I use the caddy daddy. It's great for travel and when faced with a small taxi with lack of space it goes in the front passenger seat, with or without me there too. It's the best solution I've found. Better than hard cases or the slip over travel bags
Honestly, I think a tee marker would count as an artificial device under Rule 14.3. Even if the rule doesn't specify what an artificial device is, the original poster's admission of using it as a swing aid means it should be treated as such under these circumstances. I argue in this thread about it being a violation on other grounds only because the penalty for Rule 14.3 is disqualification, and I'd want to avoid making that call if there's an alternative.
Also, the USGA reserves the right to rule on a potential breach of Rule 14.3 on a case-by-case basis, so even if there is no language in the rules referring to tee markers, that doesn't make it okay.
Maybe it's a case of something we feel . .vs something we actually do? But lately I've been working, with my instructor, on what feels to me like "dumping the club onto the ball". I don't even know what that means, lol . .but that's what it feels like, to me.
It's like I used to take this "round about" path to the ball .. and that's how it feels now when I revert to it. But when I load the shaft well and take what feels like "the most direct" path to the ball, with my hands leading . .it feels like the club gets "dumped" onto the ball.
I'm in the same boat. I've read most of the posts, and a lot of the posters are people who are familiar with the rules, and care about playing in accordance with them. Yet we still seem to have a division of opinion, with nobody being able to point to a specific rule that clearly resolves the issue. I'll be very interested to hear from @iacas and @Rulesman as to what they're told by the USGA and R&A officials. We've also not heard from anyone who has actually tried to swing this way, I'd be interested to find out if you can do it without breaking a leg.