Jump to content
IGNORED

Ruling: Unplayable Lie


Dr_Fu_Manchu
 Share

Note: This thread is 4782 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

I have a playing partner who sliced his ball into the woods on the right with no out of bounds markers. We found the ball but there was no way he could hit it back into the fairway. Of course he could have tried but who knows how many strokes it would have taken because of the thick rough and trees. So he deemed it unplayable.

He insisted that he could take stroke and distance, playing his 3rd. However, I thought he had to replay it from that tee box (where he should have hit a provisional). Where he was now laying 3.

Who was right?

What if there were OB stakes, then what?
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
I have a playing partner who sliced his ball into the woods on the right with no out of bounds markers. We found the ball but there was no way he could hit it back into the fairway. Of course he could have tried but who knows how many strokes it would have taken because of the thick rough and trees. So he deemed it unplayable.

Stroke and distance IS hitting it again (his third) from the tee.

One stroke (initial stroke), penalty for unplayable, ball is sitting on the tee lying two and hitting three.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Stroke and distance IS hitting it again (his third) from the tee.

I guess I could have explained it better. He played his shot as a straight line out to the rough of the fairway, playing his 3rd. So, he should have played it from the tee, as I thought, correct?

If not that doesn't seem like much of a penalty considering his ball was 10 yards in the deep rough and couldn't get it out. Should he have been able to get it out with the luckiest shot in the world he would be laying 2, playing 3. So, why bother even attempt to get a ball out of a tough spot if you can simply call it unplayable and act like its a lateral hazard?
Link to comment
Share on other sites


I guess I could have explained it better. He played his shot as a straight line out to the rough of the fairway, playing his 3rd. So, he should have played it from the tee, as I thought, correct?

You can call any shot unplayable actually as long as it isn't in water or some kind of lateral hazard. You have 3 options then: play the ball form the same spot (re-tee), drop 2 club lengths from where the ball was found to be unplayable or drawing a line backwards in line with the ball and the flag, drop anywhere on that line...even in the fairway.

You will incur a 1 stroke penalty or lose the hole in match play. Only the golfer can determine if the ball is unplayable. You could call a ball unplayable in the middle of the fairway and just take a stroke penalty and follow the drop rules above. But that would be questionable and stupid.
Link to comment
Share on other sites


You can call any shot unplayable actually...

True.

You will incur a 1 stroke penalty...

True.

...or lose the hole in match play.

Absolutely false. Please don't post authoritatively on the rules of golf - you aren't familiar enough with them.

Bill

Link to comment
Share on other sites


True.

Ahh sorry, I meant to say if you do it wrong you lose the hole and get a 2 stroke penalty in stroke.

Something got messed up in editing.
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Note: This thread is 4782 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...