IGNORED

Returning After 20 Years

Note: This thread is 1079 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Firstly, complete newbie to the site here, so hello!

I used to play regularly(ish) as a teenager and was "ok" - average around 30-35 strokes over (never quite eradicated the double digit score on one hole that ruined the round!).

I'm now returning to the sport after about 20 years and could really do with some general advice on getting back to, and beyond, the level I was before.

Realistically I won't be able to play more than once a week - is it too hopeful to expect I can get back to a sub 36 HC over the course of the Spring/Summer?

Is it recommended to spend more time on the range or on courses?  And perhaps focusing on par-3 courses at the beginning to focus on the basics?

I intend to get lessons, but will 2-3 be enough to set me on the right track, or will I need to invest more time/money to get the most out of this?

Any advice appreciated!

17 minutes ago, RobP said:

Firstly, complete newbie to the site here, so hello!

I used to play regularly(ish) as a teenager and was "ok" - average around 30-35 strokes over (never quite eradicated the double digit score on one hole that ruined the round!).

I'm now returning to the sport after about 20 years and could really do with some general advice on getting back to, and beyond, the level I was before.

Realistically I won't be able to play more than once a week - is it too hopeful to expect I can get back to a sub 36 HC over the course of the Spring/Summer?

Is it recommended to spend more time on the range or on courses?  And perhaps focusing on par-3 courses at the beginning to focus on the basics?

I intend to get lessons, but will 2-3 be enough to set me on the right track, or will I need to invest more time/money to get the most out of this?