-
Popular Now
-
Blog Entries
-
Posts
-
Although the base rules don't make this really clear, the Player must have decided to use Unplayable Ball relief before lifting the ball. This exact situation is discussed in the Committee Procedures section of the Rules, section 6C(8). Section 6C addresses how to rule when a Player proceeds under a Rule that does not apply. Note that 9.4 applies, 9.4 deals with a player moving his ball when no rule allows it. Rule 9.4 penalizes the Player for lifting his ball when not permitted by the Rules, and requires him to replace it. Since he dropped and played from a different place, the Wrong Place penalty applies. As for a serious breach, that would only apply if the Wrong Place gave him a really significant advantage. Since he could have taken Unplayable Ball relief in essentially the same spot, for just 1 penalty stroke, the Wrong Place penalty of 2 strokes is enough "punishment", there's no need to consider a DQ.
-
Day 295 - 2025-07-22 Played 18 holes with @DrizZzY. Still salty about the tee ball on 15. f***ing hole. 😛
-
You can't retroactively declare such a thing. If Dave had driven up to him after he took his drop and before he hit, and the first thing he said was "I know, I took an unplayable" Dave would have said "oh, okay, please proceed" and would have made sure the drop was good and he could play on. That's not close to a serious breach considering what you said above: for one stroke he could have gotten an unimpeded swing. He paid two to get the same thing. And generally speaking, he could have hit his ball a few feet to the side with the same one stroke and had an unimpeded swing.
-