IGNORED

Golf is a funny game

Heathbeef
Note: This thread is 6101 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Just thought I would share a quick story from today's golfing game. A little back story. I started playing golf my senior year (1998) at a small high school in Texas. I never played golf, but played football, baseball, basketball, and track in high school and they needed one more on the golf team. So I signed up to play and went out and bought some clubs. I was able to get my golf game in the low 90s in tournament play with just about 15 rounds into my golf.

Fast forward to the District Golf tournament. It was played at Greenbier Country Club in Moody, Tx. This place is known for being an open, easy course but never in good shape. It is truly a pasture golf course. I felt that my game was good going into the two day, 36 hole tournament. Well I blew up and shot 104. I was ticked and it put us in 3rd place (Top 2 move on). Ended up shooting an 83 the second round with a bridie on 18 to send my team to regionals. That is a story for another day. Every since that day I have wanted to go back to Greenbier and get my revenge.

I only played about 3 rounds a year while in college and got back into it the last couple of years. Right now my game has been in the 90-95 range, but I feel I am a lot better golfer (I guess we all do). I have been struggling off the tee box real bad. I mean not be able to hit it 100 yards. Well the last few rounds I have gotten the driver figured out and playing well. Today I went back to Greenbier with two of my golfing buddies. I knew I was going to smoke this course.