Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

New Clubs

3 posts in this topic

I am an average golfer looking for new clubs.  I golf 5-10 times a year.  I want a club that is forgiving thats going to add some distance compared to my current spalding executive clubs.  I am willing to spend $400-$500.  What would you all recommend?


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

I'd recommend you play more golf! 10 rounds a year? Not worth buying clubs for! But if your serious go for a set of Calloways, either 2nd hand or a couple of seasons old! They should help a bit!

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, I'd pick up a set of gently used game improvement irons. Any recent set will be an upgrade over what you're using.


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • Thanks! Shoulder seems to have had some kind of miraculous recovery. 3-4 days of massive pain and arm in a sling, then woke up just fine. Its weird, but Ill take it!!
    • Welcome to TST!  I grew up in North Jersey (Bergen County)...even though I haven't lived there in a while, I've played a good bit of golf up there.
    • So I am having some shaft confusion. I've read all over the internet and forums to always error on the side of a "softer" shaft, and that the majority of men are hitting shafts that are too stiff for them. I also read that the effects of too stiff of a shaft are low shots to the right and too soft of a shaft are high draws. This mechanically doesn't make any sense to me, unless your highest point of acceleration is well before impact. From,  "The ball may tend to draw a bit more from the forward bending of the shaft at impact causing the face to rotate past square to be slightly closed." If you are accelerating through the impact as you are supposed to, a soft shaft club head would still be bent open behind the shaft at impact. At least to my understanding of physics.  I bring this up because I have been fighting a high slice with my driver for years. I knew some of it was mechanics, swing plane and swinging too hard but always had an embedded itch that the damn club face was lagging too far behind. I have done work on a simulator to understand and fix my swing plane and I hit my irons well. But I could never get the driver to go straight unless I slowed down my swing quite a bit. This is a very unsatisfying and un-athletic fix in my head and put an artificial ceiling on my game. I had planned on going to a pro and being fitted for a driver properly at the end of the season, but when a great offer showed up I took a gamble. I ignored all the information above and went with my gut and got an extra stiff shaft. I definitely seem to be hitting the new driver much straighter and a better height. Is this a placebo effect? Something else? I know that regular/stiff/etc are arbitrary and there are no standards, so I tried to compare weight, torque and kickpoint. Torque and bend are the same from all I can find, but my old shaft was 58 grams( I think) and the new one is 76. I do have a good swing speed, over 100mph I'm sure. My inexpensive simulator clocks me at 110-115, but Im not sure if I believe it.  My new driver has a 60 day money back guarantee, so Im  trying to get help understanding whether this is in my head, new driver love, or a stiffer shaft was the correct fix for me despite all the info to the opposite. Thanks for your time and hit em well!      
    • Our annual trip is coming up in three weeks. Has anyone played down there recently and care to give me a report?
    • Here's what happened. I went golfing today, figuring with the holiday coming up, the course might start getting busy.  On a par 4, my 2nd shot lands in a green side bunker. Really soft, fluffy sand. On my 3rd swing, the ball comes out, but I hit the ball again, while it's in the air, on the same stroke with the shaft of my club. The ball rolls into the hole. I holed out for par on the hit that caused the penalty stroke.  I used rule 14.4, adding a one penalty stroke.  The guy I am paired with, another walk on, previously unknown to me, says I have to add 2 strokes instead of one. I say no problem, and let it go at that. At the end of my round, with that 1 stroke penalty I card a 79. Is this correct?
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Arthurd561
      (34 years old)
    2. Wineguy
      (48 years old)
  • Blog Entries