IGNORED

Student Doing Research on Golfer Attitudes

radixlecti
Note: This thread is 6961 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I am a student and a golfer. I'm researching golf consumption and the deeper meaning of why we golf. Does it say something about who we are?

I have 3 classifications of golfer. What do you think about these groups?

Socials
This group just wants to have a chance to be social, have fun, network, have personal growth among friends, and isn’t seriously concerned about a competitive score.

Fundamentals
This group is concerned about the nuances of the game: the perfect swing, the right club, the lie of the green, and the wind speed and direction. Their focus is self-competition, and improving their game. The value is to give direction to effort and energy. Excellence is a state of mind and is achieved through concentration.

Traditionals
Golf is a tradition. This subculture prefers to play with etiquette-minded golfers. Etiquette means behaving well in a social situation, and golf, above all other sports, is a social game that follows a strict code of ethics.

I think those groupings are definitely valid, at least where I'm from in Oklahoma. I had some friends (more like acquaintances) in high school that would only play golf if they had a 6 pack or two or three. They are definitely group 1 on your list. And I have seen a lot of these groups at golf courses around here, mostly courses with cheaper green fees.

But then again, there are a lot of people who just go out and play for fun without having to drink and stuff. I think that is probably me for the most part. In high school, I would get ticked off when I played bad (which was alot of the time), but nowadays I just take advantage of the times I get to play out in the beautiful nature here in Oklahoma.