Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 6095 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
i have a copy of the rule book, but i couldn't find anything on either of these points, so maybe you folks can help me out -

is there a rule that says the club must be held with both hands when making a stroke? i'm assuming there isn't, or at least there is some leniency on it, as i've seen a lot of pros make tap-in putts one handed.

also, if a player tees up his ball and backs up to check his line, then realizes he has teed up on an unlevel surface or maybe he would be standing in a depression when addressing the ball, can he re-tee since he hasn't taken his stance yet?

thanks in advance.

Posted

Since a stroke is defined as just swinging the clubhead at the ball with the intention of moving it, I don't think how you hold it is at all regulated.

And I would think the second scenario would be governed by the ball in play rule. As long as you haven't made a stroke and thus put it in play, you should be able to move it as much as you like.

But if I'm wrong just pay me no mind

...the world is full of people happy to tell you that your dreams are unrealistic, that you don't have the talent to realize them. - Bob Rotella

Driver - Taylormade R1.
Fairway - Taylormade R9 15º.
Hybrid - A3OS 3 Hybrid.

Irons - Cast CCI 4-AW.

Wedge - SV Tour 56º wedge.


Posted
i have a copy of the rule book, but i couldn't find anything on either of these points, so maybe you folks can help me out -

Question 1: No. There are restrictions on what constitutes a stroke, but having both hands on the club is not one of them.

Question 2: Yes. The ball is not in play until you make a stroke at it, so you can move it wherever you like within the teeing ground until then. If you make a stroke at it and whiff it, then it's in play even if it still sits on the tee, and in that case you cannot touch or move it with incurring a penalty.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 6095 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.