IGNORED

Nicklaus Clubs for Beginner?

Note: This thread is 6529 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hello all,
I'm new to the forum and to golf. I've been playing off and on for a couple of years, but never had the time to invest. So really I'm a beginner with some knowledge. I would really like to improve my game, but my first step is to buy a set of clubs instead of borrowing a friends.

I went down to my local shops and one was very helpful, but I'm worried he was trying to sell me clubs that are over my head. He suggested the Jack Nicklaus Q4 Iron Set and Q4 Driver and/or 3 wood. I liked the idea of the hybrid 3 & 4. Are these clubs too much for me or will they be a good set that will grow with me? Here is a link to the Q4 irons:

http://www.nicklaus-golf.com/jacknicklaus/q4ironset.php

Or should I just go with a complete set from Dunlop (Big 5 Sports), Wilson (Big 5 Sports) or Nicklaus MV-20 (ebay)

MV-20 Link: http://www.nicklaus-golf.com/jacknicklaus/mv-20.php (found on ebay for $310)

Thanks for the help. I'm just looking for some input.

Did you hit the clubs? Were you fitted? If you are confident you will continue to play, have hit the clubs and liked them, then no these clubs are not over your head. If cost is a primary issue a good set of used clubs is often a better choice, (2-5years old), than brand new low end clubs. If you want to trade up next year you can usually still get something out of them, tough to do with lower end clubs. Clubs last a very long time if well cared for. New grips and proper cleaning are usually enough.

1W Cleveland LauncherComp 10.5, 3W Touredge Exotics 15 deg.,FY Wilson 19.5 degree
4 and 5H, 6I-GW Callaway Razr, SW, LW Cleveland Cg-14, Putter Taylor Made Suzuka, Ball, Srixon XV Yellow

I recently returned a Q4 driver to sports Authority.