Jump to content


Established Member
  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won


Asheville last won the day on May 31 2019

Asheville had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

185 First-Ballot Hall of Famer

About Asheville

  • Rank
    Dedicated Member

Personal Information

  • Your Location
    Asheville, NC

Recent Profile Visitors

5,574 profile views
  1. Agreed, Fred. However, this is Rules 101. 🙂
  2. This may be a RTFQ for you. It's asking about actions OFF the green. If I've misdiagnosed your reply, dig into Rule 15.1b. Take a look at Q2 again. In R15.1, you'll read "Without penalty, a player may remove a loose impediment anywhere on or off the course . . . " There are few things I despise in life, but the "auto-merge" on this site is high on the list! SEE WHAT I MEAN, THE MONSTER CONTINUES TO OBFUSCATE THE MEANINGS OF OUR REPLIES! GRRRRR
  3. What May be Moved? 1) Which of the following are not loose impediments? A. Banana peels B. Worm casts and ant hills C. Spider webs D. Dew and frost 2) Loose impediments may not be moved in the: A. Fairways and rough B. Penalty areas C. Bunkers D. None of the above 3) The player needs to be careful in moving loose impediments near their ball off the putting green, because there will be a penalty if moving them causes the ball to move. True or false? A. True B. False Some tough ones are in store for tomorrow.
  4. I agree Fred. Sometimes "we" know what "we" mean, but fail to articulate it properly. Thanks for your input. By mid-afternoon, I wasn't really happy with #7 either.
  5. One last one (I think) in this section: 7) If a player knows or believes that another player has breached or might have breached the Rules and that the other player does not recognize or is ignoring this, the player should tell the other player, the player’s marker, a referee or the Committee. Which of the following are correct? A. This only applies to match play. B. In match play, a player may silently disregard a breach of the Rules by their opponent. C. This only applies to stroke play. D. In stroke play, a player may silently disregard a breach of the Rules by another playe
  6. Erik, how do I avoid the merging of replies. Is there some time limit?
  7. I agree, Fred, that there seems to be no objection to B. I find 20.1c(3)/3 – Player May Lift Original Ball and Drop, Place or Replace It When Playing Two Balls, very interesting, too. Perhaps, the wiley player, finding his ball with a big lump of mud on it in an unmarked GUR could gain a small benefit. You pose an interesting question. I'm not certain that "informing the Committee" need wait until after the round, say in the scoring area before the scorecard has been returned. I recall, a few years ago, clearing up a 3-3 during play. I was a referee and member of the Co
  8. 4) Speaking of playing a “second ball.” What’s the procedure? A. Before making a stroke at either ball, announce your intention to play a second ball and select which one you wish to count? B. Hole out both balls? C. Inform the Committee? D. All of the above? 5) In a question in a previous thread, a player was unsure what to do when their ball was moved on the putting green. Now, you might not always be sure either, so what is your “insurance policy”? Sure, know EXACTLY how to play a second ball! How did these players do when playing a second ball? A. Unsure of the proce
  9. Rules Issues During Competition 1) Don, Mike, and Chuck were paired together in a stroke play event. Don’s tee shot ended up in a spot which, though unmarked, looked to him like it might qualify for relief as ground under repair. Mike agreed, but Chuck argued against it. Since the vote was 2 to 1, over Chuck’s objection, Don took relief and they played on. After the round in the scoring area, Chuck told the Committee member what Don had done. The Committee said what? A. “Don, you’re fine since two of the three of you agreed with your course of action.” B. “Don, add two penalty stro
  10. 4) In the rough, on my way to search for my tee shot, I spotted a ball which I didn't think was mine since mine should have been a lot further along. But, who'd pass up a shiny new TopFlite, so I picked it up and as I was putting it in by bag, I saw that it had my mark on it and therefore must be my ball. A. Honest mistake, put it back and play on; no penalty. B. Honest mistake, put it back and play on; one stroke penalty. C. Honest mistake, but since I don't know exactly where it was, I'll have to go back to the tee. 5) My tee shot stopped at the crest of a
  11. Fred, thanks for asking about the hidden thing. 🙂
  12. Hey, my golf ball moved! What must I do? 1) On the fairway, in the process of moving a pine cone my ball moved half an inch. A. A pine cone has no business being in the fairway. Replace the ball; no penalty. B. Replace the ball and add one penalty stroke. C. Play it from its new position and add one penalty stroke. D. As no one else saw the ball move, who am I to judge? 2) On the putting green, as I walked onto the green to mark my ball, the dang thing just took off and rolled 10 feet further from the hole. A. I’m entitled to the position my ball was
  13. A rut made by a tractor is always ground under repair because it is a hole made by the maintenance staff whether or not it is marked as ground under repair. A. True B. False
  14. A player hit their tee shot towards a road defined as out of bounds. The player then properly plays a provisional ball. After searching for 1 minute, the player is unable to find the original ball and therefore plays the provisional ball from a location nearer the hole than where the original ball was estimated to be. While walking towards the hole the player then finds the original ball on the course much closer to the hole than expected. The player must: A. Continue play with the provisional ball. B. Continue play with the original ball. C. Continue play with th
  15. In stroke play, a player is virtually certain that their tee shot has come to rest in a yellow penalty area. The player properly drops another ball back-on-the-line under the penalty area relief Rule 17. Before playing the dropped ball and within 3 minutes the player finds the original ball outside the penalty area. Which is correct? A. The original ball is out of play; the player must proceed with the dropped ball with 1 penalty stroke. B. The player must abandon the dropped ball and continue play with the original ball. C. The player may play the original b
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...