Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 5900 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
I just heard this story and situation today and didn't really know how to respond.

This guy was teeing off at a residential area golf course. He hadn't ever been to the course before so he didn't know the area. He slices his ball off the hole and seemingly into someone's yard. The house is out of view and he never sees the ball land or hit anything so he assumes it is OB. He hits a provisional and that ball is in play. So he is driving down the cart path and sees his provisional ball and another ball rolling down the cart path way up in front of him. He proceeds to that ball and looks at it and it was his first ball. Again he never sees the ball land or what might have happened after it was out of view. He played the first ball and made birdie. His thinking was that since he was unsure what happened, and it was his first ball, he was free to play it where it ended up. What would the ruling be?

His best guess is that he hit the ball in someone's yard and they just decided to throw it back on the course. I know rule 19-1 states that a ball moved by and outside agency is 'rub of the green' and play it as it lies. He gained a huge advantage from the outside agency so would the rule still be in effect and played as it lies?

I will judge my rounds much more by the quality of my best shots than the acceptability of my worse ones.


Posted
i find that to be an odd situation. one way or another he shouldnt have made birdie

Forget your opponents; always play against par. ~Sam Snead

Sumo2 5900 9.5, ProForce V2 stiff
Diablo 3w
Baffler TWS 3h MP57 4-pw VR wedge 52.10, 56.14 TPz 60.06 Studio Style Newport 2 SG5ProV1x


Posted
I know rule 19-1 states that a ball moved by and outside agency is 'rub of the green' and play it as it lies. He gained a huge advantage from the outside agency so would the rule still be in effect and played as it lies?

Rule 19 covers a "ball in motion" stopped or deflected.

Rule 18 however, stipulates that a "ball at rest" moved by an outside agency must be replaced. In this situation, I have no idea the ruling.

Posted
Last week my partner lost his ball near a tree that is by a red staked hazard. We search and can't find the ball. He drops second ball. Well he takes a practice swing the wind blows his first ball out to of the tree. (; soemtimes you get a break in golf - but most times you don't
Driver R7 Superquad NV 55 shaft or Bridgestone J33 460 NV 75 shaft
3 and 5 Wood X
Hybrid original Fli Hi 21* or FT 22*
Irons AP2
Wedges Vokey 52* - 8 , 56* 14, 60*-7Putter California CoranodoBall TP RedGPS NeoRange Finder- Bushnell Tour V2 When Chuck Norris puts spin on the ball, the ball does not...

Posted
I believe if you drop a ball that is officialy your new ball of play and a 1 stroke drop

4dx hybrid Graphite Irons
3-4 Hybrid
Pipe Putter
Titleist Pro V1...I lose enough of em
Revolver Pro 440sz


Posted
Rule 18 however, stipulates that a "ball at rest" moved by an outside agency must be replaced.

Good point. I was only looking at the ball in motion rule. The certainty thing in the rule would be the big issue. Although you would think that for a ball to change direction and be moving a few minutes after it was hit, it would have to come to rest then the outside agency would have to have moved it. In that case the ball should have been replaced. It would have been OB then he should have played the provisional.

I will judge my rounds much more by the quality of my best shots than the acceptability of my worse ones.


Posted
There were situations when Arnold played when fans would intentionally block balls headed for the water or slap balls in flight toward the fairway/green. The rulings in those cases were to play the ball from where it most likely would have ended up. Probably "in equity".

Posted
There were situations when Arnold played when fans would intentionally block balls headed for the water or slap balls in flight toward the fairway/green. The rulings in those cases were to play the ball from where it most likely would have ended up. Probably "in equity".

What U r referring to is somewhat different from the problem at hand and decisions can be found solving the former. The original question is much more complicated.

As usual, facts are decisive. If it is more or less clear that the ball ended OB it has to be regarded to have been OB and any action thereafter is really not of any importance. From the original description I got the impression that considerable time had elapsed between the landing of the ball and reappearance of it. This speaks for the assumption that an outside agency had been involved. Not an easy case to solve, though, at least beyond any doubt.

Note: This thread is 5900 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 430 - 2025-12-04 Slow motion backswings (with chippy shots) with AlmostGolf balls.
    • Day 24 (4 Dec 25) - Spent about an hour working with the new 55° wedge in the backyard.  Kept all shots to under 20yds.  Big focus - not decelerating thru downswing and keeping speed up with abbreviated backswing.  Nothing like hitting a low flighted chip with plenty of check spin and then purpose to float a pitch of similar distance.  
    • Day 114 12-4 Put some work in on backswing, moving the hips correctly, then feeling over to lead side. Didn't hit any balls was just focused on keeping flowy and moving better. I'll probably do another session tonight and add in some foam balls.
    • Didn't say anything about your understanding in my post.  Well, if you are not insisting on alignment with logic of the WHS, then no.  Try me/us. What do you want from us then?? You are not making sense. You come here and post in an open forum, question a system that is constructed with logic, without using any of your own and then give us a small window of your personal experience to support your narrative which at first sight does not makes sense.  I mean, if you are a point of swearing then I would suggest you cut your losses and humor a more gullible audience elsewhere. Good heavens.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.