IGNORED

A new approach to the game

CG031
Note: This thread is 5463 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I have been playing golf for three years, two years now in tournaments and for my high school team. Last August, I got my handicap down to a 9. I was pretty satisfied with that. This entire Spring, I struggled somewhat with my game in matches. My stroke average was a 42. But, it wasn't too bad at all. I felt I could have been a much better ball striker, but the only thing that was keeping my scores respectable was my chipping and putting, basically the ability to get up and down.

Over the past two Summers, I have had a membership to a 9 hole course near my house. I would play 27 holes a day there, at times...usually about 5 times per week. instead i got a driving range membership (unlimited golf balls for 350 dollars) so now i go to the driving range every day and hit about 100 balls and spend some time around the green putting and chipping. i think i will get a lot better like this as oppose to just playing everyday. working on what i need to get better on (actual ballstriking itself) is what i think will make me a better play. i suggest this to many of you who don't go to the range often. after a few weeks of doing this i've already seen improvements...

if you want to seriously get better work on your game at the range, and don't play as often on the course...it may be more fun on the course, but you'll see more results this way in my opinion.

Driver Ping G10 10.5*
Hybrids Ping G5 (3) 19* Bridgestone J36 (4) 22*
Irons Mizuno MP-57 5-PW
Wedges Srixon WG-504 52.08 Bridgestone WC Copper 56.13
Putter 33" Scotty Cameron Studio Select #2