IGNORED

Rules Question

Sando
Note: This thread is 6682 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

The 4th tee at my favorite local course backs up to the High School. Some joker pulling out of the parking lot blew his horn just as someone was in their backswing. He proceeds to make the ugliest pull hook ever. He immediately tees up another. I don't know him, it's a casual round and we're not playing for money so no big deal to me.

Buuuuuuuttt...say we were playing for money. What's the ruling? Play it as it lies? Outside influence has no effect? New shot allowed? I looked on the USGA Rules website but couldn't find anything that fit that situation.

I'm no pro, fairly new to the game but do believe in tournament play it's a disqualification is the previous ball is inbounds and playable. I"ll be interested in hearing the pro's comments on this as I'm waiting to receive my copy of The Rules of Golf.

This happens a lot on one of the courses I play frequently.

Let's just say that, while it may not be the same as a car horn blowing, I've never seen Tiger awarded a "mulligan" when a photographer clicks off a shot in the down swing.
A Mixed Bag

Driver 320Ti, 10.5 R, stock graphite
Ovation 3W, Aldila 65R graphite
Dunlop DDH 5W Edge CFT Hybrid 3-iron, #3 graphite CFT irons 4 - E wedge, #3 graphite Apex Edge F wedge 60 degree LW Bobby Grace M5K putter Laddie X A3

• Administrator
If he declares his first ball unplayable, and re-tees, it's a two-shot penalty (basically) and the next ball he hits from the tee is his third (the two shots being the first tee shot and then the actual penalty stroke).

He could also declare the ball lost - same penalty.