IGNORED

A Couple of Questions from a Self-Taught Golfer--first post

jboren
Note: This thread is 4069 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hello everyone! I'm a long time reader, but this is my first post.

I started playing golf last June while on summer break from college. I'm self-taught, piecing together advice from various sources (mostly the Internet, but a few single digit handicappers as well) to create the swing that I have now. Over the last year, I've changed from swinging mostly with my arms to now swinging with a shoulder/hip turn. I can't really post a video of my swing at this time, but I have some general questions that I hope someone can answer.

High Trajectory:

I have always hit very high shots with all of my clubs. I hit a 9 degree Cleveland Classic 290 as high as most people I play with hit their 5 wood or 5 hybrid. While at the range today I bombed one drive 300 yards (as measured with a google maps distance calculator that I found after some googling) but I don't think that it got very much roll based on the trajectory it came down at. It was also a 30 or so yard slice so that probably took some distance off as well I assume. I was playing on a level range with a 5-7mph wind at my back. My problem is that when I do hit lower trajectory shots (what I would call a normal trajectory) I don't come near that. I probably carry those 260 and get 20 additional yards of roll. I guess my question is why do my high trajectory shots go further than a standard trajectory shot. It seems like the opposite should be true (from what I've read). It seems hard for me to believe that I just don't get good contact every time I hit a lower trajectory shot. I was thinking ball spin might play into this...can anyone help me out?