IGNORED

Only the driver is slicing - HELP!

Note: This thread is 6212 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Gentlemen:
Please help! Played on Saturday and my driver is slicing on occasion, and firing straight as an arrow other times. Usually I'm a straight driver...what the heck is happening? Losing distance, and ripping it with a terrible left-to-right flight.

Going to the range tomorrow...any swing thoughts for me???

RA

In my bag...
DRIVER: TaylorMade R5, 9.5
HYBRID: Halo 2i
IRONS: FTX
WEDGES: 52, 56, Izett 60PUTTER: Cameron Circa 62 #3

Newtown? NICE - live in Yardley...5 miles away. I miss Goodnoe's...

In my bag...

Newtown? NICE - live in Yardley...5 miles away. I miss Goodnoe's...

Hahaha, same here man. The service wasn't all that great there, but they made the best Eggs Benedict for breakfast. No clue what they're gonna put up there now. I heard a Wawa, but I'm not sure.

If you are hitting a slice then the club face must be open when you are hitting the ball (but I guess you know that?). Either you are not releasing the club properly so that the club face is left open, or, you are letting your shoulders get ahead of your arms so that you are swinging out to in, cutting across the ball.

If the ball goes left first and then fades right you are swinging out to in and cutting across the ball. If the ball goes straight and then fades right its a problem with your release.

To sort an out to in swing, start your downswing by letting the club fall into the slot slightly before you begin uncoiling your body. Giving your arms a slight head start increases the probability that you'll swing in to out towards the ball.

If its a release problem you need to focus on really whipping the club through during release so that you don't leave the face open.

Taylormade r7 460
Callaway X 3 Wood
Callaway X 5 Wood