Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 5354 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

I was playing yesterday on a par 3.

There was a hazard running the length of the hole marked by red posts.

I hit my first ball into the hazard, so I played second ball (provisional) from the tee. I did this incase there was any issue with finding the first ball (I know you don't have to find the first one, just be sure its in the hazard).

My playing partner said that if I play a second ball from the tee, then I cannot search for the other ball in the hazard and go through the normal drop/back on the original line of sight routine.

What is right?

Taylormade RBZ 10.5 driver, Taylormade Burner 2.0 15 deg 3 wood, Mizuno JPX800 19deg hybrid, Taylormade Burner 2.0 4-PW, Titleist Vokey 52,56,60 rusty wedges, Odyssey White Ice #7 360gm tour weight, Bridgestone B330S


Posted


Originally Posted by trickymicky69

I was playing yesterday on a par 3.

There was a hazard running the length of the hole marked by red posts.

I hit my first ball into the hazard, so I played second ball (provisional) from the tee. I did this incase there was any issue with finding the first ball (I know you don't have to find the first one, just be sure its in the hazard).

My playing partner said that if I play a second ball from the tee, then I cannot search for the other ball in the hazard and go through the normal drop/back on the original line of sight routine.

What is right?


You can't play a provisional if you think a ball is in a lateral hazard.

Just say you find your first ball and it's lying within the hazard, but is playable, too bad.  Your other ball is the one in play.

You are playing three.

Your partner was right.

The point of this rule is that you are never allowed to be in the position of having a choice between two balls -

For example - one is in the hazard,but playable, and the other one is down the fairway, albeit lying three.

Or - your provisional is down the fairway and you think that taking a drop from the hazard might be a better option than hitting your provisional, (which it frequently would).

It is not a "provisional", it is your third shot that you hit from the tee. But - if you find your first one and it is NOT in the hazard, you may play it.

In the race of life, always back self-interest. At least you know it's trying.

 

 


Posted

thanks for clearing that up.

So if I got down there and the ball is not in the hazard, its only my second.

If it is, then my second tee shot is the one in play

Taylormade RBZ 10.5 driver, Taylormade Burner 2.0 15 deg 3 wood, Mizuno JPX800 19deg hybrid, Taylormade Burner 2.0 4-PW, Titleist Vokey 52,56,60 rusty wedges, Odyssey White Ice #7 360gm tour weight, Bridgestone B330S


Note: This thread is 5354 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.