Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

bridge in my backswing


Note: This thread is 6304 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
there was bridge in my backswing, my club would hit the rail on my backswing,... my ball was outside the hazard, the biridge was inside the hazard,... do I get relief,... and a free drop 1 club leghth,..? or do I have to take a stroke and get to move it 2 club lengths,...?

either way, can I move straight back on a line from the pin,...? or stay within the club lengths?

scuba

Posted
It's an unusual circumstance. I may be wrong but I'd be happy to proceed as if the bridge were an immovable obstruction see below. If you had access to a rules official I'd be asking for a ruling on this one to make sure everyone was happy, otherwise I'd play out one ball from where it lay and play out another ball treating the bridge as an immovable obstruction and record both scores and present the situation to the match committee at the completion of the round. Can't get yourself in to any trouble doing this!

24-2. Immovable Obstruction

a. Interference
Interference by an immovable obstruction occurs when a ball lies in or on the obstruction, or when the obstruction interferes with the player's stance or the area of his intended swing. If the player's ball lies on the putting green, interference also occurs if an immovable obstruction on the putting green intervenes on his line of putt. Otherwise, intervention on the line of play is not, of itself, interference under this Rule.

b. Relief
Except when the ball is in a water hazard or a lateral water hazard, a player may take relief from interference by an immovable obstruction as follows:

(i) Through the Green:If the ball lies through the green, the player must lift the ball and drop it, without penalty, within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. The nearest point of relief must not be in a hazard or on a putting green. When the ball is dropped within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, the ball must first strike a part of the course at a spot that avoids interference by the immovable obstruction and is not in a hazard and not on a putting green.

Posted
It's an unusual circumstance. I may be wrong but I'd be happy to proceed as if the bridge were an immovable obstruction see below. If you had access to a rules official I'd be asking for a ruling on this one to make sure everyone was happy, otherwise I'd play out one ball from where it lay and play out another ball treating the bridge as an immovable obstruction and record both scores and present the situation to the match committee at the completion of the round. Can't get yourself in to any trouble doing this!

Thank you,... I'm not sure I get it, but thanks,...


Posted
Also keep in mind that I am just assuming that the bridge would be an immovable obstruction as they generally are. For further clarification you can check the scorecard as most courses will have them listed.

The following is an example from the back of a scorecard I am looking at:

5. IMMOVABLE OBSTRUCTIONS. Staked trees, Windmill, Pump Motor, Bridges, Protective Screens, Sponsor Signs, Sand Boxes.

Sometimes too a course will have temporary immovable obstructions in place in which case they will usually be noted on a board outside the starters box or on the proshop wall or similar. And if you are playing in a decent sized tournament information on temporary immovable instructions is handed to you at the tournament briefing and it'll include things like grandstands, sponsors tents and if it's a really big tournament it might include tv towers, tv vans and that sort of thing.

Posted
Also keep in mind that I am just assuming that the bridge would be an immovable obstruction as they generally are. For further clarification you can check the scorecard as most courses will have them listed.

Even I know this,... The bridge is in the hazard,... no relief,.... period,... whether he or is ball is out of the hazard,...

Posted
The rule says nothing about whether the obstruction lies in or outside of a hazard, only that if the ball lies outside of the hazard the player may take relief.

Brad Eisenhauer

In my bag:
Driver: Callaway Hyper X 10° | Fairway Wood: GigaGolf PowerMax GX920 3W (15°) | Hybrid: GigaGolf PowerMax GX920 3 (20°)
Irons: Mizuno MX-25 4-PW | Wedges: GigaGolf Tradition SGS Black 52°, 56°, 60° | Putter: GigaGolf CenterCut Classic SP3

Ball: Titleist ProV1x or Bridgestone B330S


Posted
I was unable to find a decision dealing with this issue, but i did find this info in the "FAQ" at:

http://www.usga.org/questions/faqs/r...idx=97&Rule;=24

"Rule 24-2

Relief from Immovable Obstructions when Ball in Water Hazard

Q. Joanne`s ball lies in a water hazard. She also has interference from an immovable obstruction. Is she entitled to relief without penalty from the obstruction?

A. No. When a ball is in a water hazard, a player is not entitled to relief without penalty from an immovable obstruction that is in or out of the water hazard. The ball must be played as it lies or the player may proceed under Rule 26-1. However, if the ball lies outside the water hazard and the immovable obstruction lies in the water hazard, a player may take relief under Rule 24-2. (See Note 1 under Rule 24-2). "

Posted
Even I know this,...

Must be a rather odd sort of bridge then if it actually ends inside the hazard, usually part of the structure of the bridge will extend out past the edge of the hazard and I am assuming that this would be the part of the bridge interfering with the persons backswing. If you have a look at a lot of scorecards you will quite often see that bridges are listed as immovable obstructions despite obviously having the main part of their structure within a hazard.

Like I said in my original post if in doubt play out two balls, the original and another one after taking whatever relief you think you are entitled to and record the scores then hand the decision over to the match committee.

Note: This thread is 6304 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • The term I hear most often is "double teeing" which means the course/club has starting times from both the #1 and #10 tee.  I have encountered this many times and we know if we are the first group off #10, we may well get to #1 and have to wait because there are groups still with tee times yet to tee of #1.  In most instances, where the course/club has a starter, he normally explains this situation.  In this case, the pro advised what you would could/would encounter making the turn to #1.  And, that is exactly what happened.  Probably would have been wise to talk to the pro after playing back 9 and ask when you could go off #1 since apparently that club does not double tee.   Regardless, the outburst towards the other group was uncalled for.  And, I don't blame the member for being upset.  As a member of a private club, you are responsible for the actions of your guest.  I have played many times as a guest in the UK and I am pretty damn sure my host was responsible for my actions while at the club.  I know at the clubs I have belonged to here in the US, that is the way it is.  As a matter of fact, the member may find himself being brought before management and facing possible suspension.  So, I don't blame him for being upset.  However, as the host, he really should have stepped up and put a stop to the OP's actions.  OP makes this statement "I now understand that standards are different on the "private course." But I'll take those lessons to the muni, too."  No, the standards are not different.  You, sir, seem to be just a bit hard headed and belligerent, even if you are college professor...which possibly explains a lot.   JMHO
    • Day 32: worked for about 10 minutes on my drill. Filmed it as well for a check in. I think it’s slightly better but still seeing some issues. 
    • Day 44 (26 Dec 25)  -  played in the Friday men’s shootout with a twist - used the Toney Penna persimmons and MacGregor blades - had a blast playing these clubs.  They really help in zoning in on making solid ball contact.  Scoring was solid - had several looks at birdie and had a few par saves.  Overall a day of focused course management. 
    • Day 2: 2025.12.27 Eighteen holes at Kauri Cliffs. Focusing on trying to keep flex in right leg during backswing.
    • Day 136 12-26 Had a different practice planned today but life happened. Worked on "wide to wide" and still working on remaining flowy. Starting the club head in front of the ball as a drill, is helping with the flow of the swing.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.