Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Could someone explain why Villegas got two drops on 17th


Note: This thread is 6163 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
Could someone explain why Villegas got two drops on 17 then was allowed to place his ball at the point of impact of second spot and then not penalized?

Posted
When taking a drop, if the ball rolls more than two clublengths from the drop point, rolls closer to the hole or rolls into a hazard the player MUST take another drop. If this happens twice the player MUST place his ball on the spot the ball first struck the ground during the second drop.

In my Tour bag
Driver - Cyberstar (9*), cut to 43.5 inches long with tonnes of lead tape attatched to the head.
Fairway 909F2 (13.5*), Diamana blue 83 shaft, 42 inches long
Rescues Heaven wood (17*)
909h (21*) Diamana blue shaft Irons Pro M (3-PW), Rifle 5.0 shafts Wedges KZG TRS (52* +...


Posted
When taking a drop, if the ball rolls more than two clublengths from the drop point, rolls closer to the hole or rolls into a hazard the player MUST take another drop. If this happens twice the player MUST place his ball on the spot the ball first struck the ground during the second drop.

But why did he take a drop in the first place? The ball had a good lie on the hill.


  • Administrator
Posted
But why did he take a drop in the first place? The ball had a good lie on the hill.

His stance was on the cart path.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
His stance was on the cart path.

Oh-OK...His foot was out. Simple enough. Thanks

BTW...that was a good finish wasnt it?

Posted
But why did he take a drop in the first place? The ball had a good lie on the hill.

They stated that the ball had landed on a spot that had been "trampled" and left the surface unplayable.

The rules allow you to take a drop under such conditions.

Bag #1
DRIVER: TourSwing TVC 10.5*w/VooDoo
FW: Geek 15* w/Graman Limey
FW: TourSwing Thunder 19* w/Graman Limey
HYBRIDS: #4 #5 Alpha RX Low w/Graman LimeyIRONS: Nakashima NP-2 w/Accra i SeriesWEDGES: Same as abovePUTTER: Slighter Olympia #1


Posted
He could have played standing on the path if he wanted, but chose not to.

:tmade: R15 14* Matrix Black Tie 7m3

:adams: Speedline Super S 3w & 5w Matrix Radix HD S VI

:callaway: X-12 4-PW Memphis 10

IONNOVEX  Type S GDT 50*, 54* & 62* Mitsubishi Rayon Kuro Kage Black 80ir

:odyssey: Tri-Ball SRT

-Landon


Note: This thread is 6163 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.