IGNORED

difference between irons and drivers shot technique

pawulinho17
Note: This thread is 4634 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hay all,

I was looking over golf forums, and have noticed, that many people says, that drivers and iron shots are different. I knew that, but don't know what is the exact difference between them ( i'm just an amateur ). Can anyone explain it - more or less ?

Thanks

Well, there are quite a few differences. The biggest difference is the motion of the swing in general. With irons, you're swinging with the bottom of the arc landing in front of the ball.

(AoA = Angle of Attack)

Irons - The ball is hit first, followed by the ground. A perfect contact point will leave a divot directly in front of where the ball is(was). - AOA

Driver - You are hitting the ball on the upswing (ie: the bottom of the arc is already behind the ball and the driver is on it's way up when making contact with the ball). + AOA

I definitely recommend YouTube and you can search for words such as "Golf Driving Technique" "Golf Driving Stance", etc.

Sorry for the offtop, but i see you're playing on callaways X24 and callaways X22. Are you satisfied with them? because i'm looking for clubs and many times i've heard that callaways would be perfect for the beginning, so i will be really grateful if you'll say about them some word :)