Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 5651 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
I have heard that in this scenario ( maybe both players for example could'nt agree on where something being an immovable obstruction or not ) that one way round it is for the person in question to play 2 balls ( one the way he himself thinks it should be played and the other for the playing partners way of thinking ) to the hole and putt out with both and then on returning to the club house that the issue can be sorted out there and the correct option/score chosen.
If this is not the case how else could a person be sure that they are playing the correct rule when they are out on the course and no referee to decide for them?

Posted
I have heard that in this scenario ( maybe both players for example could'nt agree on where something being an immovable obstruction or not ) that o

I don't think this will fly. If you play two balls, you'll get penalized either for "playing the incorrect ball" or "practicing during a round."

I think the only way around this is to keep Two Scores - one his way, one your way. Don't "sign your card" until the issue is resolved, and you choose the correct score. The problem with this approach is as you mention - suppose I think it's a movable obstruction, but my partner does not. I move it, and play on. After the round, a third-party agrees it was not a movable obstruction. I will now have to add a number of penalty strokes (or lose the hole if match play) because I improved my lie by moving something I shouldn't have moved.

HiBore 10.5 driver
GT-500 3- and 5-woods
Bazooka JMax 4 Iron Wood
Big Bertha 2008 irons (4 and 5 i-brids, 6i-9i,PW)
Tom Watson 56 SW Two-Ball putter


Posted
But what happens if you decide, "Well this other guy prob knows golf better than me so I won't take a free drop" and you proceed to double bogey the hole as a result. Then get back to the club house and find you were entitled to relief and have just lost out on the President's prize by 1 stroke !

Posted
I have heard that in this scenario ( maybe both players for example could'nt agree on where something being an immovable obstruction or not ) that one way round it is for the person in question to play 2 balls ( one the way he himself thinks it should be played and the other for the playing partners way of thinking ) to the hole and putt out with both and then on returning to the club house that the issue can be sorted out there and the correct option/score chosen.

This is EXACTLY how you should proceed.... Play two balls through the completion of the hole, and record both scores. After the round, have the tournament director (or whoever is in charge) make the ruling.


Posted
But what happens if you decide, "Well this other guy prob knows golf better than me so I won't take a free drop" and you proceed to double bogey the hole as a result. Then get back to the club house and find you were entitled to relief and have just lost out on the President's prize by 1 stroke !

if you haven't signed off the scorecard you can still change the result.

If you've signed it off, then you'll be pretty pissed!

My Clubs
Driver - LV4 10* R flex
Wood - sam snead persimmon 2 wood (for windy days)
Hybrid burner tour launch 20* stiff flex.
Irons - Tour Mode 3i,4i stiffIrons - FP's 5-PW R-flexWedge - spin milled 54.14Wedge - spin milled 60.07Putter - Victoria Lowest round 2010: 79 (par 70)Latest rounds at...


Posted
but the point I was trying to make is if you didn't take the free drop and lost a shot by having to chip away from the obstruction you can't just go back to the club house and say "take one shot off that score because I didn't take relief that I was entitled to"

Posted
This is EXACTLY how you should proceed.... Play two balls through the completion of the hole, and record both scores. After the round, have the tournament director (or whoever is in charge) make the ruling.

I think you just have to declare (in advance) which route is

your preference, in case both options were correct.

Mizuno MP600 driver, Cleveland '09 Launcher 3-wood, Callaway FTiz 18 degree hybrid, Cleveland TA1 3-9, Scratch SS8620 47, 53, 58, Cleveland Classic 2 mid-mallet, Bridgestone B330S, Sun Mountain four5.


Posted
I have heard that in this scenario ( maybe both players for example could'nt agree on where something being an immovable obstruction or not ) that one way round it is for the person in question to play 2 balls ( one the way he himself thinks it should be played and the other for the playing partners way of thinking ) to the hole and putt out with both and then on returning to the club house that the issue can be sorted out there and the correct option/score chosen.

Rule 3-3 Doubt as to procedure in stroke play. This only applies to stroke play. In match play there is a different process for settling disputes.

By the way, it is not necessary to play a second ball just because your fellow competitor doesn't agree with your procedure. If you are sure that you are right, then go ahead and play and don't worry about him. He isn't a rules official. However, if you aren't certain, then it's wise to invoke 3-3.
3-3. Doubt as to Procedure a. Procedure In stroke play, if a competitor is doubtful of his rights or the correct procedure during the play of a hole, he may, without penalty, complete the hole with two balls. After the doubtful situation has arisen and before taking further action, the competitor must announce to his marker or a fellow-competitor that he intends to play two balls and which ball he wishes to count if the Rules permit. The competitor must report the facts of the situation to the Committee before returning his score card. If he fails to do so, he is disqualified. Note: If the competitor takes further action before dealing with the doubtful situation, Rule 3-3 is not applicable. The score with the original ball counts or, if the original ball is not one of the balls being played, the score with the first ball put into play counts, even if the Rules do not allow the procedure adopted for that ball. However, the competitor incurs no penalty for having played a second ball, and any penalty strokes incurred solely by playing that ball do not count in his score. b. Determination of Score for Hole (i) If the ball that the competitor selected in advance to count has been played in accordance with the Rules, the score with that ball is the competitor's score for the hole. Otherwise, the score with the other ball counts if the Rules allow the procedure adopted for that ball. (ii) If the competitor fails to announce in advance his decision to complete the hole with two balls, or which ball he wishes to count, the score with the original ball counts, provided it has been played in accordance with the Rules. If the original ball is not one of the balls being played, the first ball put into play counts, provided it has been played in accordance with the Rules. Otherwise, the score with the other ball counts if the Rules allow the procedure adopted for that ball. Note 1: If a competitor plays a second ball under Rule 3-3, the strokes made after this Rule has been invoked with the ball ruled not to count and penalty strokes incurred solely by playing that ball are disregarded. Note 2: A second ball played under Rule 3-3 is not a provisional ball under Rule 27-2.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 5651 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.