match committee at the completion of the round. Can't get yourself in to any trouble doing this!

Thank you,... I'm not sure I get it, but thanks,...


Posted
Also keep in mind that I am just assuming that the bridge would be an immovable obstruction as they generally are. For further clarification you can check the scorecard as most courses will have them listed.

The following is an example from the back of a scorecard I am looking at:

5. IMMOVABLE OBSTRUCTIONS. Staked trees, Windmill, Pump Motor, Bridges, Protective Screens, Sponsor Signs, Sand Boxes.

Sometimes too a course will have temporary immovable obstructions in place in which case they will usually be noted on a board outside the starters box or on the proshop wall or similar. And if you are playing in a decent sized tournament information on temporary immovable instructions is handed to you at the tournament briefing and it'll include things like grandstands, sponsors tents and if it's a really big tournament it might include tv towers, tv vans and that sort of thing.

Posted
  chingali said:
Also keep in mind that I am just assuming that the bridge would be an immovable obstruction as they generally are. For further clarification you can check the scorecard as most courses will have them listed.

Even I know this,... The bridge is in the hazard,... no relief,.... period,... whether he or is ball is out of the hazard,...

Posted
The rule says nothing about whether the obstruction lies in or outside of a hazard, only that if the ball lies outside of the hazard the player may take relief.

Brad Eisenhauer

In my bag:
Driver: Callaway Hyper X 10° | Fairway Wood: GigaGolf PowerMax GX920 3W (15°) | Hybrid: GigaGolf PowerMax GX920 3 (20°)
Irons: Mizuno MX-25 4-PW | Wedges: GigaGolf Tradition SGS Black 52°, 56°, 60° | Putter: GigaGolf CenterCut Classic SP3

Ball: Titleist ProV1x or Bridgestone B330S


Posted
I was unable to find a decision dealing with this issue, but i did find this info in the "FAQ" at:

http://www.usga.org/questions/faqs/r...idx=97&Rule;=24

"Rule 24-2

Relief from Immovable Obstructions when Ball in Water Hazard

Q. Joanne`s ball lies in a water hazard. She also has interference from an immovable obstruction. Is she entitled to relief without penalty from the obstruction?

A. No. When a ball is in a water hazard, a player is not entitled to relief without penalty from an immovable obstruction that is in or out of the water hazard. The ball must be played as it lies or the player may proceed under Rule 26-1. However, if the ball lies outside the water hazard and the immovable obstruction lies in the water hazard, a player may take relief under Rule 24-2. (See Note 1 under Rule 24-2). "

Posted
  Spalding said:
Even I know this,...

Must be a rather odd sort of bridge then if it actually ends inside the hazard, usually part of the structure of the bridge will extend out past the edge of the hazard and I am assuming that this would be the part of the bridge interfering with the persons backswing. If you have a look at a lot of scorecards you will quite often see that bridges are listed as immovable obstructions despite obviously having the main part of their structure within a hazard.

Like I said in my original post if in doubt play out two balls, the original and another one after taking whatever relief you think you are entitled to and record the scores then hand the decision over to the match committee.

Note: This thread is 6204 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    TourStriker
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 11: Worked on putting with the metronome
    • I added to total today by hopping it in on the first hole for an eagle. A short par 4, I hit 4 wood to 110. With a little breeze in my face I hit a 50 degree gap wedge to 2 feet and watched it hop into the hole for an eagle 2! 
    • Sounds good. Text me if you have any questions. You have a good setup, too, and so long as you can get good camera angles… you should be good. https://skillest.com/@iacas
    • Day 14 (September 18).  Morning practice, despite questionable weather (it's raining).   Worked on chipping at first, including run-ups with UW and PW;  I've noticed lately some of my near-GIRs are missing forward, with nothing but grass ahead of me, but 20-30 yards to the pin.  After a few misadventures putting those lately, I wanted to at least get a feeling for what a 30-yard chip shot that doesn't have the variance of my quarter lob wedge would feel like.  I still think "putt when you can putt" is right, but... I am less sure I have a 30 yard putt in me.  Range time also, of course, same routine as the past week or so (drill, 3-4 slow shots, etc).   Did not get to the putting green as it was starting to come down a bit more. Darn, it really is raining.  And I thought today would be a perfect day to play, seeing as how it's 9-18 and all.
    • I'm in the same boat.  I think the last team event I got really excited for was the 2019 Presidents' Cup.  When I first got into golf, the Ryder Cup was an event (one among many) I used to plan my schedule around to make sure I'm able to watch it.   I'm not sure I realized how close it was until I saw this thread pop up. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.