Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Paula's Embedded Ball at the Samsung


Note: This thread is 6618 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

  • Administrator
Posted
Round 2, Hole 16, Par 3.

Paula hits her ball towards a bunker. Nobody really sees it land.

Next time we see the ball it's buried down deep in the shaggy rough about a foot from the bunker. The announcers declare it's probably an "embedded" ball and Paula calls for an official.

Ten minutes later we see Paula placing the ball because it rolled back into the bunker when she was given relief. I guess it must have rolled more than two clublengths?

Anyway, the main question I have is this: why in the hell was she getting relief for an embedded ball? It's a desert, and the embedded ball rule only applies - under standard rules - to areas through the green where the grass is cut to fairway height or lower (i.e. fairways, fringes, tees...). So WTF? They're in the DESERT! It's not like they should have a local rule permitting embedded ball relief anywhere.

The announcers did a horrible job of explaining why this was the correct call. It must have been - a rules official oversaw the whole thing from what I can tell - but why? Why did she get relief?

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
i thought you get relief from a plugged ball anywhere....



except hazards

edit: and through the green means the entire hole except for teeing grounds and greens and hazards

edit2: I also think anytime a ball is plugged it can be considered abnormal ground conditions so thats why you get a drop from anywhere, have you ever seen someone actually hit a ball from the rough when it was plugged? It wouldnt be possible, if it was plugged far in enough

Posted
The US tours use a local rule for embedded ball that includes any area through the green, not just closely mown areas as stated in Rule 25. I don't think the overseas tours use this variation.

Callaway AI Smoke TD Max 10.5* | Cobra Big Tour 15.5* | Rad Tour 18.5* | Titleist U500 4i | T100 5-P | Vokey 50/8* F, 54/10* S,  58/10* S | Scotty Cameron Squareback 1


  • Administrator
Posted
i thought you get relief from a plugged ball anywhere.... except hazards

No, you don't. Rule 25-2 says:

Source: USGA A ball embedded in its own pitch-mark in the ground in any closely mown area through the green may be lifted, cleaned and dropped, without penalty, as near as possible to the spot where it lay but not nearer the hole. The ball when dropped must first strike a part of the course through the green.“Closely mown area” means any area of the course, including paths through the rough, cut to fairway height or less.

Pretty much as I said. BTW, every golfer should have this bookmarked: http://usga.org/playing/rules/books/
edit2: I also think anytime a ball is plugged it can be considered abnormal ground conditions so thats why you get a drop from anywhere, have you ever seen someone actually hit a ball from the rough when it was plugged? It wouldnt be possible, if it was plugged far in enough

So you declare your ball unplayable. The USGA defines "abnormal ground conditions" as:

Source: USGA An “abnormal ground condition” is any casual water, ground under repair or hole, cast or runway on the course made by a burrowing animal, a reptile or a bird.

Paula's ball did not qualify, nor does "anytime a ball is plugged" qualify.
The US tours use a local rule for embedded ball that includes any area through the green, not just closely mown areas as stated in Rule 25. I don't think the overseas tours use this variation.

If true - and given what Paula did I suspect it is - that stinks.

Provision 4a in the local rules note allow a committee to extend the relief for an embedded ball to all areas through the green, but it says "temporary conditions" and defines them as "mud, extreme wetness, poor conditions, and protection of course." None of which applied here. Geez, if only us amateurs could have it so nice (well, those who know and play by the rules). This is practically cheating in my mind, even though it's technically not (since the committee must have made such a rule). Lame.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
I agree; you'd think that in these circumstances she would have to take an unplayable in order to drop it.

Ping G 410 10.5 ˚ Driver Ping Tour Stiff Shaft
Ping G 410 14.5˚ 3 Ping Tour Stiff Shaft
Ping G 410 19˚ Ping Tour Stiff Shaft
i 500 irons 4-UW 1/2 inch over, blue dot, NS Pro Modus 105 Stiff Shafts
Ping Stealth Wedges Wedges  54˚ 58˚

Scotty Cameron Studio Select Newport 2 34" 


Posted

Here is some confirmation from a PGA rules official on the local rule used by the tour.

http://www.pgatour.com/story/9481011/

This deserves a rep point for the effort. LOL.

Callaway AI Smoke TD Max 10.5* | Cobra Big Tour 15.5* | Rad Tour 18.5* | Titleist U500 4i | T100 5-P | Vokey 50/8* F, 54/10* S,  58/10* S | Scotty Cameron Squareback 1


Posted
Here is a little gem from 1987 that gets into the differing opinions of embedded ball from the PGA Tour, the USGA and the R&A.; Craig Stadler had to pay the price for not knowing the difference.

http://query.nytimes.com/gst/fullpag...54C0A961948260

Callaway AI Smoke TD Max 10.5* | Cobra Big Tour 15.5* | Rad Tour 18.5* | Titleist U500 4i | T100 5-P | Vokey 50/8* F, 54/10* S,  58/10* S | Scotty Cameron Squareback 1


Posted
I am just wondering what you should do in the case of an embedded ball since I have encountered this many times here in the wet ground in Alaska. Thanks for the info.

Here's what I play:

Titleist 907 D2 10.5* UST ProForce V2 76-S | Titleist 906F4 18.5* Aldila VS Proto "By You" 80-S | Titleist 585H 21* Aldila VS Proto "By You" 80-S | Titleist ZB 4-PW TTDG S300 | Bob Vokey Spin Milled Oil Can 54.10 | Bob Vokey Spin Milled Oil Can 60.08 | Scotty Cameron Red X5 33" |


Note: This thread is 6618 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.