Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 6353 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
Some of these questions can annoy me because the answer is easily found in the Rules of Golf or Decisions on the Rules of Golf, but I couldn't find the answer to this one (probably missed it somewhere easy), so here goes:

I'm playing 18 yesterday afternoon at my home course, Quinnatisset C.C. (in Thompson, CT). It's been cloudy all day, and thunder has been rumbling in the distance for a while, but it only starts to rain and gust on the 16th hole. After salvaging a good bogey from an unfortunate position, I record an unlikely birdie on 17 in howling winds and rain that is blowing nearly sideways. I am drenched. I cannot see the latter part of my drive's flight on the short par-5 18th due to the sheets of rain. After a solid 2nd shot (which again was difficult to follow), I slightly pull a wedge some 25 feet left of the hole (a good shot under the circumstances). I drive up to the green.

A quick note: Although I have broken 40 on the easier front 9 some ten times, I haven't on the back. Prior to this round, however, I had shot exactly 40 about eight times, including my last three rounds. Birdie here would give me 39.

As my cousin and I recently discussed, the 18th green is the only one on the course that is not slightly raised or at least level to the surrounding land; rather, it is sunk into a slight valley. In only about twelve minutes of rain, the green has flooded, with the water between 0.5 and 1.5 inches deep. Not knowing what to do, I whack my putt at the hole with a stroke that would normally send the ball some 40 feet; it travels only six. I pocket the ball and quickly take shelter from the monsoon.

I am curious to know the proper action I should have taken (I ended up just giving myself a two-putt for a 40 on the back and an 82 overall). Obviously, a nearest point of relief from the casual water did not exist. Should I be penalized for trying to putt the ball in the overflowing green? Should I have marked my ball and waited it out (which was impractical, as I was in a bit of a hurry)? Should I have given myself a two-putt, as I did? Should I have scraped the 18th hole and alloted myself a score based I my handicap (the proper procedure for an incomplete round)? I am curious to know.

If possible, back your answers up with something from the RoG or DotRoG? I browse through Rule 25 ("Abnormal Ground Conditions, Embedded Ball and Wrong Putting Green") and its decisions, but didn't find anything. Thanks in advance.

What's in my bag:

Driver: R7 CGB Max, regular shaft
4-wood and 7-wood: :: Launcher, regular shafts
4-iron to A-wedge: X-20, regular steel shafts56- and 60-degree wedge: forged, stiff steel shafts, vintage finish, MD groovesPutter: Circa '62, No. 7, steel shaft, 35"Ball: NXT Tour or ProV1(x)...


Posted
Some of these questions can annoy me because the answer is easily found in the Rules of Golf or Decisions on the Rules of Golf, but I couldn't find the answer to this one (probably missed it somewhere easy), so here goes:

There's no penalty for trying to putt through the casual water - that's your choice. However, effectively, the course becomes unplayable if you cannot properly play the 18th green because of flooding.

In a tournament, you should stop play and inform the committee who should suspend play (decision 33-2d/2). Note that you are not allowed to mop up casual water on your line of putt (decision 16-1a/1)

Posted
A quick note: Although I have broken 40 on the easier front 9 some ten times, I haven't on the back. Prior to this round, however, I had shot exactly 40 about eight times, including my last three rounds. Birdie here would give me 39.

you are lucky you didn't get struck by lightning like that priest in Caddyshack!

G10 Driver
G10 4-wd
G15 7-wd
X-18 Proseries 3i-PW
X-Tour 52d gap wedge X-Tour 58d lob/sand wedge Dual-force Rossie II (mallet head) putter Pro-V1x only (baby!)Play at a private NJ g.c.


Note: This thread is 6353 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.